We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Foodie friendly, deli staff not so friendly!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Back to the Garden

Back to the Garden
Fakenham road | Letheringsett, Holt, England
01263 715996
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 33 Restaurants in Holt
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Description: I am very surprised that this restaurant is not yet listed. We have had lunches several times there and their food and service are amongst the top of those already listed in the area. I trust that they deserve to be included in your database.
Lancashire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Foodie friendly, deli staff not so friendly!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

We have eaten at the restaurant three or four times now and it is fabulouus. On this occasion we had lamb and mint ciabatta, pork ciabatta and chips and salad. Yummy. The restaurant staff are cheerful and friendly. The same cannot be said for the staff in the deli. Grumpy would be a more apt description. We bought quiche and salads. The food is not cheap, but then it is excellent quality and we have no issues at all with the food standards. However the men who work in there should NOT be front of house as they are obviously far too precious to deal with the general public! One in particular, large bald chap oozed contempt, couldn't manage a smile and looked like a wet weekend in Wigan! The smaller chap in the butchery department was lovely, smiley and a pleasure to buy from. We were going to buy some frozen stuff but Mr Grumpy put me off so much I suggested that we spent our money elsewhere. So we did. Shame as the restaurant and produce is so good, I can't imagine any manager putting miserable staff in front of his consumers, so perhaps Mr Grumpy is the boss. Time to become a back room boy methinks.....,

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

240 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    148
    58
    16
    14
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norfolk
Top Contributor
100 reviews 100 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
72 helpful votes 72 helpful votes
“Yummy mummy eaterie”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2013

Called in for deli produce, very good although very expensive. Stopped in cafe for snack lunch. very expensive. 2 ciabatta rolls filled with rare beef another with lamb accompanied by a small bowl of crisps. Tasty but expensive at £5.95 each. A bottle of water & a pot of tea total bill 0ver £16. Tasted fine but a bit over the top. A bit of a poser place with young, old and middle being pretentiuos. Would use the deli again as superb food available.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Lovely Place- Adore the Garden space!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2013

Stopped for coffee here on route to Holt- have been once before and really do enjoy what this place has to offer- brilliant mini market/deli style vibe going on when you first enter, then through to the back is a lovely, spacious cafe with a varied menu to even accommodate the most fussy! Beyond this a beautiful landscaped garden extends off the cafe, unfortunately it wasn't such a nice day to sit out!

The prices are a little high, however if majority of the produce is local or of a high standard, i don't mind paying the extra! which I believe this place is worthy of.

Staff all pleasant, knowledgable and informative of the products in store.

Lovely place that should continue to strive! well done.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Best meal we have had in Norfolk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2013 via mobile

For someone to give this a 1 star rating is absurd.
One of the best meals I have ever eaten. If you want cheap food don't bother, if you are happy to pay a little extra for excellent food in a superb setting then you should try it.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

Yes this restaurant is good but not great and it is not cheap although the food is good. It is unfortunately a place to be seen in and as such it is part of the Chelsea- on- sea effect in North Norfolk. The attached farm shop is ridiculously expensive (better to go to the Walsingham farm shop) and when we visited they were selling purple-sprouted broccoli imported from Portugal at a ridiculously high price when the same vegetable was available from locally sourced farms. The setting is wonderful and the décor matches but there are far better restaurants around the area at more reasonable prices.

  • Visited July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back to the Garden also viewed

 

Been to Back to the Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back to the Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.