We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A spot of lunch” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lawns Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added The Lawns Hotel to your Saves list
The Lawns Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Station Road, Holt NR25 6BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holt
Mundesley, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“A spot of lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

My husband and I went during Holt Festival week for a light lunch. We were not disappointed and sat outside on the lawn. The cheese board was more than ample and for us it was a very positive experience.The staff were friendly and helpful without being obsequious. As we are local we hope to come again.

Room Tip: we did not stay
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

123 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    36
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
11
80
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cambridgeshire
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

We travelled as two couples for a 3 night stay 9th July. My parents stayed in Room 7. We stayed in Room 5. Both rooms were tastefully decorated - it is a hotel - not a personal space. Very clean. Room made up every day together with Tea and coffee supplies together with bottled water and biccies. Room 7 had a small fridge which was a bonus. Room 5, although up in the eaves had a high ceiling an didn't feel small at all. Both rooms had excellent size bathrooms, and whilst the shower is hand held, it worked very well - with lots of hot water. Room 5 did suffer loss of water on a couple of occasions but it soon came back into flow after 10 minutes. Breakfast is served between 8 am and 10 am, so gives opportunity for a lay-in should you wish. The breakfast is top notch ! as much as you want and excellently cooked.
Overall we loved our stay and would definitely recommend it to others. The weather was not kind to us, but they have a very well maintained garden area leading from the conservatory which we would have liked to enjoy. Holt is a lovely little town with independant shops and cafes. The hotel is literally minutes from the town and local bus stop.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2014

We were looking for a place to stay in Holt for a couple of nights and after reading the reviews on Tripadvisor we decided to book in at The Lawns.
On the plus side the hotel is convenient for the town with ample parking, a nice garden and a conservatory. We were disappointed with our room (room 5) which we found somewhat dated. Other reviewers say there was fresh milk in the fridge but there was only uht in ours and the mugs for tea were dirty. After a long journey it would be nice to have a comfortable chair in which to relax and enjoy a cup of tea. However, the two wooden chairs in our room were anything but comfortable. The bed was fine. The hot tap at the washbasin turned round when trying to turn it on. Couldn't always get any water at the washbasin either. We paid £115 per night and expected more than a hand held shower over the bath.
We had an evening meal here which was good though the bottle of wine we ordered was plonked down on the table without a word. The staff were friendly particularly the guy manning the bar. We would eat here again but not stay here.

Room Tip: Don't pick room 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, UK
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Three night stay in this hotel. Lovely location. All staff were friendly and helpful. The young lady who waited on our table both evenings was delightful. We dined there on two nights and the food and service was excellent on both occasion, as were the breakfasts. We were in an annexe adjacent to the main building. It was spacious and clean. Sporadic wifi connection though.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Framlingham, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2014

This was such a lovely friendly place. We have previously stayed at Byfords, but they have no bar. However, The Lawns does and their Adnams and Norfolk Wherry beers are kept and served to perfection. We had a garden room,9, which was perfectly adequate for our stay and a very comfortable bed. The breakfast was wonderful. Cooked to order and the toast was hot! Can;t get much better than that!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

I stayed here for one night on a business trip. The hotel is in a good location in the lovely village of Holt, it was easy to find and had ample parking. The staff were extremely friendly and helpful on my arrival and showed me to room 7 which was spacious and very comfortable ( although a little hot at night). The only issue i experienced was that there was no water pressure at peak times which meant i was unable to have a shower in the morning. I thought the general decor of the hotel was classic and very tasteful.
Breakfast was great, i had eggs benedict and there was plently of other options to choose from.
I would recommend this hotel to couples or other business travellers.

Room Tip: As room 7 is in the eaves of the building, i would recommend not choosing this room on a hot night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2014

Just returned from a 3 day break at this hotel. Stayed in room 8 which is a lovely room with beams and enormous bathroom. As the bathroom was huge felt it would have benefited from a walk in shower, rather than the hand held shower over the bath. The bed was very comfortable and the room was equipped with tea and coffee making facilities as well as complimentary water and biscuits.

Breakfasts satisfying with fruit, yoghurts cereals and lovely hot cooked breakfasts with varying choices.

The town is just around the corner.

Room Tip: A room overlooking the garden are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lawns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawns Hotel

Address: 26 Station Road, Holt NR25 6BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lawns Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lawns Hotel and Wine Bar is a privately owned hotel that offers a high standard of hospitality and service. An ideal place to relax and stay while discovering the joys of the surrounding countryside and coastline.All the 10 bedrooms are en-suite, with freeview televisions and DVD players and tea making facilities.Enjoy the AA rosette restaurant and bar, offering a menu that reflects locally sourced seasonal ingredients in a range of delicious dishes. Relax in the Lawns fully licensed informal bar, with local beers and a wide range of wines and spirits. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes are available all day and can be enjoyed in the conservatory or our large south facing garden – ideal for relaxing in when the sun shines.There is a car park at the rear of the hotel and free wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your The Lawns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawns Hotel Holt
The Lawns Hotel Holt, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lawns Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.