We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very dated restaurant but good value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Dave's Fish Restaurant

Dave's Fish Restaurant
7-11 Co-Operative Street, Sheringham, England
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #23 of 37 restaurants in Sheringham
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Guildford, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Very dated restaurant but good value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 4, 2013

We wanted somewhere to sit and eat our fish and chips and not get a bag and walk the streets. The meal we had was freshly cooked and no soggy bits. Having seen some of the large portion sizes coming from the kitchen I asked for a child's meal which was still a good size and more than enough for me. We had the usual mushy peas, bread and butter with a pot of tea although Mr B had a pint of Tetleys which was not cheap but as we were on a day out he treated himself and its nice to have a pint of beer with your fish and chips. The place is very dated and could do with a refurb but that said we were served quickly by friendly chatty staff and had a decent meal that was not overpriced so the surroundings were not that important given we were only after a seaside meal. All in all we were very happy and would go back again.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

66% Recommend
    34
    21
    6
    12
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
36 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“A bit scary”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

Fish and chips in the restaurant: quick service and food was hot. Cod in batter was a bit soggy. Restaurant seemed to be in a time-warp though - very 1980's with many sinister warning signs (do not move furniture - health and safety...... make a complaint before you've finished your meal....check you have correct change before you leave............close the door (in the WC)....plus several others). Not the most welcoming of establishments. Alex Politzi would have a field day.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, España
Top Contributor
134 reviews 134 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
71 helpful votes 71 helpful votes
“Excellent, as always”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

Dave's provides good quality fish and chips at a reasonable price. They have a 'special' which includes medium cod and chips, a slice of bread and butter, peas or beans and a tea or coffee. It's just under £10 which is good value. The staff are really friendly. Well worth going to!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“What a soggy let-down!”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 15, 2013 via mobile

We used Dave's takeaway tonight for fish and chips and were very disappointed. The batter on the fish was soggy and greasy. The chips were undercooked and similarly soggy and greasy. It was just a big, soggy let-down.

To give credit where it's due, the service was polite and quick, but the food was very poor. Sorry Dave, but when there are so many other fish and chip shops to choose from you'll have to do much better than that if you want to keep your customers.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastern England
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Reasonable fare”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2013

We took our food away rather than eating in. All freshly cooked, although the chips could have been drained better - they were a little too greasy.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Dave's Fish Restaurant also viewed

Sheringham, Norfolk
 
Sheringham, Norfolk
Sheringham, Norfolk
 

Been to Dave's Fish Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Dave's Fish Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.