We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Like stepping into little Italy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Nico Italian Restaurant - CLOSED

Nico Italian Restaurant
5 London St, Swaffham PE37 7DD, England
+44 1760 722552
Improve this listing
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: Coffee Shop, English, Bistro, Tea Room
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Special occasions, Large groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Remember When Cafe Swaffham, specialises in English traditional homebaked food. All our food is prepared and cooked on site. We have a selection of specialist teas and fresh ground coffee.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Like stepping into little Italy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

Loved the personal and family feel of the restaurant, it was just like stepping into little Italy. The owner would greet and do anything for you, and the four cheese steak was the best I've ever eaten. 5 Stars.

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

71 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    41
    17
    8
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Swaffham, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Salty”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2013

I have been there on 4 occasions. Service is very good, food is ok, prices a bit steep especially with the wine.

Colleagues on another table spoke afterwards in the pub of there being too much salt on their steaks. I took have experienced very salty dishes in the past, but my pasta last night was fine.

Suggestion - care with the salt, and how about a cheaper price for house wine. It would also be nice if pizza was on the menu as it is an Italian restaurant after all !

  • Visited November 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“so friendly”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2013

We just moved. The town & wanted to take the teenagers out for a birthday meal. We all loved it. They appreciated the friendly staff, the "homely" toilets & their surprise candles and ice cream with birthday song (nothing to do with us - the attentive staff overheard our birthday toast). We loved the wine and the really delicious food. The menu is is not try hard, so you expect it to be done well ... And it is. I am going to have sweet dreams about the chilli prawn spaghetti......

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockport, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Lucky it was open”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013

Stayed in Swaffham for a week and the only restaurant i could find which wasn't fast food or a pub was this one.
was quiet on a Monday so not many in.Staff very friendly though
I had the garlic bread and then a chicken pasta for main course. It was OK. Glass of red was good though.
for the price was pleasant enough.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Lucky find!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013 via mobile

We ate here on our way back to London on a Tuesday evening. The restaurant was quiet not surprisingly but the welcome was very warm and genuine. The restaurant is quite small and very homely and the food was excellent. We shared a Caprese to start which was very good. I then had the pasta with meatballs which was delicious and my husband had a vegetarian pasta dish - pappardelle giardiniera which was equally good. The house red was of a good quality and the price very reasonable. We will definitely become regulars on our commute!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Nico Italian Restaurant also viewed

 
Swaffham, Norfolk
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Nico Italian Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.