We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“perfect honeymoon” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Strattons Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Strattons Hotel to your Saves list
Strattons Hotel
4 Ash Close, Swaffham PE37 7NH , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Swaffham
Birmingham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“perfect honeymoon”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2012

We have a short honeymoon break here the day after we got married and we had the best time, the whole hotel was beautiful, staff just wonderful, no words to describe just how perfect our stay was. Just the best way to start married life. We just snuggled up on the sofa watching dvd's, we didn't feel guilty for not going out as the atmosphere was just lovely. I would recommend it till I'm blue in the face, wonderful place. We will defiantly be going back to stay in different room as every room is different. Just wonderful

Room Tip: The Red Room is very romantic.....
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

294 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    60
    37
    25
    21
See reviews for
28
198
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (68)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Weybridge, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

We stayed in Print One room for four nights and loved every second of it.

The staff - personal, friendly, super service -, the room (music in the bathroom and exceptional facilities and space) one of the best meals we've EVER eaten if you're into something different (but equally they have funky burgers and chips), great atmosphere in the hotel in general and overall were we very much impressed by the region! Also, great little shops in town, massage parlour next door (Amethyst) great! The Deli - where breakfast is served but where you can enjoy great stuff throughout the day - was GORGEOUS and made with love, yet, you do need to allow half an hour for it to be made fresh.

We were up for a few relaxing days, exploring a part of the UK that we hadn't seen yet and it turned out the perfect choice. We've enjoyed long beautiful forest walks, have visited stunning Wells next to the sea, the stunning beaches there, Ely, Castle Acre and the country side in general. We'll be back :-)

P.s: dog friendly here!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

We stayed in Cocoes2. If you are a light sleeper, avoid this room as you will hear the church clock chime every quarter throughout the night. Also the wireless internet does not work, a fact that the staff initially disputed but eventually (after several trips back and forth to the reception area) acknowledged. The room itself was adequate but not special, and the same could be said of our dinner (we had to move tables as the background music was so obtrusive) and the general level of service. The decor is truly bizarre but perhaps it appeals to some. This hotel is recommended in the Good Hotel Guide, the Good Food Guide, and by Alisdair Sawday, so we had high expectations. It did not live up to them.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Great Yarmouth, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Stayed for 1 night recently. Check in very quick and friendly receptionist - explained all we needed to know and showed us to our room.
Room was lovely, spacious and clean. Had a balcony also with a lovely view.
Dinner was excellent - food was lovely and the wine. Staff again friendly and made us very welcome. It was quiet when we ate but atmosphere was still good. I loved my dessert.
Slept OK but it was a bit too warm in room even when heating was off. Bed was big and comfortable.
Breakfast was good with a choice. Friendly staff again. I found all the staff helpful and friendly.
This was a great treat and I will be returning in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Strattons has long since been one of our favourite retreats.Having stayed and dined over many years I am impressed by the committment
they have to improving the business and not being prepared to standstill
The 2 new self catering rooms are absolutely amazing in design,content and decor. Ideal for a family visit .If they are not occupied at the time of a visit the staff will gladly arrange a viewing.
With its regular change of menu the restaurant continues to offer excellent local food beautifully cooked presented and served.On our most recent visit the Rustic was very busy with a nice atmosphere.Friendly attentive staff

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dereham, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We had dinner here on 6 October 2012. Our mission was to observe the standards to decide whether this retaurant could host our forthcoming wedding breakfast. The impressive façade gave us high expectations, but these were short-lived. The restaurant is in a basement with no atmosphere, and feels like you are in one of our outhouses in the garden. No-one greeted us as we entered the restaurant - we had to find the staff lurking in a room beyond. Our table was wobbly. We had to ask for a menu. It took 55 minutes to get any food at all. We were attended to by four different waitresses, so no personal service. Although one waitress was impressive, another was spectacularly dour and the others lack-lustre. The menu was ridiculously worded, pretentious and irritating. When deciphered, the menu options transpired to be quite unappealing. Who wants roast garlic and potato dumplings as a main course ... and who wants to order coley in a 'fancy' restaurant? When my husband's main course arrived we thought that someone else's starter had been brought by mistake. This mean portion cost £25, with all the meat fitting onto one fork. The suet pudding in the middle of the plate was stodgy and tasteless. My burger which arrived on a ‘breadboard’ was good but not extraordinary, and cost a whopping £17. Deserts cost £8 per mean portion. The desert plate had what looked like a skid mark in a lavatory pan as chocolate decoration. Yuk! By this time, we thought some embittered soul in the kitchen must be having a joke. At the end, when we indicated to the waitress that we weren’t impressed by the meal, she shirked the opportunity to ask us why. We paid the full whack and resolved never to come back.To top it all, when we left we had to hunt for my coat, as no-one remembered to bring it to me from a staff access area. How do these robbers get away with it?

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swaffham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Stayed here in November 2012 for a two night break with my friend and a number of things were very poor !

Firstly we stayed in the Stalls room, which looked very nice on the website, however on arrival the room was quite shabby. The mattress has definitely seen better days as the old springs made for a very uncomfortable night and we thought that the one pillow for this type of establishment was hard and flat.
A delivery to the cafe behind our outbuilding room was very noisy and made for an early rise
( 7am).

Dinner was included in our first night as a package and we found the restaurant lacking in atmosphere and virtually silent. Service was slow and the menu selection limited. The final cherry on the cake was when I found a HAIR imbedded in my fish. The waiter offered us a dessert wine as recompense but quite frankly the whole experience was ruined, My food went back unfinished, i felt very sick and should not have been expected to pay for this meal !

After dinner we went upstairs to find the non existent bar, which turns out to be a room off reception and there was no staff to serve you. We sat waiting for ages and decided to give up and go back to our room, my clothes covered in cat hair. Dreadful service !

Breakfast again was very poor no one to greet you, limited menu, no orange juice and they had run out of yoghurt ! These are basic givens aren't they ?????

Unfortunately my friend's daughter was taken ill during our stay and we informed the hotel that the two night stay would no longer be possible. We enquired that under the circumstances and after a catalogue of disappointments, would some reimbursement be possible. However basically the were totally disinterested and customer relations went out the window. It was a very expensive one nights stay at £300, with hair in my food, bad service and no sleep !!!!

This hotel offers nothing but quirky rooms, the management have very little customer service and when complaints are made they are dealt with very unsatisfactorily.

Clearly the management does not realise that customer service and their attitude towards guests is fundamentally important, we felt that our complaints were legitimate and the management COULD and SHOULD have been more understanding and less obvious that they are in it for the money !

Incidentally I noticed on the menu that the hotel proprietor is up for an award and I will be writing to that panel too as I don't think she is worthy and maybe they should read the comments on trip made as people either like this place or hate it !

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Strattons Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Strattons Hotel

Address: 4 Ash Close, Swaffham PE37 7NH , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Swaffham
Amenities:
Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Swaffham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Strattons Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Strattons Hotel Swaffham, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Strattons Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.