We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded elegance” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Burlington Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sheringham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Burlington Hotel
Save
You added The Burlington Hotel to your Saves list
The Esplanade, Sheringham NR26 8LG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sheringham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Bristol, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
115 reviews 115 reviews
30 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
65 helpful votes 65 helpful votes
“Faded elegance”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

This hotel was built in 1899 to house the servants of the Edwardian families who stayed in the now demolished Grand Hotel. It is a hotel of its time and is a complete contrast to the many hotel chains which are pretty indistinguishable from each other. It has an Edwardian old world charm. The hotel faces the sea and most rooms have a sea view. We had a large comfortable sea-facing room with three windows. Generally the hotel is in need of refurbishment. But it has many pluses: free Wifi in the rooms, no passing traffic as it in a cul-de-sac, lots of free parking and really helpful and friendly staff. The beach is just a minutes walk away and a huge plus for families is the well equipped children's playground between the beach & the hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    50
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
17
52
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2014

We visit this hotel whenever we want a rest. The staff and Steve the owner are very welcoming and nothing is too much trouble.
We have an excellent room overlooking the sea and it is more than comfortable.
We have been to this hotel for more than 17 years.
It is a perfect hotel for golfers as we are next to a golf course and the hotel caters for parties
.We overlook the beach and a small play area for children so that would be good for families.
Cromer Pier puts on a Summer Show for those that like the theatre. There is also a small theatre in Sheringham.
There are some nice individual shops and visitors are welcome.
I recommend this hotel and Seaside town for a pleasant hotel.

Room Tip: rooms overlooking the sea
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nottingham
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2014

When you first look at the Burlington you may think it looks old and dowdy - sorry chaps, but the exterior does look more 50's than 2014 - Ok, that's the down side over with - get inside and the place is really nice, decoration isn't modern, nor old, but I think that modern would spoil it any way. Its clean, tidy, well presented and the staff are great, and the rooms - spot on. The biggest room we have stopped in for a while, I could have brought my whole family (didnt want to pay for them though). They are clean, bed comfy, bathroom nice and spacious unlike some of these in modern hotels that are like being in the wardrobe -this one had a window with real light. Ask for a sea view,the view is amazing and worth it, to listen to the sea all night is relaxing as well.
Breakfast nice, well presented and served by great staff.
Thanks for the stay and we will be back - recommend it to anyone.

Room Tip: Sea View a must
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Six of us stayed four nights on a golfing trip, what a refreshing change from the modern characterless hotels of the corporate world, this place has a wonderful old world charm! the food & service are faultless, all of the staff wear a smile and cannot do enough to help, congratulations to Steve the owner & mine host, you have got this just right! if we are ever in the area again there is only one place we will look to stay!!!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds,UK
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

A very enjoyable trip made all the better by this hotel and ALL the staff, the rooms were clean and the food was very good for breakfast and evening meal, closely located to some excellent golf courses.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
126 hotel reviews
Reviews in 132 cities Reviews in 132 cities
204 helpful votes 204 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

We have stayed at the Burlington many times over the years. The only thing that changes are the bedrooms - they get better as there seems to be an ongoing refurbishment programme. All the rooms at the front have great sea views. Breakfast offers a limited choice but the egg (double yokes every time !) and bacon is good. An English seaside hotel as they should be.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I stayed here with a coach party for 3 nights. The hotel is beautiful, looking out over the sea with great views from its cliff top position.
We were on the second floor, with only one small lift I took the stairs, but as I was with my mum and other pensioners they took the lift - only 3 people can fit in but it is fast and they had no problems with it.
We had a twin room which was very clean and nicely decorated with matching furniture, curtains and bedding. The room was very light and airy. The bathroom was also very clean and the towels were so fluffy and fresh they were amazing.
The staff were all very helpful without exception and nothing was too much trouble for them.
The hotel is set at the end of a dead end road which meant no passing traffic so it was very quiet. For those driving there is plenty of parking outside.
The food was well cooked and served with a smile, breakfast was lovely.
I walked into Sherringham each day - it is only a 5 minute walk - and found some wonderful shops selling lots of little bits and pieces, and of course the usual fish and chip shops.
For anyone wanting a friendly family run hotel this is for you.
Would highly recommend it, and have booked a return trip for my husband and myself soon which I look forward to.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burlington Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Sheringham NR26 8LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sheringham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sheringham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 229
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Sheringham
The Burlington Hotel Sheringham, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Burlington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.