We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Hotel, Great Venue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of BEST WESTERN Le Strange Arms Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added BEST WESTERN Le Strange Arms Hotel to your Saves list
BEST WESTERN Le Strange Arms Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Golf Course Road, Hunstanton PE36 6JJ, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save up to 50% off stays!
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
Luton, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic Hotel, Great Venue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2013

We had our wedding at Le Strange on the 15th June and stayed for the whole weekend with 60 of our guests. We could not have asked for a better weekend, the location of the hotel is great as it is right on the beach and gives you unspoilt views across the Wash, the hotel is spotless and well looked after and all our guests commented on how happy they were with their rooms. The selection and quality of the breakfast food was second to none and the food we had for our wedding was out of this world and everyone was stuffed afterwards. Throughout our stay the staff bent over backwards to make everything just right for us, from when we first booked our wedding with them a year ago they helped us with all our arrangements and we could not have got through the day without Carl the manager's help and ideas. We would highly recommend Le Strange to anyone looking for that ideal wedding venue that goes the extra mile.
We can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

446 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    238
    155
    38
    11
    4
See reviews for
79
266
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (134)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
lancashire
Top Contributor
86 reviews 86 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 54 cities Reviews in 54 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

Stayed here for a wedding, the wedding was nice, staff seemed friendly and everything seemed to go smoothly for the bride and groom, the food was nice at the wedding and breakfast was ok, not a great choice for breakfast but not sure if the usual hotel breakfast is better as they put on a special breakfast for the wedding guests in a separate room.
We had a family room on the top floor which consisted of two rooms with a door between, twin beds and bathroom in one room and single bed and chairs, table and another tv in the other room where my youngest slept. Good selection of teas, coffees, water, biscuits etc in the room. Bathroom was large with bath and separate shower and very clean, looked quite new, although the shower didn't work properly so getting 3 girls showered the following morning was a lot of hassle. The children got little activity packs put on their beds which they loved.

We had nice views from our room overlooking the beach, but to be able to get some sleep without a cooler system outside our window I would have been happy for no view than that awful noise, I slept no more than an hour all night and that was in bits, the cooler system was like a jet engine every half an hour all night long, so you can imagine how fed up I was, and totally exhausted, we had no choice but to open the window and listen to it even more as our room was sweltering hot, even though it was only about 15 degrees out. I complained the following morning about the noise and although the receptionist apologised she also said its meant to be turned off at night and I should have phoned down and asked it to be turned off, first of all I had no idea it could be turned off so why would I ask that and secondly when my kids were asleep I wasn't going to mess about finding the phone/number etc and ringing reception at 2,3 am, the receptionist seemed to know all about it so im sure shes heard that complaint many times before, this really put me off this hotel as it wasn't cheap and I didn't sleep at all, probably the worst night 'sleep' ive ever had.

There were no plugs at the dressing table and only a tiny mirror, im glad we stayed in another hotel the night before as there is no way I could have done my hair for the wedding in this room. As others have mentioned the walls are very thin, we could hear everything from the other rooms.

Hunstanton is a 5 minute drive away with lots of cafe's, shops, arcades and a nice walk along the promenade, the water is dark brown but theres some sand for the kids to play. Theres a couple of small craft/gift shops outside the hotel but we didn't get time to look.

Theres a nice seating area outside the hotel which seemed to sheltered from the wind so was nice to sit outside in the sun, theres also a field and small park so good for the kids to let off some energy. The beach is next to the hotel and sand much better than in hunstanton, but very windy so quite cool, loads of kite surfers down there. In the hotel there was a lounge area, dining room and bar, theres also a little pub next door that I think the hotel owns too but we didn't go there.

Room Tip: Make sure the cooler system/air con isn't outside your window
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

I was staying at the hotel for my work colleagues wedding. On arrival we were greeted very nicely. The room was overlooking the car park which was not the greatest of views but hey ho who wants to look out of the window ! We had a very nice breakfast - full English with toast also a wide choice of fruit juices and cereals too, plenty of tea or coffee. The whole hotel was very clean and all staff very helpful. Considering after unpacking we lost one of our room cards, I thought my god we are going to have to pay for it but when we went to reception they said it would turn up and nobody else could use it so don't worry - phew another expense we thought.
The rooms were very nice and airy and very comfortable beds - did get a good nights sleep. The gardens and view from the hotel are quite something else - the bride and groom had a lovely view at the bottom of the garden ( the beach ) most spectacular for the photos. Couldn't of wished for a better place to stay. Did see that the reception were very helpful to woman with small babies assisting with getting milk warmed up and bottles prepared, they are very accommodating. Would recommend a stay at this hotel to everyone. So if you do decide to go you wont be disappointed. Enjoy ..

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dunstable, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

My wife and I stayed for just one night on June 21st..
The location was great,in asmuch that we ate on the terrace of the Old Mariner Pub, which is part of the complex, and shared a great view of the sunset on the longest day,with other guests .
The staff were very helpful and accomodated our smallest wish.
A seaside walk is only a stones throw away ,and the sandy beach goes on forever.
A very clean and comfy homely hotel,and we will come again.
M&D Garrod. Dunstable.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Luton, England, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

Excellent hotel great room really comfortable ,breakfast was great ,great location highly recommended .Staff were pleasant and helpful .I was thier for a wedding and the happy couple stayed longer and they were well looked after.

Room Tip: I had a twin room and beds were large singles and very comfortable .En suite was a shower of high qu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Devon
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2013

We stayed at the Le Strange Arms Hotel for one night only as we helped our daughter's family move out of their house. We were exhausted after a long and busy day and arrived at our room feeling very weary.
The room was warm and cosy, a little quirky with the floor looking as though it was lower at the head end of the bed than at the opposite side.
The decor is tired and rather dated but this is the only thing I could say on the negative side, everything else was superb.
The bed was the most comfortable that we have ever slept in, and we both had a great night's sleep.
There was everything in the room which we needed, and extras which was very much appreciated.
Overall, a very lovely stay, and can recommend staying here anytime.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2013

Best Western property located in Old Hunstanton. It couldn't have been in a better location for us and our 3 Jack Russell's. Stayed in the Dog friendly " Boathouse accommodation which is a few mins walk from reception and even though not attached to the hotel the accommodation was excellent for us as we could take the dogs in and out without trekking through hotel corridors etc. The room was a good size and feels so much bigger than other standard hotel rooms, Bed was good which is a blessing and overall very clean. Shame about the Saniflow system in the bathroom which sounds as if a London Underground station is right next door.The hotel overlooks the coast and has it's own access to the beach which was ideal for anyone staying with their dogs,.
Breakfast was fantastic and you could have anything you wanted from the extensive menu...The pub right next door was very handy and the food is excellent if you prefer good wholesome food at a great price. They always have 3 guest ale's available and a special's board for something different.
Overall a great few days break, shame the weather was more like March than June but this did not spoil our first visit to the BW Le Strange Arms.
I would recommend this property to anyone who wants a weekend away just enjoying the fresh air and having everything at hand without having to use the car....Thanks BW it was well worth it and I'll be back soon

Room Tip: Yes you can take the dog away as well. The Boathouse rooms were excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to BEST WESTERN Le Strange Arms Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN Le Strange Arms Hotel

Address: Golf Course Road, Hunstanton PE36 6JJ, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Hunstanton
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Hunstanton
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN Le Strange Arms Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Despegar.com, Odigeo and TripOnline SA so you can book your BEST WESTERN Le Strange Arms Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Hunstanton
Hunstanton Best Western
BEST WESTERN Le Strange Arms Hotel Hunstanton, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage BEST WESTERN Le Strange Arms Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.