We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and good value” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Scarborough Hill Country Inn

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Scarborough Hill Country Inn to your Saves list
Scarborough Hill Country Inn
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Yarmouth Road, North Walsham NR28 9NA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Friendly and good value”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

This is a traditional country hotel in a quiet location and, like many converted old houses, this has plenty of character and charm.

The staff are friendly and helpful, and the prices are very reasonable. Some of the decor is a bit "tired", but there appear to be refurbishments in progress and the rooms are clean.

The food is mostly traditional British: good, but nothing you couldn't have cooked at home yourself. There is selection of good local beers but the house wine is only average quality.

Overall a good place to stay if you're looking for a traditional country hotel at a reasonable price.

Room Tip: Room No. 1 is currently being refurbished so should be nice when finished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    39
    10
    8
    9
See reviews for
26
50
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harpenden, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

We loved staying at this hotel in the Lord Nelson Suite for our 15th Wedding Anniversary. We found all of the staff to be very helpful especially as I was arranging the surprise for my husband. The rooms were very clean and well presented and the hotel is set in attractive grounds. We dined in the the conservatory restaurant and were very surprised at the quality considering there was only 2 other couples staying that night. We had a starter and the carvery and everything was very tasty, looked good and not over cooked. We will definitely be returning as the cooked breakfasts were excellent and tasted fantastic. The only minus is that the hotel is a bit out of the way so if you have a drink with dinner you will need a taxi as there is not much locally.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Have never stayed at the Hotel but often go for lunch as they offer a good Carvery at a very reasonable price. Nice Conservatory dining room in very nice grounds. Also good venue for a wedding. On the minus side there always seems to be a change of staff so no continuity

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 31, 2013

If you like the sanitised, homogenised, boring same old, same old national chain of hotels ( the ones that Lennie Henry likes) then don't bother coming to Scarborough Hill Hotel.

On the other hand if you like quirky, individual with a certain charm and individuality then this is the place for you. It's in a wonderful location where you can wake up to bird song and have n early morning stroll around the grounds. The atmosphere in the bars is great with sofas, real fires and real ales. The food was good and offered excellent value for money. The staff were very friendly, helpful and accommodating for the needs of my dad who has Parkinson's.

We will be back.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed here after previously visiting for the superb Sunday carvery and found the location very convenient for visiting family.
We came up with very little notice for a family funeral and we were put up with no fuss no bother, which was very much appreciated at a very stressful time.
The hotel is a very attractive building with plenty of parking and in a lovely setting.
The staff we had dealings with were very professional.
When in Norfolk we had stayed previously at the Sea Marge ( see my review) and we were not especially happy with it, if and when we come up again we will definitely stay here.
Thank you

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
87 hotel reviews
Reviews in 80 cities Reviews in 80 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 29, 2013

Looks nice from outside, arrived at reception, no one there, I could hear people talking what I think was the kitchen. I waited a few minutes listening to the muffled conversation comming from the kitchen and decided to go to the bar and ask to be booked in. The young man said he would get the receptionist for me, guess where from. The kitchen. A man came from the kitchen in a what would have once been a white shirt but now a shade of grey, not a good look and I'm not just talking about the shirt. Booked me in, room 3, yes it's clean, and that's all it is, a mustard colour on the walls with dated furniture. The bathroom is awfully with a pathetic excuse for a shower. The room was that morbid that there is a picture on the wall of a young women, I felt sorry for her being hung in that room. Went down for breakfast. Talking comming from the kitchen, after a couple of minutes the same man appears from the kitchen from the night before to take my order, T and brown toast. What seemed like an eternity and lots of muffled chit chat he appears again with a T pot, no toast just a T pot. Then disappears into the kitchen. I finish my cereal off and drink my orange juice and leave without making a cup of Tea and without any toast. What a joke. Some people shouldn't have jobs where there is interaction with customers.

Room Tip: Not room 3
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
norwich
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 19, 2013

My mum and I stayed at this hotel for a party in north walsham in their only twin room. the room was spacious, beds really comfy and all very clean. the setting is amazing and it is a beautiful building. The breakfast was lovely but we were disappointed that there were no veggie sausages or bacon......should really have these options in this day and age. things to change: The bathroom really let it down, it was dated, a broked vent in the window, lots of black in and around the tiles and terrribly small. When we were leaving reception was not manned and there was no bell so stood there for ages before someone passed by to help us, a bell would rectify this! Having said that, we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scarborough Hill Country Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scarborough Hill Country Inn

Address: Old Yarmouth Road, North Walsham NR28 9NA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > North Walsham
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in North Walsham
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Scarborough Hill Country Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 8
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Scarborough Hill Country Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scarborough Hill Country Inn North Walsham, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scarborough Hill Country Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.