We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Caley Hall Hotel. Old Hunstanton” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Caley Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Caley Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Caley Hall Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Old Hunstanton Rd. | Old Hunstanton, Hunstanton PE36 6HH, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Caley Hall Hotel. Old Hunstanton”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2013

This is our third stay at the hotel in the last five years. We always have the same room which is in the annexe. The room itself is large,very clean and comfortable, with everything you would need. The hotel provides every room with a fridge which we find very useful. The food and presentation is superb, the service excellent. We shall definitely be going back for a fourth visit. There are quite a few room for anyone who uses a wheelchair.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you Hilary G for this review.

We look forward to your 4th visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

356 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    151
    123
    48
    28
    6
See reviews for
66
179
15
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (91)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
MIDLANDS
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2013

We stayed for two nights with our family at the Caley Hall Hotel, and were nine in all. The staff made us welcome and the food was wonderful. This was our second visit, and again the sun shone for us! We recommend the hotel and hope to visit again very soon.

Room Tip: We were located in a superior twin, the first room located at the entrance to the hotel, which, as m...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for a lovely review, it was a pleasure looking after your party and we can't wait to welcome you back next time.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2013

On arrival we were greeted well and shown to our room. The hallway and landing approach to the well appointed room needs completed redecoration. There seems to be some attempt to improve the facilities ( window repairs had been recently done for example as demonstrated by the fresh putty mark all over the windows).
The room was clean and the bed and bedding immaculate. The towels and bath robes too were super.
Our dining experience was not what we had hoped for. The salmon fish cakes were tasteless and the sauce had split and was not appealing or appetising to look at. The haddock portion was small and overall the food was over priced for what it was,(£7 for a small piece of fruit crumble for example). The restaurant looked somewhat tired and the most striking feature was the very low chairs which required cushions to bring you up to a comfortable dining height.
The restaurant staff were polite and service was quick.
Overall the experience we had was well below that which we have had in hotels in other places in North Norfolk for the same price and in some cases much less.
There is room for improvement.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for your review.

I believe that we have made contact with yourself directly about the comments made here and hopefully went some way to resolving these issues.

If I am incorrect please do feel free to email the hotel again directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

After reading some not so good and good reviews of this hotel, we decided to book a one night stay and keep an open mind. Our superior room was spacious with all the amenities you would expect from a three star hotel but black mould in the bathroom, the latch on the door handle broken and scuffs to the paint work is not what you would expect. The management did apologise and I do understand they have a difficult job but I was expecting better for the rating and money charged for the stay. Breakfast was good and everything was replenished when needed.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you lastoneinthebox for taking the time to leave us a review.

As I have previously mentioned on another review it is always very difficult to avoid a few scratches and scuff marks when there is the kind of turnaround in rooms which we have, especially in these busier months. We do try our hardest to redecorate rooms at the earliest opportunity but this is not always feasible however we do also understand that this is not of no compensation to yourself and we apologise that you felt you did not receive the value for money you had expected.

We are always disappointed when the guests leave feeling anything less than completely satisfied, we hope that should you visit North Norfolk again we may have the chance to correct this.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire
Top Contributor
110 reviews 110 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
103 helpful votes 103 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

Nothing to dislike about this place. Ate there on a Tuesday. Good choice on the menu. Food cooked well. Not inspirational but appeared reliable. One trainee member of staff a bit at sea but everyone has to learn. Only point - desserts £7 each and not worth it. Waitress said to try to justify the £7 creme brûlée strawberries and a scoop of ice cream were added!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for review.

i have passed the comments on to our head chef regarding the sweet prices for him to reflect on. We have had a number of recent additions to our team and training is an ongoing process so thank you for understanding this.

We find ourselves blessed with our location, mainly being in such a wonderful part of the country but also by being on the very edge of town making us a quiet & tranquil, the perfect getaway for some, however I do understand how it could be perceived by others as dull although clearly this is not our intention.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oldham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights and had dinner on 2 evenings.Enjoyable stay.Restaurant staff were very good.The room was standard.We could not see the need for two large mirrors in the bathroom.A ledge over the wash basin would have been helpful to place toiletries etc instead of having to put them on the side of the bath.The water had to be run a long time before coming hot which meant a lot of water was wasted.

The wifi reception was weak.In the restaurant the chairs were not the right height for the tables,unless one got a cushion.

The above criticisms are minor and would not stop us staying at the hotel again.The food was very good.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for leaving us a review, the little are just as important as the little and we always appreciate feedback from a fresh pair of eyes.

We hope to see you again for a future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

Stayed one night and received free upgrade to superior room. Very comfortable, great food, excellent service. Good location for hunstanton. Would recommend. We intend to return at a later date. Plenty of car parking space.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CaleyHallHotel, Manager at Caley Hall Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2013
What a fantastic review. Many thanks for making the effort to submit this,we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Caley Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Caley Hall Hotel

Address: Old Hunstanton Rd. | Old Hunstanton, Hunstanton PE36 6HH, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Caley Hall Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 40
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set around a 17th-century manor house in North Norfolk. Peaceful hotel with 39 rooms, mainly on the ground floor, restaurant and bar. Suites and luxury rooms available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Priceline, Venere, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com and Odigeo so you can book your Caley Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caley Hall Hunstanton
Caley Hall Hotel Hunstanton, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Caley Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.