We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful food” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Inn

Crown Inn
Lifeboat Plain | East Cliff, Sheringham, England
01263 823213
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #27 of 40 Restaurants in Sheringham
Price range: $8 - $24
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Awful food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013 via mobile

We went to the crown as we were meeting friends there my husband and I decided to have a meal big mistake mine had to be sent back as part of it was cold in the middle I had the crab and prawn fish cakes I was expecting some lovely home made one's but they looked very cheap you couldn't tell what you were eating because they were tasteless when they came back they had been heated up in deep fat fryer as they were full of grease yuk everything looked as if it was all frozen food I would never eat there again, I am not a fussy eater and never complain but just had to write a review.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

108 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    45
    22
    9
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Average but ok”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2013 via mobile

Local to area and always passed the crown but never been in. When I did eventually go in I was taken aback at how much of a run down back street pub it is as it doesn't give that impression from outside. Apart from that the service was very good, food obviously microwaved and quick fried but otherwise tasty and cheap and enjoyable.
I would use this pub again, as long as you know what you are getting.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cambs
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“good vfm”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Just been here for the fourth time, each time has been very good, have had the crab and suet puddings and all are served quickly and all are piping hot, they seem to have live music most saturdays which creates a good atmosphere, will be back very soon.

Visited April 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
“great food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

popped in with the kids great food good bear great sea views staff very nice just a shame not many ales on more a larger place but still very good will decently go back again when in sheringham

Visited March 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food overpriced, microwaved rubbish - would rather eat cardboard!!!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2013

Food arrived 2 mins after ordering - chicken korma tiny portion - pasta dish came smothered in "cheese sauce" which wasn't mentioned on the menu. Supposed to be sundried tomato, mushroom and roasted garlic sauce - found 2 pieces of tomato! Absolute rubbish. Totally overpriced processed mush!!!

    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Crown Inn also viewed

Sheringham, Norfolk
Sheringham, Norfolk
 

Been to Crown Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.