We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Over priced, didn't live up to expectations” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Byfords

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added Byfords to your Saves list
Byfords
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   1 - 3 Shirehall Plain, Holt NR25 6BG, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #4 of 21 Holt B&B and Inns
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Over priced, didn't live up to expectations”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 23, 2014

We booked Byford's with high expectations, a lovely B&B however I do think the posh rooms are over priced, the tv didn't work properly and there were no bath robes which are needed especially when having to leave the room to get milk from the fridge on the landing for tea and coffee in the rooms. The bathroom was lovely with piped music and the bed was very comfortable, however we were woken early Saturday morning by a faulty fire alarm in our room.
Above average but disappointed, over priced wouldn't go back.

Stayed February 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    175
    56
    11
    2
    2
See reviews for
31
164
3
6
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Suffolk
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2014

My husband booked the weekend for us way back in May of last year. It was billed as Posh B&B. It certainly lived up to the name. From the moment we arrived on a very wet and windy afternoon, to moment we left we treated like royalty. The room was very spacious and comfortable. The bathroom had a walk in shower that was the size of some bathrooms I have been in. The bath was double ended and big enough for the both of us. A nice touch was the milk for the tea and coffee was in a small fridge on the landing, none of the pre-packed milk.
I have to say the staff were all brilliant they could not do enough for us. I also liked the fact that a lot of locals came in for breakfast, they were all acknowledged by the staff, who often asked how their week had been. Byfords is very child friendly, staff talking to the children as well as the adults.
Food is excellent, well cooked and presented. Atmosphere was friendly and welcoming. They also have different menus for gluten, dairy free and vegetarian people.
I would recommend this as an option when in North Norfolk, even if you only go in for a cake and coffee.

Room Tip: Each room is different, look on the web site and find a room to suit you.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

What a fabulous posh B&B. All the staff were very friendly through check in to check out.
On arrival we were given a "passport to our Norfolk" The card can be used on promotional offers and enabled us to enjoy a three course evening meal with a glass of wine for £20 each.
All of our food was fantastic to include a full English cooked breakfast with quality that gives the hotel that extra edge.
The rooms are quaint with feather duvets/pillows and a" just sink in bed" comfort. Our bathroom had that extra touch with fresh flowers and tea light candles so you can just lie back and relax in a big bath filled with bubbles from the complimentary smellies. There is also a full shower cubicle for those who need that quick wake up.
The room has wifi, TV and hot drink making facilities which include tea/filtered coffee and hot chocolate. There is a small fridge outside the rooms with complimentary milk/water
This hotel would be ideal for couples and very friendly for anyone travelling alone.

Room Tip: We had room 4 which meet all our needs. I haven't seen any other rooms to pass comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2014

My husband booked a surprise stay here in a quaint room at the top of Byfords. It was lovely had everything and more you could ask of a posh B & B. The staff are very friendly couldn't do enough for you so have no complaints here. We had a lovely dinner in the restaurant included in the deal (can spend up to £50). But we worked out it wasn't such a deal as drinks are not included in that cost and really you need to both have all 3 courses to make it a saving. Saying that the meal was lovely and service very good. The breakfast was superb can't fault it again good service and quality food. Check out really friendly and efficient. Only one last gripe we were charged for an Independent newspaper we didn't receive but on all other accounts a very pleasant stay would stay here again.

Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

The rooms are lovely and the service was great. With the deal that we had we got the option to have tea and cake on arrival and a meal included in our package. The food is average and for us was the only thing that let the place down slightly. Saying that i would still stay here again. Comfy bed and a lovely spread of food put on for breakfast including the option to have a cooked breafast as well.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

Byfords may style itself as a 'Posh B & B', but this is entirely misleading. The accommodation, probably in a quaint, timber-framed bedroom,s 3-4 star hotel standard and excellent, from the flowers and fine lotions in the bathroom to the soft mattress and featherweight, down duvet.
The staff are unfailingly cheerful and attentive, without being intrusive.
The food is generally individually prepared, and always appetizing and wholesome. Some portions do tend to be over-generous.
The January special rate for three nights, half-board, is excellent value.
There is a deli and bakery attached, and an interesting loyalty scheme applying also to similar, wholly-owned enterprises in Norfolk.

Room Tip: Room 6 is delightful, with a small sitting room too, although the entrance requires tall folk to sto...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

What can I say about Byfords other than we love it here having stayed over a dozen times now you can safely say we feel like part of the furniture,it's like putting on a comfy pair of slippers! The rooms are all different and quirky with large comfy beds beautiful crisp cotton sheets,the bathrooms are marble with deep drench baths and shower cubicles,luxury bath products which I love and always buy a full sized one to take home,bath salts,candles,there are lovely little touches such as homemade night time cookies in a jar at bedtime wonderful,bottled water and fresh milk in fridges on each landing,tea/ coffee and cakes on arrival the food is fresh and delicious and the breakfast wow huge fresh and yummy,the only complaint I can give which up to now I wouldn't feel the need to because it's so perfect is that I feel it's lost some of its individuality and loyalty to its regular and valued customer those who have stayed a few times before will know what I'm talking about,but it's not a big complaint and would not put me off staying at Byfords at all as I love it too much and can't wait to go again.

Room Tip: We have tried most rooms but particularly like rooms 2/3/4
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Byfords? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Byfords

Address: 1 - 3 Shirehall Plain, Holt NR25 6BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Holt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Byfords 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Holt, North Norfolk, 5 Star Gold Award Posh B&B, thriving restaurant & award-winning deli. Huge Vi Spring beds, Bang & Olufsen TV / DVD / Stereo, marble bathrooms & masses of character. 4 Miles from beach. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Byfords reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Byfords Hotel Holt
Byfords Holt, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Byfords, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.