We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantasitc family buzz- we will be returning again and again...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of High Sand Creek Campsite

High Sand Creek Campsite
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stiffkey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
High Sand Creek Campsite
Save
You added High Sand Creek Campsite to your Saves list
Vale Farm, Stiffkey, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1QP, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fantasitc family buzz- we will be returning again and again...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We have just returned from camping here for the third year running and cant wait to return next year. A true family friendly camp site with fantastic views of the salt marsh and an extremely friendly buzz about the place. All campers needs taken care of with plentiful showers, toilets and wash up areas. It is absolutely possible to entertain your children on the camp site for days without spending a penny with access to the salt marshes (ample sticky clay mud!) and rope swings (which are nothing to do with the actual camp site as they are located in the woodland but are well used by camp residents at their own risk while parents are able to observe from the comfort of their own tent if location allows!) Ran by an extremely friendly, hard working couple. I would strongly advice campers to bring as many own supplies as possible as the campsite is fairly isolated and although the local shop is well worth a visit the range of stock is limited and pricey, (It is miles to the nearest supermarket). If I was to be nit picky I would point out that the showers could do with a lick of paint but its a camp site! What is there is great and looking forward to returning...Also bring plenty of old, cheap, comfy shoes if you are planning a walk in the salt marsh- there are a fair few dismembered crocs to be seen on the journey to the sea!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    21
    8
    1
    1
    0
See reviews for
10
7
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Wickham Market, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013

We spent two nights here last week with our toddler and loved it. We first looked at a very large holiday camp in Wells and were concerned by the number of people and how touristy it all was, so we decided to carry on out of Wells and see what the site we'd heard about in Stiffkey was like. SO glad we did! Even before we drove onto the site we decided we wanted to stay here - the views across the marshes to the sea are stunning. The couple running the site are lovely, and friendly, going out of their way to be helpful with tips and advice. The pitches are generous in size and we had a nice, pretty flat, spot (A22) near enough to the (regularly cleaned) facilities. The tent got fairly wet over night, but that's what happens when you camp this close to the coast I guess and the mist rolls in. TIP. Get a glass of wine, watch the sun set and enjoy the peace and wonderful setting of this lovely campsite.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

A lovely campsite & well worth a visit. The couple running the site are really friendly and welcoming.
Shower block is cleaned daily & is closed for two hours whilst this is been done. Hot water is available all the time. Washing up facilities - 5 sinks available to use to wash up and also a laundry room to wash clothes and there is a dryer also. In the laundry room is a plug which can be used for a hair dryer if need be! When we stayed it was full and not once did we have to wait for a shower, toilet or washing up sink.
Behind our pitch was a group of three families that stayed up late talking very loud besides this group which you could tell annoyed most surrounding pitches the site was quiet from around 10pm & had a lovely family feel.
The red lion is worth a visit but you have to book to eat as the kitchen there is tiny. But the food is amazing. But is even worth a visit for a drink in the evening. We would walk down with our children early evening. Stiffkey stores is a fab little store great for ice lollies & sweet for the kids and they do great coffee! Have a lovely area outside where you can sit.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013 via mobile

Stayed for a week in August with the children & one of the best holidays ever. Loved the setting, amazing views & sunsets. Kids loved the freedom, mud walking & crabbing. It's camping at its best. Site has loads of hot water & site staff are very friendly & helpful. We will be back!!

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013 via mobile

We stayed over half term for 5 nights and although it was freezing at night we had a great time. Campsite was clean although loos and sinks did get a bit mucky during the day. Showers good again at certain times of day they were warm not hot and the shower power was depended on the amount of people showering at the same time. Our only issue was where we were put - under a tree with lots of birds pooing on our tent! We pitched late so didn't really notice until too late!

Owners very friendly. Lots of children around but all happy and laughing.

Also Red Lion down the road really easy to walk too and lovely food.

All in all we were very happy and would return!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2013

A lovely campsite on an amazing coast line. Staff are really friendly and very helpful. Showers are good and good area for washing up etc. Short walk to local pub which serves good food. Campsite is on coastal path which is fantastic so you can walk in either direction and catch the coast hopper bus back later in the day. Family friendly and very laid back.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2013

Having a nearby dinner reservation, we booked in for a one night sleepover in Loulou the camper van, and were absolutely delighted with the views. Facilities were above basic and very clean, plenty of hot water. The site owners were very kind and lent us their own toothpaste, as we had forgotten ours! There is a teeny tiny shoppette on site, and of course Stiffkey Stores, but come prepared! Other campers were happy and friendly, lots of games going on and lovely to see children running around in the fresh air, when it stopped raining!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to High Sand Creek Campsite? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Sand Creek Campsite

Address: Vale Farm, Stiffkey, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1QP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells-next-the-Sea > Stiffkey
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Stiffkey
Number of rooms: 80
Also Known As:
High Sand Creek Campsite Hotel Stiffkey
High Sand Creek Campsite Stiffkey, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage High Sand Creek Campsite, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.