We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Third Visit” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Caley Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Caley Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Caley Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Hunstanton Rd. | Old Hunstanton, Hunstanton PE36 6HH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Third Visit”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

Always an enjoyable stay. Rooms and bathroom are clean, light and airy. Has all the facilities one requires for a short visit. Even had herbal teabags in the room. The large bed was extremely comfortable with an excellent mattress. On a previous visit in same type of room, bathrobes were supplied but not on this occasion. Wi-fi can be poor in some rooms; better to stay in an upstairs room for Wi-fi reception. Breakfast has an excellent choice of full continental or English. Breakfast times should be extended from 9.30am until 10am, as arriving at 9.15am can seem to cut it fine with the remaining hot choices but to be fair, we didn't ask for additional foodstuffs. The staff are attentive and polite without being invasive. This is an ideal choice of hotel for relaxing,feeling refreshed and being undisturbed. Having looked at other places and tariffs to stay in the locale, Caley Hall is competitively priced for the lovely location and surrounding area. Will stay again when visiting the area.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you dillonalan for your kind words.

We look forward to welcoming you back for visit number four.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    123
    48
    28
    6
See reviews for
66
179
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

One night stay, double, room very tired, sapele doors, old fashioned throughout except for
bedding. Small fridge with extension socket on floor had to use for hair dryer.
Glass pot with cotton wool and cotton buds on dressing table !!
Bathroom very poor, no fan, high window to open only, bath and sink good. Generally
very much in need of refurbishment, tiles broken, 70's tiles, etc and door hits sink so will not
open fully! Decent breakfast, quite good except for room.
Reduced rate room £99 was very expensive for what we got.

Room Tip: Good question
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, November 8, 2013
Thank you for reviewing Caley Hall.

I have been trying to find out which room you are referring too however I will address the comments made. As previously mentioned we are fully aware of the need of refurbishing some of our rooms and this is being done currently with the upmost importance. We can only apologise that we have let you down on this occasion but feel positive that given the chance we could most definitely change your opinion of the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 16, 2013

Very disappointed with the lack of any customer service and total inflexibility of the services offered.
The lack of ambiance in the restaurant was disappointing, the breakfast, which was 'help yourself' was dreadful with only a very basic choice. On this coastal location it would be good to have had 'kippers' or haddock as a choice but no chance here.
The bar is closed at 11.00pm sharp ! last orders 10.45pm sharp. In short we should apologise for causing them so much inconvenience despite paying them a considerable price for our visit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review.

It is always a blow when a guest has stayed with us and left anything less than pleased with their time here.

The comments regarding the breakfast are unusual to say the least, we have a number of glowing reviews here on tripadvisor as well as many by guests direct to us during their stay. We do also offer kippers which are on the menus situated on the tables and also in the rooms.

With regards to the bar closing at 11pm this is correct, we do mention this upon check-in, it is also in the room information folders.

The customer service comments are a real disappointment, we take a lot of pride in our team from housekeeping to kitchen and of course restaurant, they always go out of their way to ensure all of our guests are treated to smiles and friendly but efficient service. I am extremely concerned that this has not happened for you and I will look into this with high importance.

I hope that other potential visitors will see from previous reviews that this is an extremely rare occurrence.

My sincere apologies to Sheila K for not meeting expectations. Your comments will be looked into with the upmost urgency.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh, Scotland, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

Nice hotel.

The exterior is very nice indeed and although the property and rooms don't quite live up to the initial impression, it is very nice, clean and well appointed without the five-star luxury.

Overall a very good family stay with large room, comfy bed and well thought out facilities like a large TV and fridge.

Would definitely return for a longer stay.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for submitting a review for us here.

We are very happy that you enjoyed your stay and hope that next time you are in North Norfolk you will visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

A very well placed hotel. Our room a junior suite (9B) was large, quiet and comfortable. The bed was very comfortable. The menu was extensive, the food was well presented and the sweets are to die for. Staff were pleasant. Would recommend it.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you Helen P for a glowing review.

we are delighted you have enjoyed your time with us and look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainsborough, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights and went to Sandringham Game and Country Fair where we won a beautiful oil painting in a raffle. Had very enjoyable evening meal on our first night, delicious food, but thought £7 for a dessert, and £8 for cheeseboard consisting of 3 small very thin slices of different cheese - a bit steep!

Buffet style breakfast was brilliant, very thoughtful staff even put cushion on chair, as me being a bit small found the table a bit high !!

Room ok, apart from noisy fan in bathroom which came on when you switched light on - so led to us going to the loo
in the dark - a bit tricky ! Room very clean, bed very comfortable - both slept like logs ! and ample tea, coffee etc.

Only problem was a grumpy old woman in room next to us, but of course nothing Caley Hall could do about that !!

Room Tip: Go for an upgrade we just had a standard room, which was ok, but a bit more space would be nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for leaving us a review here on tripadvisor.

Unfortunately due to rules and regulations we are unable to lock away grumpy old woman in the back until they promise to cheer up however we hope this didn't impact too heavily on your stay.

many thanks again and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

We were very disappointed by the standard of the so called LUXURY Suite we booked for our 3 night break. You could not see out of the very dirty windows and the whole of the paintwork was in a very poor state. The corridor and stairs leading up to the room was a disgrace for a high class hotel and was filthy. The system in the bathroom was dated and made a loud grating noise. It was a very expensive 3 day break even though we had a £20 per day discount after we complained. We will NOT be recommending this hotel to anyone and will certainly not be staying there again. However we did enjoy our evening meals there and the area around Hunstanton so would return to stay at a different hotel in the area.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review.

It is always deeply upsetting when we receive such negative feedback and we have to establish exactly why this has transpired.

I have taken some time to look at the issues that you have raised and taken the appropriate actions to remedy some of them.

I would point out that although this is not by any means ideal, the problems raised are mainly cosmetic and easily fixed which as previously mentioned is already being done.

It is disappointing that this experience has led to you deciding against using us in the future however we are sure that should we ever have the chance we would be able to right these wrongs a give you a completely different opinion.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caley Hall Hotel

Address: Old Hunstanton Rd. | Old Hunstanton, Hunstanton PE36 6HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caley Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set around a 17th-century manor house in North Norfolk. Peaceful hotel with 39 rooms, mainly on the ground floor, restaurant and bar. Suites and luxury rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Booking.com so you can book your Caley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caley Hall Hunstanton
Caley Hall Hotel Hunstanton, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caley Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.