We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Eating in was a nice change!!!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dave's Fish Restaurant

Dave's Fish Restaurant
7-11 Co-Operative Street, Sheringham, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #32 of 40 Restaurants in Sheringham
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
“Eating in was a nice change!!!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 6, 2013

Came here last weekend and opted to eat in for a change.We both had the set meal I had haddock and Dave cod .We were not disappionted,the batter was crisp,chips golden and crunchy and the mushy peas lovely.Yes it had the skin on just dont eat it!!The fish was flakey and cooked to perfection.I m not sure if we came on a good day judging by the not so good reviews below but I have always found the fish and chips here to be good and I appriciate good fish and chips because it is very difficult to get them in the Midlands!!!!P.S its not my Dave who is the Dave in "Daves Fish Restaurant"!!!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

124 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    36
    11
    16
    17
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chichester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Eat only if very hungry, but even then......”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2013

Had set meal which was amazingly on the table in a couple of minutes: cod, chips, peas and pot of tea. Peas were fine but cool and in seperate steel dish. Chips were mostly those crisp, unforkable little potato remnants and the now almost brown fish had been deep fried and kept warm from some time before. Batter inedible, so left. Bread slice smeared with some sort of spread.

Grew up in Bognor Regis and Littlehampton so have so have some experience of what to expect in seaside resort fish and chip suppers.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“'Soggy chips for a soggy day'”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013

As it was raining I decided to go in for some chips and sausage. The chips tasted like they were half cooked and had oil poured on them before service, and many of them were stuck together. The sausage was OK, but I would expect nothing less from a Chip Shop.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fleet, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
116 reviews 116 reviews
68 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Good to seat down, but average fish n chips”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013 via mobile

This a good place to visit if the weather is not behaving, as you can seat down and take the weight off. Service has always been good, friendly and quick. It is reasonably priced and caters for kids, but the fish n chips are only average, not bad at all, but not great. The skin is left on the fish, which is always a no no for me and the chips are sometimes a little over cooked and tasteless. That said, it's a nice meal, especially the special that includes bread and butter and a pot of tea. We are always likely to return when in Sheringham and the weather is not great, but would choose Straits on the high street over Dave's when the sun is shining.

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“soggy fish!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Three miserable and uninterested teenagers serving soggy fish and chips. I wish them all the best. Such fun!

Visited October 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dave's Fish Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Dave's Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dave's Fish Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.