We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Pigs

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added The Pigs to your Saves list
The Pigs
Norwich Road | Edgefield, Holt NR24 2RL , England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 21 Holt B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence 2014
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Birthday stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

The Pigs is a beautiful place to visit close to a lot of local points of interest
The room above the pub, is very spacious and clean but beware if you are above 6 foot as the ceiling is low with beams
The evening meal and breakfast are totally delicious with great service and friendly staff
Will stay again but in one of the Spa rooms next time

Stayed May 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    69
    25
    8
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
74
2
8
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Pigs is a remarkable place to both stay and dine.
The "Posh B&B" rooms are very comfortable and definitely a cut above. The Spa rooms really offer more than you'd expect.
The food is flavourful and the portions generous, so much so that after five visits I've still not managed a pudding!
A quirky establishment, but a great experience overall.

Stayed April 2015, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PigsTeam, General Manager at The Pigs, responded to this review, 1 week ago
This review made our day! Thank you so much and look forward to seeing you again soon! Best wishes, Abi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed here last night with my girlfriend. The place itself is simply amazing, great location and nice outside seating area (yes the sun was out). We checked in with no issues and got shown our room. We stayed in the Spa Rooms, the room was amazing however we noticed it was quite warm as we entered! We proceeded to have a drink in the garden which was lovely. Then had a couple of drinks outside the front.
The outside bath is a really nice touch, big enough for the both of us to enjoy a bottle of champagne. We then went to the restaurant, we both ordered Pork Belly and both agreed it was amazing, the waiting time was very reasonable.
We then went back to enjoy the outside Firepit. Firefighters, newspaper, matches and logs are all provided along with the sticks and marshmallows, the fire took off really well and enjoyed the rest of the evening outside.
The only downside to our stay was the temperature of the room, the room temperature was 27degrees. We had the portable air con unit on full blast all night however this was sufficient enough.

The sauna was a nice touch in the morning along with a good breakfast all in all a good stay and would recommend.

Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PigsTeam, General Manager at The Pigs, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I am so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are currently looking into the temperature controls of the rooms. Hopefully this should be all sorted for your next visit. Kind regards, Abi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wymondham, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I found the staff to be slightly overworked and perhaps one furthr staff member would have been more appropriate, that said,the staff that were on duty were exceptional - polite and very accommodating. We expected a fabulous room and exquisite food and we were not disappointed. Breakfast was first class. This was our first visit, but we would definitely go again.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PigsTeam, General Manager at The Pigs, responded to this review, 1 week ago
What a lovely review! Thank you for your feedback regarding the staff. I will be looking into the staffing levels during shift to ensure we continue to give the best service possible. I hope you visit again soon. Warm regards, Abi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked for one night over Easter weekend and were happy to get the last room that was available, we arrived having stayed in cheaper accommodation nearby for a few nights and I have to say the pigs was a bit disappointing, first of all there was some confusion when we checked in, and checked out which we suspect was due to our room been changed before we arrived, the incorrect guest name on the room bill gave the game away! The room we were given didn't really represent the pictures on the website although the room was clean and had all the conveniences you'd expect, it had a very low ceiling height and whilst I'm not particularly tall, this should be made clear on the website when booking. Also of concern was that there was no covering on the bathroom window and no frosted glass with the shower directly in front of the window which overlooked the passing road and the car park. The shower was very good however and the bathroom was modern and clean. The food in the restauraunt was ok but not brilliant, we had to wait longer than average to be served, they forgot about our drinks orders when we did eventually order and one of the steaks was full of fat and gristle, we complained to the waitress who said she would inform the chef, and that was the last we heard of it. Not even an apology. We weren't even asked if we had a nice stay when we paid on checking out. Breakfast was ok but 1 person serving and expected to do everything is not enough, shame as the pigs has the ability to be great, but has all the hallmarks of the owner or manager leaving staff to run the place. We won't be going back.

Room Tip: Don't get a room above the bar area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PigsTeam, General Manager at The Pigs, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I would like to thank you for your feedback and sincerely apologise that your experience was not up to our usual standard. I have spoken to the staff involved during your stay and we will be looking at ways we can improve the information that is provided on our website regarding our rooms. If you would like to discuss these further then please do not hesitate to contact me directly on info@thepigs.org.uk. Kind regards, Abi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlbury, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Amazing hotel and restaurant. I would recommend it to everyone needing a restaurant and accommodation in Holt Norfolk!
The staff were very friendly and the room was extremely comfortable.
There was a superb children's area outside.

Room Tip: Room 3 was excellent....the bed was 8ft wide!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2015, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PigsTeam, General Manager at The Pigs, responded to this review, 1 week ago
Thank you for such a fab review and comments regarding our staff. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best wishes, Abi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I treated my husband to a weekend away on the last weekend in January 2015. Cannot fault a thing, the spa room was spacious with a lovely big bed. The bathroom was a delight, along with the sauna and bath in the partial outside section.

Unfortunately we couldn't toast any marshmallows outside as it rained the whole time but we still indulged in some! The honesty bar was a great idea, chocolate eclairs, shortbread, drinks, marshmallows and lovely oils to put in sauna.

We also dined here, had the iffits to start with, we cleared the lot so no complaints! The cockles were our favourite! Mains i had the steak with garlic mushrooms, probably too much garlic for me but thats preference. My husband had the smoky beef joint which was enormous for 1 person! Unfortunately we couldn't fit dessert in. Always next time.

Breakfast was lovely, a selection of cereal, homemade bars, juices etc to help yourself to and then cooked choices off the menu.

We will most definitely be returning.

Stayed January 2015, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PigsTeam, General Manager at The Pigs, responded to this review, 1 week ago
I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for your wonderful comments. Hopefully next time the sun will be shining and you’ll be able to squeeze in dessert too! Warm regards, Abi
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Pigs? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Pigs

Address: Norwich Road | Edgefield, Holt NR24 2RL , England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Holt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, LateRooms and Odigeo so you can book your The Pigs reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Pigs Holt, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Pigs, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.