We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not only good beer a superb good value Restaurant” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Windham Arms

Windham Arms
Wyndham Street, Sheringham, England
01263 822609
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #18 of 40 Restaurants in Sheringham
Cuisines: English, Greek
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Rochester, United Kingdom
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Not only good beer a superb good value Restaurant”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

You could very easily miss this gem. if it was not for a local and there knowledge, we would not have booked a table in the Restaurant part of this Pub. The menu is Greek and good British Gastro pub food, as you would expect in Sheringham there is plenty of fresh fish and Crab on the menu. For me it was the best food we found in Sheringham. Make sure you look it up.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

144 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    76
    44
    10
    7
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Clare, Suffolk
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Wet evening didn't dampen our spirits...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013 via mobile

Whenever we're in Sheringham we try to eat here. Hubbie's fish & chips best he's had in ages, my veg Mediterranean medley was lush & full of flavour. Puddings also fab. Attentive service, great value for money.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Unexpected Greek find”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2013

Make sure you book in advance so you are not disappointed.

It looks like a standard English pub outside. The only clue as to what lies within is the blue and white decor. Inside is a full bar but the place to eat is the lounge and restaurant at the back. The menu has Greek and British. The owner is Greek and has built his kitchen to do the high temps needed for the style of cooking. The results are impressive.

We shared a calamari to start, fresh and hand coated none of the frozen stuff. the home made tartare sauce was creamy and light.

My wife had the pot roast chicken and I the lamb shoulder. Both were tender and moist and the portions are substantial. The meals were served with veg of the day (boiled not microwaved) and simply divine home made chips (fries to any non-UK foodies!). The sauces were simply gorgeous. We ate everything and washed it down with decent wine and real ale.

Dessert was a huge portion of whipped Greek yoghourt coated with walnuts and honey, again shared!

All wrapped up with a complimentary glass of Ouzo, the bill was less than £30 a head with G&Ts and a bottle of Prosecco.

Service was friendly if a little slow but that is to be expected when the food is this good.

Real food, service and value. Highly recommended.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
“Great food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

The pub cooks Greek and traditional meals, and it works. The scampi was (which my son had) was the freshest I've ever had and the Greek main courses we tried were lovely.

Great beer as well

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good knees-up.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2013

Went with friends for the Friday night Greek evening, held about once a month. The food was varied and plentiful and very authentic. Spiros, the owner and also the chef certainly knows his way around a Greek menu. The food was served mezzes style starting with the usual selection of dips and pita bread and brilliant whitebait. This was followed by fall-off-the-bone tender lamb, spiced chicken and a beef dish all excellently flavoured and cooked. The evening progressed with Greek dancing from the bar staff who endeavoured to involve as many of the diners as possible. A good selection of Norfolk ales were on tap and much appreciated by this Camra member.
Would recommend for a slightly off beat evening out with good company and a chance to make new friends.

Visited May 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Windham Arms also viewed

Sheringham, Norfolk
Sheringham, Norfolk
 
Sheringham, Norfolk
Sheringham, Norfolk
 

Been to Windham Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Windham Arms, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.