We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New management, new experience!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of White Hart Inn

White Hart Inn
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added White Hart Inn to your Saves list
White Hart Inn
3.0 of 5 Inn   |   London Road, Blythburgh IP19 9LQ , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Blythburgh B&B and Inns
Blythburgh, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“New management, new experience!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

This pub has only been under new management for a couple of weeks, but already the difference they have made is amazing! The welcome is now as warm as the immense open fire, and a small change in the furniture layout has made a big difference to the ambiance in the bar. Candles on the tables and in the windows added to that cosy winter feel. The beer (including, I was glad to see, Adnams Old Ale) is well kept and tasty. The menu was written up on a blackboard, and included some lovely fresh fish and other locally sourced ingredients. Service was swift and friendly, and the food was generously portioned and extremely tasty. Hopefully it won't be too long before word gets round and our local pub is the hub of the village again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    21
    16
    18
    9
See reviews for
27
36
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We moved into the village three years ago with the prospect of a good local hostelry in which to put the world to rights. The recent change of management may just have provided that. We've been in twice recently - to just have a beer and to eat - and the signs are good. Well kept Adnams and a step improvement in the quality of the food.....and a warm welcome. I'll definitely be returning and I encourage all to give the new team a try.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

Staying locally in Yoxford for a short break, just driving past looking for somewhere to eat. Very friendly welcome from brand new owner. We had the battered cod and our 12 year old son ordered the local sausages, mash, gravy and peas. Large portions, beautifully cooked. Value for money. Faultless service. We wish the new owner every success,

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

A small group of us went to Blythburgh White Hart for mid week lunch. I had previously eaten there a few months ago and been unimpressed, but thought I'd give it another go in the hope there had been some improvement...not a good idea. The waitress was sullen and disinterested and didn't make us feel partcularly welcome. Two of us decided to go for lasagne, thinking it would be a safe bet. It cost £9.50...it was ok, but I've had far better at other places for a lot cheaper price. The bread used for the sandwiches was dry. I usually feel obliged to leave a tip when I pay, but on this occasion the manner of the waitress made me decide that I wouldn't. I will not return for food until such time I see good reviews for this place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Blythburgh hotels

Halesworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2012

We live not far way so we just went to the White Hart for dinner as we couldn't get a reservation closer to home.
The menu offered for the evening is limited to a few main courses chiefly on the specials board, limired starters & we did not even look to see if there were desserts.
It is truely 'pub grub' and not at its best. The best I can say is that is was hot, a very dissappointing meal that did not come cheaply. The food in no way resembles the example menu on the website - I cannot reccomend it for dinner. The tables in the bar were sticky and the Broadside off. Sanwiches at lunchtime may well be better and given its stunning setting & a risk worth taking in the summer.

Room Tip: Ask for one facing the Estury not the A12
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, UK
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

The white hart is in a wonderful location with great views over blyth estuary. We walked from southwold and stopped there 4 lunch. A not particularly warm welcome from the woman behind the bar but we ordered lunch. There were only 4 other people in the dining room. The food was mediocre, the decor in dire need of updating, the whole place needs a shake up. We have always wondered what it was like as we drove by, unfortunately we now know the answer.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Longfield, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

We stayed for a week in August with Sean, Tom, Scott and Glenda. It was like staying with a madcap family. Lots of fun. Good conversation and banter. Always helpful and extremely friendly. Our room was large and tidy, bathroom adequate. Stunning views from room and garden. Sean and son Tom fun and sociable hosts. Scott is an amazing chef who works extremely hard and serves huge meals. Glenda the power force! Is efficient and hard working. Big thanks to all staff for a great memorable week.

Room Tip: Stay more than three nights get one night free -fab!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to White Hart Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Inn

Address: London Road, Blythburgh IP19 9LQ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Suffolk > Blythburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Blythburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your White Hart Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage White Hart Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.