We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carvery” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Scarborough Hill Hotel

Scarborough Hill Hotel
Old Yarmouth rd | Scarborough Hill, North Walsham, England
Improve this listing
Ranked #10 of 21 Restaurants in North Walsham
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
north walsham
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Carvery”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Looked ok from the outside, booked a table and ordered a carvery, Veg was ok, yorkshire a bit soggy, no stuffing, not allowed to put your own roast spuds on your plate, no mash, and the gravy runny as water. Thought we would give a try as we always go to the Poachers Pocket at Walcott, but the Poachers it is for us in future, plus you get a bigger glass of orange and lemonade..............:(

    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

29 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    8
    4
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Great potential - not realised.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Lovely location and premises. Turned up for lunch on two occasions only to be told no food was being served due to the fact that a wedding reception was going on (in the marquee at the back) Why the chef was not up to offering snacks as well as this is beyond comprehension. Wrote to the owning company - no response. They used to serve delicious bar meals but last time we went the only offer was a carvery - which we do not find appealing. At least there is some decent beer on the bar - Jackel! A pity as Norfolk is not exactly blssed with a plethora of nice places to visit and eat in.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 2 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Runton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Pre Christmas Carvery”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

Just had Works Christmas meal here.The Duty manager Ian could not have been more cheerful and helpful but could not say the same for the waitress on duty that evening. We had a lovely long table in the conservatory to seat 18 of us but the crackers must have been the cheapest on the market ! we had pre ordered everything so service was quick but without a smile from waitress and since when have you had bread rolls served on right hand side !! The young lady chef serving carvery was excellent but would have liked more choice of veg plus chipolata sausage as stated rather than a cocktail sausage would have been nice.When it came to coffee time i did not get given a cup so asked waitress for one to be replied with an abrupt yeah she also reached across the table!! with pot of tea whilst pouring hot tea from other pot in her hand over one of my ladies.An average meal with duty manager being let down by his waitress. Would consider returning if more veg was available and different waiting staff were on duty.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Excellent carvery”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

Nice location.Staff could be a bit more friendly.Good value food.
in a large conservatory over looking garden

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Friendly service, wonderful setting”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

My friend and I visited the Scarborough Hill for lunch. The menu included a carvery, which we both had. Vegetables were perfectly cooked and piping hot (which isn't always the case with carveries), but there wasn't much selection. Turkey was also good. The beef was not so good, with a lot of gristle, and was the only thing that spoilt the meal a little.

Setting was lovely - a conservatory with a wonderful view of autumn woods - especially on a sunny day such as this was. The staff were all very friendly and made us feel welcome.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Scarborough Hill Hotel also viewed

North Walsham, Norfolk
North Walsham, Norfolk
 
North Walsham, Norfolk
 

Been to Scarborough Hill Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scarborough Hill Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.