We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Broom Hall Country Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Broom Hall Country Hotel to your Saves list
Broom Hall Country Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Richmond Road, Saham Toney IP25 7EX, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saham Toney
essex
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Lovely”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2008

An imposing Victorian Country House Hotel with a very informal atmosphere. We stayed in the coach house which is about 40 metres away from the main building, lovely,big room and enormous bathroom! The main house has lots of comfy sofas and 2 restaurants, a formal one for main meals and a more informal one serving breakfast and bar meals, all delicious food.
There is an indoor pool or you can just relax in the beautiful gardens or conservatory. All the staff are very friendly. Lovely, relaxing surroundings and lots to see in the area too.
We went for a quiet, getaway break and certainly found it!

  • Liked — The relaxing atmosphere and location
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    20
    6
    4
    1
See reviews for
5
27
2
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Essex
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2008

We stayed in one of the 'coach-house' rooms, which are apart from the main building. (these are also on the flat, with great disabled access).
The room was a reasonable size and well-furnished. The bathroom facilities were very clean and comfy.
Breakfast was OK, a reasonable selection but could have been wider given the room price.
Staff were friendly and helpful.
Pool was small but clean, and inviting.
The grounds are beautiful and in summer I should think they are very picturesque. Great for a small, summer wedding (I gather they have a smallish function room).
The hotel is situated off the main road, in very quiet surroundings. Birdsong and the sounds of the farmland are all around.

  • Liked — Beautiful surroundings, nice building
  • Disliked — price is slightly high but still good
  • Stayed April 2008
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wiltshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2008

We stayed at the Broom Hall for two nights while visiting a nearby relative. Reception by the owners was friendly and informative and our superior classified room was quite spacious. The en-suite was adequate but not heated although it did not feel cold despite the inclement weather. The indoor heated pool was pleasant and clean but the accompanying shower and changing room facilities could do with renovating.
The bar and lounges were good for a small hotel and the restaurant was pleasantly appointed and had an open fire. The menu on Sunday evenings is restricted but certainly adequate but the following night allowed us the full choice of a comprehensive menu. The dishes we chose were excellent and the wine list more than adequate.
Breakfast was served in a separate dining area and again we had no complaints. In fact, the grilled kipper I enjoyed on the second morning was one of the best.
The hotel is situated in private grounds some 150m from a minor road. It is very quiet.

  • Liked — Quiet situation and room
  • Disliked — Not much
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2007

I knew that we had come to the right place when we were welcomed, as soon as we got out of our car, by a delightful black labrador bearing
a soft toy in her mouth! This hotel is exactly what it says it is - a
country house hotel. The service was friendly and courteous and the food excellent. When the chef was told that one of us was vegetarian,
extra vegetarian options were added to the menu. Their homemade marmalade was out of this world! We stayed in the annexe which was very peaceful and comfortable. There was a small pool at the hotel which was kept heated to a temperature between 29 and and 30 degrees centigrade. We are serious swimmers so we gave it a miss but it would be wonderful for families, especially in the summer when it is opened up and one can get out into the lovely garden. There are lots of things to do in the surrounding area and we particularly enjoyed taking the minor roads which were very quiet. It gave us the chance of seeing the area in more detail than tearing along a dual carriageway. The thing we most valued about the hotel was its' tranquillity which is very rare nowadays. The public rooms are essentially English which would really appeal to visitors from abroad. The true test of enjoyment is whether one would stay there again and we would say an emphatic YES!

  • Liked — Peace
  • Disliked — The wet room - the shower water filled the bathroom and you got wet even going to the WC and washbasin and it didn't dry out !
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Broom Hall Country Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Broom Hall Country Hotel

Address: Richmond Road, Saham Toney IP25 7EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Saham Toney
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Saham Toney
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Broom Hall Country Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Broom Hall Country Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Broom Hall Country Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.