We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique in North Norfolk” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Back to the Garden

Back to the Garden
Fakenham road | Letheringsett, Holt, England
01263 715996
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #14 of 34 Restaurants in Holt
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Description: I am very surprised that this restaurant is not yet listed. We have had lunches several times there and their food and service are amongst the top of those already listed in the area. I trust that they deserve to be included in your database.
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Unique in North Norfolk”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 6, 2013

Waitress/waiter service excellent, they are knowledgable about their menu. Flexible concerning food allergies or vegetarian or vegan.
High quality food, a lot is organic and grown locally. Beautifully presented with sensible portion sizes. Food prepared to order. The menu is not too large but many of the dishes are attractively different from the norm.
Clean and attractive eating area with a very lovely al fresco outside if the weather permits.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

285 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    169
    71
    23
    17
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
“Fantastic food, lovely building, great atmosphere.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 29, 2012

Title says it all really, lovely little cafe / restaurant attached to the farm shop (which had a great range of goods, recommended). Had a lunch here with my fiancée - Hot pork ciabatta with apple jelly and crackling... DELICIOUS! My fiancée had the soup of the day (caramelised squash and ginger) with a half sandwich (cheese, chutney and sun dried tomato), both of which were very good. Finished up with a couple of coffees which tasted great. The cakes were very tempting, but we were full by that time!

One of the best places in the area to sample top quality, local, organic ingredients put to VERY good use.

Highly recommended!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beccles, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“farm shop with a difference”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

have visited several times , staff always friendly and very helpful, excellent products on sale, meat products particularly good- both quality and price. restaurant is the real difference as it is among the best around with very good food served by happy staff in a truly atmospheric building( ok I like old buildings)

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Christmas Surprise”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2012 via mobile

Having visited for the first time in the middle of November we decided to return and sample the festive Christmas lunch. What an absolute delight! The roast turkey with all the trimmings was delicious and wonderfully well presented. It was so good we had to try the pudding - equally delicious. I would have been happy to have served this on Chrismas Day to my own friends and family. Keep up the good work.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blakeney, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Going off the boil . . . stretching the organic premium too far.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

This is our “local” and we were very excited when it opened the cafe/restaurant couple of years ago and have been on many occasions. This morning we thought we’d go there for a birthday brunch after a windy walk on the coast. Aware of the 11am curfew for the breakfast menu (BEWARNED!) we arrived and my wife ran at 10:58, while I parked, ordering two breakfasts. A few minutes later we were told we could not have breakfast it was after 11am! After saying we’d go to Byfords in Holt (who server breakfast until 12) they relented and breakfast was served.
Two organic English breakfasts tasted delicious, but were not extensive (perfect for my wife, but left me wanting more, especially as I had missed breakfast for a blow-out brunch!) – two small pieces of bacon, one smallish sausage, one egg, two mushrooms, a small hash brown and one tomato all for £10.95 seems to be riding the “organic premium” a little too far. Coupled with two coffees and two orange juices there was little change from £34.

Just to top it off, when I tried to connect to the WiFi I was told it was not for customer use, I could, you might suggest, have used mobile internet, but for the patchy reception in parts of North Norfolk.

All in all the overall customer experience is waning, I do hope they pull it back.

  • Visited December 2012
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Back to the Garden also viewed

 

Been to Back to the Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Back to the Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.