We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Night Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Stiffkey Red Lion

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Stiffkey
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Stiffkey Red Lion
Save
You added Stiffkey Red Lion to your Saves list
44 Wells Road, Stiffkey, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1AJ , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Stiffkey B&B and Inns
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
“Two Night Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2014

A group of 10 of us stayed at The Red Lion over the weekend on 13th and 14th June. We were really impressed with the whole place; rooms were immaculate, beds hugely comfortable (just what we needed after walking all day), baths were very relaxing with tons of hot water. The staff were very helpful and friendly and made us feel very welcome. One of the party required disabled facilities and again, the room was perfect. This is a great place to stay and lots of walks can be tailored to start and finish from the pub, whereupon arriving back, you can relax in the garden and enjoy a few drinks in the sun!

Room Tip: Ask for room number 6 if you want an extra large bathroom with a huge walk-in shower, and a bath.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

153 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    47
    18
    14
    5
See reviews for
21
100
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
UK
Top Contributor
122 reviews 122 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We stayed here with friends and were very impressed by the rooms - spacious, large bathrooms and a patio to sit in the sun. The staff were very friendly and the food was delicious. A place to go back to.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms have a sunny patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
93 reviews 93 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 70 cities Reviews in 70 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2014

From the outside the Red Lion looks unprepossessing but this is false. Our room was a 'new build' situated in the grounds with its own little patio. It was completely satisfactory - big bedroom and big bathroom.

The Red Lion is an old building with an atmospheric pub area. Breakfast was good. We would recommend a stay.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We had stopped off at the Red Lion for a meal on our way home after the Christmas break and decided to return for a couple of nights at Easter on the strength of that. Our room was well appointed and clean, and we particularly loved the balcony which gives that private outdoor space to sit and read which is often lacking in hotel accommodation. The food was wonderful, well cooked and using local produce. The staff are very cheerful and one gets the impression that nothing is too much trouble. We had a really relaxed stay and look forward to a return visit in the not too distant future.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clacton-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2014

A very relaxing atmosphere,staff very laid back,friendly,and efficient.room was clean and tidy,bedroom could do with a bit of paint here and there,bathroom was great very roomy and warm.beds very comfortable.

Room Tip: For couple the upper level would be better,as we had room 10 on the lower level and had heavy footed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertfordshire
Top Contributor
96 reviews 96 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2014

This was our third and final stop on our cycling holiday. Arrived at the Red Lion which was a busy country traditional pub. The accommodation is separate just behind the pub. Separate modern style two storey buildings think there was 10 in all. Looked fantastic. Each have their own entrance garden area with table and chairs to sit outside. This is were we could lock our bikes up.
The room was great good size clean and welcoming. The bathroom was enormous good size bath for a soak. Everything also suitable for disabled people. We had a flat screen tv and you could pick up WIFI in the pub. We had a good nights comfortable sleep.
The food in the evening was good quality I had crab. My husband had steak. Service excellent.
Would love to come back here to stay as did not have time to fit in a visit to the seals at Blakkeney
Breakfast was good all local produce.,and very enjoyable.,
Would recommend and would love to come back ourselves. Great stay.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wells
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2014

Badly needed to chill out, but not far from home, after a demanding festive season, so went to stay for the first time at our “local”, the Red Lion at Stiffkey – a quintessentially unspoiled English inn quietly and yet efficiently run by Stephen Franklin (Frankie). An oasis of excellence in a desert of mediocrity. Good local beers (Aspells cider on draft for coeliacs!). Excellent food, much of which is sourced locally (mussels are a speciality in the Winter months) very fair prices. Log burners, warm welcome and friendly and efficient staff.

The accommodation comprised a well appointed flat, under floor heating, a very comfortable double bed, with large, wall mounted, colour TV, settee, wetroom shower and bath – the room had views across the lovely Stiffkey countryside.

What more could one want for a couple of days chilling Winter break? Our dog thought it was perfect too!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Stiffkey Red Lion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Stiffkey Red Lion

Address: 44 Wells Road, Stiffkey, Wells-next-the-Sea NR23 1AJ , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Wells-next-the-Sea > Stiffkey
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Stiffkey
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 10
Also Known As:
Stiffkey Red Lion Hotel Stiffkey
Stiffkey Red Lion Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Stiffkey Red Lion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.