We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food but Greasy Plates” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Spice of Swaffham

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Spice of Swaffham
2 Cley Road, Swaffham, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #13 of 27 restaurants in Swaffham
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Small restaurant/cafe. Excellent authentic food with a fresh spiced flavour somewhat different to the norm. Friendly young staff and good value for money. Will definitely go on a regular basis. Recommended.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent food but Greasy Plates”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

Ate here on Sunday night after reading the reviews. We chose the '4 courses for £10' deal and were surprised that it included everything on the menu, although we had to pay £2 extra for king prawn. The restaurant was empty and quite cold so we had to eat with our coats on. The place was nicely decorated and clean and tidy but all the plates were greasy, which did put us off a bit. The menu was straight forward but lacked any description as to what anything was so we had to ask the waiter. When the food arrived it was very hot any plenty of it, so no complaints there. We would recommend this restaurant as on the whole you you wouldn't be disappointed.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

12 reviews from our community

91% Recommend
    6
    5
    0
    0
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Regulars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

I come with my 2 friends at least once every 2 months. Love the food, although it can taste different depending on whether Adul (owner) does the cooking or not. What it lacks in ambinece is made up for with the friendly staff and quality cooking.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
thetford
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Excellent food, nice experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Went here end of last year. Not that keen on Indian food but the wife loves it so though i'd give it a try. Glad I did! The Food was excellent, and i mean... EXCELLENT, i ordered seconds despite being very full. Will be returning here again within the next couple of days.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cologne, Germany
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Totally uninspiring”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

I ate here on the basis of the previous three reviews. Whoops, what a mistake! Sorry guys, but it was close to one of the worst Indian dining experiences that I've ever had and I've had literally thousands. The poppadums were cold and old. The yoghurt dip that came with them was watery and tasteless. The rice was served on a cold metal dish so soon followed suit. The onion bahjee was almost certainly not home made; it was completely tasteless, unless you like chewing cardboard and completely lacked any seasoning. The lamb achari contained small pieces of tough lamb and the sauce was extremely disappointing. The atmosphere of the restaurant was uninviting, far too bright, bland and frankly not so clean. The service was quick (in fact too quick) and I got the impression the waiter wished he were elsewhere. There is nothing at all that I can recommend about this restaurant.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 47 cities Reviews in 47 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
“Authentic and very tasty food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This small Indian 'cafe' has very few covers and does most usiness in take away orders. The cafe style is very agreable with attentive personal service and really excellent food, cooked freshly to order.
The simplicity adds to the charm and is reflected in very reasonable pricing. A very good value and authentic meal, from a suitably extensive menu.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Spice of Swaffham also viewed

 
Swaffham, Norfolk
Swaffham, Norfolk
 

Been to Spice of Swaffham? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Spice of Swaffham, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.