We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not a very nice place to stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Comfort Inn Thetford

Comfort Inn Thetford
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Northwold
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Comfort Inn Thetford
Save
You added Comfort Inn Thetford to your Saves list
Thetford Road, Northwold IP26 5LQ, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northwold
Drinking
1 review
“Not a very nice place to stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2008

Just got back from two nights (unfortunately) at the comfort / friendly /wooodland Inn on a dinner bed and breakfast deal. It is in desperate need of either closing or doing-up. Under staffed, under decorated, bad food, grotty.

Breakfast was terrible, if the sausages or bacon had any colour they were over cooked and in-edible. Burnt on the inside, raw on the outside microwaved frozen food, rubber scrambled eggs, mushy beans, boiled tinned mushrooms etc ..
The evening meals were generally reheated frozen stuff with tasteless veg. But I did have a nice rare steak and they do nice chips.

Its' cheap and I guess you get what you pay for, but you can probably get much better.

7 acres of brambles and nettles - they could make some nice soups and puddings.

Stayed November 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

8 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1
    1
    1
    3
    2
See reviews for
2
1
1
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    2.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Brighton
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

We stayed at this hotel yesterday eve, 14th June 08. I booked this hotel because it was a reasonable price and included breakfast. There were a few good points but quite a lot of bad points about the hotel:

Staff were friendly enough - although morning staff at breakfast were slow to clear the tables of your breakfast plates and I had to pile my dirty plates on the window sill beside me

When I booked the room direct with them the person on the phone was not even going to send me an email/written confirmation of my reservation and no booking number was given

My credit card details were taken and so I assumed the room had already been paid for. When we arrived I was told that they needed the credit card again so they could put a holding deposit on the card and then I would pay for the room on departure. No one had explained this before arrival, only by luck did I have my credit card on me or cash to pay the room charge.

The parking arrangements were good - could park outside your property.

Breakfast was ok and so was our dinner.

Room set up was very odd. The units were a house which had been divided into upstairs and downstairs units. The front door was open all the time and the only secure door was your own room door. I did not feel safe as the units were situated away from the main block and therefore not adequate security in my mind.

We had an upstairs unit. Apart from the stairs we walked up there was no other means of escape if there was a fire in the block. If a fire broke out at the bottom of the stairs I would dread to think what would have happened. The windows were so narrow you wouldn't even have been able to get out of them.

The room was clean but needed redecoration and it did smell funny.

I would not recommend this hotel to anyone. My and my friend read the literature in the hotel room which created the impression of a modern hotel facility. I don't think modern has arrived in Northwold just yet!

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Northwold hotels

Wolverhampton
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2008

We've just spent a night at the Comfort Hotel as we were spending a day at Go Ape at Thetford Forest.
The room though large was stuck in a 70's time warp. It was clean though totally shabby. My daughter wanted to sleep in the car!
We breakfasted early although the cooked breakfasts were already cold as the staff had failed to turn on the burners below the serving dishes. Though they did remedy this when a couple complained. I would imagine a high chance of food poisoning reheating cooked food! Gave it a miss. The tea and coffee were also tepid.
The staff had no idea with directions for Go Ape which i found surprising as they had leaftlets on display and i don't think that there are that many tourist attractions in that area.
Even though i had prepaid for the trip they tried to charge again when i booked out, though interestingly i had paid £80 online through Superbreaks thinking i was getting a discount and Comfort Inn tried to charge £53 instead.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Essex
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
50 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2008

Very spacious rooms which are really accessible as you drive right up to them. The hotel is extremely quiet in a rural location, although just off the main road. The only noise I heard was the resident peacock & his family! My room was clean with a large wardrobe & a fully equipped bathroom (even a bidet). A full size bathtub with excellent water pressure. I also had some french windows which led out onto a grassy area overlooking a field of sheep.
The bed was comfortable enough.
I only had a bar meal which was good & reasonably priced. One grumble was the bad language used by the other customers in the bar (I would presume locals) & this would definitely put me off eating there again.
The staff were very courteous, although Reception was a bit hard to find. I had to do a couple of circuits of the car park!
Good value at only £42 for the night.

  • Liked — Space, quiet & the peacocks!
  • Disliked — Foul mouthed bar users
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
51 reviews 51 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
253 helpful votes 253 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2007

My wife and I stayed here for one night on our way to the Norfolk Broads. Being a professional fire and safety officer I always do a quick check around the hotel and this is what I found:
1. A Co2 Fire Extinguisher had not been serviced for 12 years
2. Fire Extinguishers poorly sited behind tables and chairs
3. Lack of Emergency Information on phones and notices.
4. Poor storage of chemicals (Store open so children could enter)
5. No Portable Fire Extinghuishers in Bedroom Blocks (Instructions tell you to fight fire with appliances provided)
6. Poorly sited Automatic Fire Detectors in Restaurant and Bedroom Blocks)

The bedrooms looked a little tired and were in need of upgrading but the food was reasonable.

  • Liked — Value for money
  • Disliked — Poor safety standards
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 15
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westerham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
51 helpful votes 51 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2007

I spent one night at the Comfort Inn, i had asked for a non smoking room, the only thing that made it a non smoker was the fact that i did not light up, it seems that every other visitor in the past 10 to 15 years had, this had the effect of making the room stink. The paintwork is heavliy tobacco stained and in general poor condition and the beds are some of the most uncomfortable around, they have also been made with old wool blankets of the type the British Army used in the 1950's. The carpet did not fit the room and was i guess 10 - 15 years old and heavily cigarette burnt.

Parking is good, and you can leave the car right outside your door, the staff are helpful and friendly and their level of service is good.

Be warned that the locals use the bar! Most of these appear to be local builders and farmers who appear entirely unaware that not everone else wants to hear how they --- someone elses ---- or that someone they work with is a ---. The management need to ask them to bear this in mind or drink somewhere else.

The food is served quickly and is reasonably priced but is not good quality, think 1980's steak house and you are on the right lines.

You are trapped in the hotel bar as there is nothing nearby.

Personally i would not recommend this hotel and would drive the extra few miles into Bury st Edmunds and stay somewhere nice.

  • Liked — Good parking
  • Disliked — Poor quality rooms
  • Stayed February 2007, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gaeshead
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2005

august 2005 paid £35 per person bed breakfast evening meal. good value for money
rooms a bit "tired" grouting needs cleaned in bathroom.
you can park outside roomwhich is good. ground floor rooms have a door to the garden which is over grown - pity would be a good place to sit and relax. resteraunt and bar clean comfortable places to be
food - good choice available and breakfast sets you up for the day. staff friendly and helpful. grounds could do with a sweep and brush.
all in all not a bad hotel but could do with a groundsman and someone to spruce up the rooms. there are many different rates so have a good look before booking

  • Stayed August 2005
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Comfort Inn Thetford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Thetford

Address: Thetford Road, Northwold IP26 5LQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Northwold
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Northwold
Number of rooms: 34
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Comfort Inn Thetford, is situated in the heart of Thetford Forest and is centrally located in Norfolk. It is the perfect hotel for a 'gateway' location from which to explore the awe-inspiring vastness of the Fens and Norfolk Broads. Using the Comfort Inn Thetford as a base for a touring holiday, you can discover the charm of Norfolk's many picturesque villages. All standard rooms have en-suite bath and shower, Satellite TV, Interactive TV (Internet Access, PlayStation, Exclusive Movies), hairdryer, trouser press and complimentary tea and coffee making facilities. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn Northwold
Northwold Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Comfort Inn Thetford, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.