We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good for fans of Emma Bridgewater” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Anchor Inn

The Anchor Inn
The Street | Morston, Morston NR25 7AA, England
+44 1263 741392
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Morston
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $9 - $30
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Cambridge UK
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
48 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
88 helpful votes 88 helpful votes
“Good for fans of Emma Bridgewater”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

We popped in here for cups of tea and a sit down, after walking from Cley-next-the-Sea along the coastal path. They had exactly the teas we wanted. Nice surprise to see they used Emma Bridgewater teapots. Then we looked round and saw dressers framed with Emma Bridgewater mugs etc. We were told that the wife of the chef is a big fan. The big treat here is that you can buy an Emma Bridgewater limited edition mug for £20 -- she designed it specifically for the Anchor Inn.

  • Visited June 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

395 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    223
    89
    42
    28
    13
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A must visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2014

After a lovely long walk, The Anchor seemed very inviting, and it was! Staff were all very friendly, a dog friendly pub too! Good menu choice, well presented and super tasty. Good atmosphere & ambiance. Would definitely recommend this lovely pub, we will 100% be returning.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheddar, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Excellent food -good service and friendly atmosphere”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2014

Brilliant discovery on North Norfolk Coastal road.Beautifully cooked and carefully flavoured.Really enjoyed the whole eating experience in a lively and comfortable environment.I would recommend it whole heatedly and look forward to returning!

  • Visited June 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kettering
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Great atmosphere,Great staff and Great Food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2014

We have been here several times and each time from the first to the latest, I have been treated like an old friend returning.
Nothing too much trouble, always greeted with a smile and food makes you feel well and truly contented.
From a bar meal to a full sunday lunch the same quality of service is given, keep it up guys and see you all soon.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONDON
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Worst meal for a long time”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 27, 2014

Beware….worst meal we have had in a very long time. Badly cooked food, badly run…..felt like it was run by inexperienced people.
Quality of food leaves much to be desired. Friends I ate with will not be going back, best to drive past, Would not recommend to anyone….many more lovely places to visit for a meal in the North Norfolk area.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rowan G, Owner at The Anchor Inn, responded to this review, May 28, 2014
Hell 'James',
Thank you for your useless review, you haven't provided us with anything to learn from or be advised from or any facts for TA viewers to be 'advised' on.
It looks like a stab at the management or us as owners, and if that's the case I'm glad you won't be coming back, if you ever came at all.
Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Anchor Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Anchor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Anchor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.