We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A beautiful oasis” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Folly Tearoom

The Folly Tearoom
4 Hoppers Yard | Bull Street, Holt, England
441263713569
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #6 of 40 Restaurants in Holt
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
York, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A beautiful oasis”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2013

This is a wonderful little oasis of loveliness which is run by people who so obviously care about their customers. We sat in the stunning courtyard garden and enjoyed tea from a wide list in sweet vintage teacups. The food was simple, fresh and tasty - exactly what we were looking for. Services was spot on - a waitress who obviously cared about doing a good job and that we had a nice experience. I wish I lived nearer - I would love to be able to enjoy this experience again and again.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Lolathepoodle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

350 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Boston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Adorable Old English Tearoom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 28, 2013

After reading the reviews about The Folly Tearoom on Trip Advisor we went off in search of it and most certainly were not disappointed.
Tucked away in the back of Hoppers Yard it really does maintain the tradition of the quintessential English tea room.
There are six or so tables inside and about the same in an outside garden setting which is expertly planted and very relaxing. We elected to sit in the garden, not least to admire the plants, most of which were in full flower.
Drinks are served in china cups and there is a keen attention to detail.
The green wicker tables are nicely spread around the garden area so you have the feeling of being in your own space.
A pot of tea for two was served in a large tea pot and was a quality leaf tea, served in a novel pot top strainer and although we had not specified a particular blend the one served was delicious.
Although when we arrived we sat in the garden area alone, by the time we left tables were filling quickly which is no surprise, we will certainly be calling again now The Folly is on our radar. Given the bill we were presented with we got extremely good value for money and I would wager that much of The Follies trade is repeat custom.
I will certainly be recommending The Folly to all friends visiting Holt.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Billytwosheds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canary Islands
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Tapas”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

We spent a delightful Friday evening last week in the setting sun drinking delicious chilled Provence rose and sampling tasty tapas - they are open 6 - 8 pm on Fridays and Saturdays. Do go!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Baytree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A delightful place to have a light lunch or afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

A beautifully decorated interior and very pretty courtyard. Food was delicious and well presented. Might have liked something slightly more substantial on offer for lunchtime, but well worth a visit.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank LorraineSLR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A quaint tearoom”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2013

Found this lovely tearoom by accident, set back in a relaxing courtyard. There was a lovely outside garden too. The tearoom is small, but welcoming. There are about 7 tables inside and the same outside. We managed to sit indoors and ordered hot chocolate with marshmallows. Delicious!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Noreen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Folly Tearoom also viewed

 

Been to The Folly Tearoom? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing