We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This hotel is a gem!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Lawns Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added The Lawns Hotel to your Saves list
The Lawns Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   26 Station Road, Holt NR25 6BS, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holt
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“This hotel is a gem!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2011

We love Holt and the surrounding area and regularly stay in a self catering cottage. This time we went for a short break and stayed at The Lawns. From the start we were impressed by the homely and friendly feel to the hotel and welcoming staff. It was exceptionally clean and our room was lovely overlooking the gardens and Greshams playing fields. Plenty of tea, coffee and milk in the room and a nice touch with handmade local soap etc. It is a quiet location but only a short walk into town where you have all the unique shops that Holt has to offer. We were spoilt for choice on where to sit as the hotel has several seating areas each with its own style and ambience. The food was good, we ate in for dinner and had a splendid choice, also at breakfast there was an array of things from full english, kippers and eggs on toast. Something for everyone. Adnams ale and wines what more could you ask for? If you can think of anything then ask as I'm certain the staff will do everything that they can to make your stay special. Top tips for staying in Holt: Restaurants Butlers for the discerning, Balthazzar for the quirky. Take a trip back in time on the steam train to Sheringham. Best beach at Holkham or Wells. A real gem of an hotel in the heart of North Norfolk.

Room Tip: All rooms on first floor look good I get the impression those on the second floor may be smaller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    68
    35
    12
    4
    2
See reviews for
10
79
2
4
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Orpington, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed at this hotel in June, not very nice weather unfortunately, but that was not the hotels fault. It is a small hotel and you can look at each room on the internet and book your choice. It was a nice, clean and friendly hotel. The food was good and a nice selection of wines with a choice of sitting in the bar, conservatory or restaurant room to eat and drink. The bar staff were friendly and helpful. The High Street is just around the corner and well worth a visit. A pleasant weekend was had and I would go back again.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
essex
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2011

Stayed for two nights in The Lawns Hotel after hearing some good reviews on tripadviser. Our room was one of the cheapest at £95 per night it was room 3 on the first floor. The room was quite small and although the bedding was clean the room itself was very dusty. We was told the room had not been previously used and found the kettle was still full of water. The toilet moved when you used it and on further investigation found it had been propped up at the front with what looked like a piece of folded cardboard. The shower screen was too short and you had to point it directly down otherwise the water splashed on the floor. Breakfast on the first day was absolutely awful, the white of the eggs were badly crisped, bacon was tough, fried bread well overcooked and mushrooms cold. We complained to the waiter but no apologies given. There must have been a change in cook as the next morning the breakfast was quite good. The good points are friendly staff and good location. The room quality did not warrant the price we paid and would not consider staying again..

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2011

Fantastic hotel and great hosts. we had a lovely warm welcome and nothing was to much trouble, superb service. Our bedroom was excellent and the food was even better.Highly recommended.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bedford
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 2, 2011

Stayed here on a trip to the Norfolk coast, all the hotels in Cromer looked too holidayish so we chose this one as it looked more suitable for work colleagues. We chose the two cheapest rooms - they were excellent quality, spacious, plenty of facilities, lovely bathrooms, tea and coffee always available. We had dinner in the dining room and it was lovely, lots of choice, fresh and well cooked. I will definitely come back here again.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Top Contributor
222 reviews 222 reviews
52 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
74 helpful votes 74 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2011

Earlier reviews have captured this place well. A rare combination of warmth, friendliness, a relaxing environment and high standards; nothing is too much trouble and guests are made to feel that their comfort and enjoyment are #1. Just like staying with rather agreeable friends.

Room Tip: Ask for Bedroom 1. Holt is a pleasant town, too
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2011

This small family run AA 4star hotel is situated near the North Norflok coastline and is just a few miles from the quaint town of Sheringham. The area is famous for its fish and shellfish and Cromer is just along the coast which is renouned for its crabs.
The hotel has just eight rooms and ours had a vaulted beam ceiling with a large very comfortable bed. The service offered by the staff was very friendly and helpful and the quality of the food in the AA Rosette restaurant was exceptional. I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel for anyone who is looking for a break away from the hustle and bustle of big city life.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Lawns Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lawns Hotel

Address: 26 Station Road, Holt NR25 6BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Holt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lawns Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Lawns Hotel and Wine Bar is a privately owned hotel that offers a high standard of hospitality and service. An ideal place to relax and stay while discovering the joys of the surrounding countryside and coastline.All the 10 bedrooms are en-suite, with freeview televisions and DVD players and tea making facilities.Enjoy the AA rosette restaurant and bar, offering a menu that reflects locally sourced seasonal ingredients in a range of delicious dishes. Relax in the Lawns fully licensed informal bar, with local beers and a wide range of wines and spirits. Coffee, tea and homemade cakes are available all day and can be enjoyed in the conservatory or our large south facing garden – ideal for relaxing in when the sun shines.There is a car park at the rear of the hotel and free wi-fi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your The Lawns Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lawns Hotel Holt
The Lawns Hotel Holt, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Lawns Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.