We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bizzarely it was empty on a Saturday night but lovely food and service” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Cross Keys

Cross Keys
The Street | Dilham, North Walsham NR28 9PS , England
01692-53-63-98
Website
Improve this listing
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Bizzarely it was empty on a Saturday night but lovely food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

I think that from what some locals told us the Cross Keys has a thriving lunch time service. Four of us went on a Saturday night at about 8pm and until about 9pm were the only customers in the restaurant and there were only about 3 others in the bar. However the person greeting us was lovely and the food really good quality and so if you want a quiet intimate meal it would be a good venue but not if you wanted a more lively atmosphere. That said, we enjoyed ourselves and will go back for lunch one weekend soon when we stay with our friends again.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    12
    1
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
68 reviews 68 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Sunday Carvery in North Norfolk Village Pub”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

Four of us decided to try the Sunday Carvery to save us cooking. There were three meat choices, beef, turkey and slow cooked pork and we were able to try a good slice of each. This was served on good sized rectangular white plates then we helped ourselves to roast potatoes and Yorkshire puds. A good selection of veg was served in serving dishes on the table. You can have 1,2 or 3 courses. The fellas went with starter and main and we ladies had main and dessert. It was really nicely cooked and good value for money. Looking out over the garden area, there is currently a large screen where concerts, and currently World Cup football matches, are screened. A great friendly village pub.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2014

Lovely atmosphere, Very friendly staff especially the landlord/chef Paul. Excellent food, We ate there 3 times in a week. One of the best if not THE best restaurant in Norfolk. Looking forward to visiting again next year.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Walsham, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Raspberry vodka cheesecake is DIVINE!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2014

We have recently moved into the village, and have visited the Cross Keys for food and ales on several occasions, with a variety of friends and family members. The food is consistently delicious and very well presented. The staff are exceptionally helpful and friendly; there is a good choice of fine ales, and a lovely ambience. Both bar and restaurant menus are well considered, inviting, locally sourced, and very reasonably priced. Nothing is too much trouble for the restaurant staff, who are efficient, pleasant and accommodating. The dessert menu is creative: a variety of gorgeous offerings, including the very best cheesecake we have ever tasted! Homemade ice creams (we have tried honeycomb, and also pistachio) are a delightful accompaniment to the desserts.
Go and enjoy. You will be pleased that you did.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rickmansworth, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Very nice lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2014 via mobile

Popped in as had never been there before, despite visiting relatives living nearby in Catfield. Arrived and were the first in at lunchtime and ordered a light bite and drink.

Food was very well presented and well served, with a waiter who cared about service.

Will certainly visit again for an evening meal as the menu looks well thought out and has some tasty looking options.

Visited April 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cross Keys also viewed

 
North Walsham, Norfolk
North Walsham, Norfolk
 

Been to Cross Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Cross Keys, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.