We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gem to be cherished” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Burlington Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Sheringham
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Burlington Hotel
Save
You added The Burlington Hotel to your Saves list
The Esplanade, Sheringham NR26 8LG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sheringham
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Gem to be cherished”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

We can only endorse previous 2 reviewers' comments.Do not be put off by a bit of shab here and there, either at the hotel or in the town. A lovely survival in a world where lots of old buildings have been replaced with mundane flats or disfigured by plastic windows. Old fashioned in lots of good ways, eg the price, comforting food, freshly cooked non-buffet breakfasts etc. Huge bed, thick fluffy towels, nice bar, good service, traffic free frontage, stunning skies, direct access to beach and coastal path, and a short walk from quirky old harbour. A truly retorative stay.

Room Tip: Sea views good for skies and waves, side views look over town and along coast
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

120 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    50
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
17
52
11
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We had the privilege of spending another short stay at this lovely old hotel last weekend. The staff are beyond first class and the friendly manager knows how to run a good establishment.
The food and drink, served in the light and airy restaurant, were both superb.

Yes, the place can look a little tired in places but this is more than countered by the overall experience. The sea view alone is stunning.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Winchester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2013

A group of us stayed at the Burlington Hotel this September. This was our second visit as we so enjoyed our last stay here. The views are spectacular with the hotel a few yards from the sea and a short walk from the town. The staff go out of their way to help and the food is very good. Do not be put off by the outside of the hotel it is really quant inside. A well behaved dog is allowed in a number of the rooms. Sheringham itself is a lovely old fashioned seaside town and there are plenty of places to visit around the area. The buses are fun and the service is good.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a sea view and a shower as well as a bath. A number of suites with cooking facil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2013

We stayed at the Burlington Hotel for two nights in room 11 that had a fantastic seaview and would have been better if the windows had been cleaned. Room was large but very tired decor could do with a complete make over. We had problems with the toilet as you needed to flush at least three times before it empted. Breakfast was not very good eggs were swimming in grease and bacon very chewy as if it had been re-heated. We was told the evening meals were good although we decided to eat out, must have had a different chef in the evening. The next day stuck to cereal and toast and noticed not many people having the cooked breakfast. We did complain about the toilet when we checked out and also the TV not working, the Manager told us another room had the same problem and kindly took money off our bill. Overall the location of the hotel is great staff polite but needs updating to a higher standard for the room rate they are charging.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

Stumbled across the hotel and decided to have dinner.Two adults three children hotel was fully booked up for a private function but staff fitted us in. Staff were very polite welcoming,immaculate in appearance and super efficient.The beer was great food & excellent.I had chicken with mustard & bacon cheese sauce with fresh veg,for desert tiramsu. Husband had slow cooked pork belly with sage mash potato &veg, sticky toffee pudding with cream. children had chicken nuggets & chips with icecream for desert.oldest son had white choc cheese cake which was divine.Lots of choice and amazing value for money

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Had my birthday meal at this lovely old place. Service was excellent, seating comfortable, food perfect and the music was just how we like it, in the background! And to top it all the price wasn't half bad either. Had a window seat overlooking the sea, very romantic. Would definitely recommend this for a good quality place to dine. Even thinking of returning to stay for a long weekend, it is several storeys high but has a lift so is really good for the elderly.

Room Tip: Parking right outside the door. Perfect.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2013

Our second visit to the Burlington. We returned for the wonderful sea views, easy access to the beach, warm helpful and professional staff and good quality food. What more could you ask for. Apparently this review has to be more than 200 characters but I've said all I want to say so that's it really!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Burlington Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Burlington Hotel

Address: The Esplanade, Sheringham NR26 8LG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Sheringham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 5 Hotels in Sheringham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 229
Also Known As:
Burlington Hotel Sheringham
The Burlington Hotel Sheringham, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Burlington Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.