We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing special” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Back to the Garden

Back to the Garden
Fakenham road | Letheringsett, Holt, England
01263 715996
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 32 Restaurants in Holt
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: I am very surprised that this restaurant is not yet listed. We have had lunches several times there and their food and service are amongst the top of those already listed in the area. I trust that they deserve to be included in your database.
Derby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Nothing special”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Lovely atmosphere and excellent service but the food did not live up to the high recommendations. We had the liver which was mostly OK but there were a few bits which were definitely undercooked. Veg was OK but nothing special. Deserts were better. All in all, an okay meal but nothing to rave about. We're on holiday here so will be trying other places.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    153
    60
    20
    15
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bolton, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
88 reviews 88 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
“Highly recommended”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We were recommended by locals to go to this restaurant and it proved to be an excellent recommendation. Front of house were two quite young ladies but they were quite delightful.The food was magnificent and the food could not be faulted. The ambiance was charming.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good dinner serviced with friendly professional approach”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

Came here in the evening. The menu is short but with a good choice. Caters well for carnivores and vegetarians. Starters were a little small on the portion control but the mains were adequate. Good quality and freshly prepared. The pasta, the sea bass and the stuffed tomatoes were good. The desserts were generous. Wine by the glass good value and good selection. Would come again. It was not very busy and the service was good.the barn is well worth looking at as well.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, España
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
102 helpful votes 102 helpful votes
“Exquisite, but expensive”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013

Based on our visit today, it would be impossible to fault this restaurant in terms of either the quality of the food or the friendly, professional service.
The setting is very attractive, in a renovated barn.
I would have given it a five however I felt that my portion of my haddock was rather small and the price of the meals was somewhat expensive.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Enjoyable”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

As others have mentioned, maybe a little overpriced in the restaurant, but the quality of the food was excellent. We had lunch there on one day, and tea on another, whilst staying in the area. I can strongly recommend the scones with jam and cream! Absolutely delicious and the best cream tea I've had - ever! Lovely veg in the shop and I thought very reasonably priced. I noticed a connection with a Camphill Village (Thornage?), wonderful, caring homes.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back to the Garden also viewed

 

Been to Back to the Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back to the Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.