We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hidden gem” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Robin Hood Tavern

The Robin Hood Tavern
Station Road, Sheringham, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #25 of 37 restaurants in Sheringham
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Norwich , United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Hidden gem”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Had an unexpected day out in shearingham, and decided to go to the robin hood. Upon entering we were welcomed by friendly staff and a warm atmosphere.
After ordering our food we were delighted the quality of the food when it arrived. It is surprising how hard it is to find a place that serves nice, family friendly food that is not over priced.
Thoroughly enjoyed our meal and will definitely be returning next time we are in the area.
A pleasure.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

50 reviews from our community

59% Recommend
    17
    13
    10
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Good Food But Wear Your Coat!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

I visit this pub fairly often with friends, in winter months they have a very good weekday offer of two meals for £10. There is a good choice of food and portions are always plentiful. Having read other reviews I must say I've never experienced slow service here. However on our last two visits (December evenings) it has been bitterly cold in the pub, so much so that it was a case of eating with your coats on and still being cold. This obviously will not help their trade, as with the food deal I don't expect they make much profit on the meals but hope to make it on the drinks, but we've been so cold we've eaten there and gone to a warmer pub in town for the rest of the evening. On our last visit we heard people complaining about the cold temperature but staff didn't seem bothered. There is clearly heating in the pub it's just not switched on. Such a shame as otherwise a great place.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Never again”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012 via mobile

We visited today for Sunday lunch , the food was cold and poorly presented , we have Bean before and will not return ,
I would suggest to the management that they need to take a look at them selves .

Only being 4 public houses in the town one
Would of thought that they were more conscientious ?

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Atmospheric”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

Liked this pub very much, oldie worldie atmosphere. Good food and drink, and other facilities. Some very interesting artefacts on the wall, and old types of vending machines - all within keeping of the pub. Liked it very much. Had a garden area as well for children.

Visited October 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Poor service, poor food.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

We had been here before , just had a drink in the garden and thought it was ok enough to go back to for food when in the area again. We took some friends, as we had booked to take the grandchildren to the Santa Special Steam Railway just up the road. We arrived in plenty of time to order and eat, or so we thought. When the food eventually arrived, at all different stages according to what it was, it was luke warm and meagre. Jacket potatoes were microwaved and hard in the middle, just barely warm. Service was poor and staff disinterested. Have plans to go to Santa Special again, will just have to find somewhere else for lunch.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Robin Hood Tavern also viewed

 
Sheringham, Norfolk
Sheringham, Norfolk
 

Been to The Robin Hood Tavern? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Robin Hood Tavern, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.