We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful attitude of staff” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Kings Head

Kings Head
19 High Street, Holt NR25 6BN, England
+44 1263 712543
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 32 Restaurants in Holt
Cuisines: American, Barbecue, Pub, Grill
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Late Night
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Awful attitude of staff”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2013 via mobile

Can't give a review of the food but if the attitude of their staff is a reflection of their food it will be awful. I was basically ridiculed for asking for a table for two then ignored while waiting as they suggested and spoken about to other members of the bar staff all in all it was a ridiculous experience and one I won't be attempted again which is a shame as I come down to Holt regularly.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

174 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    60
    72
    18
    12
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“great food, brilliant place to visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2013 via mobile

Visited here a few times now when on holiday at kelling heath.

Superb food, brilliant value and great service, cannot recommend highly enough.

Bars nice and friendly too, with a great selection of cask ales.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Good service, nice food”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Went there as a family of four on a Monday night - Steak was still fully booked but we got a table in the bar. However shows how busy it gets. The food and service were both very good and food arrived promptly despite it being busy. We would recommend it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Great steaks”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013

We ate at the steak restaurant one lunch time recently, following a recommendation. The steaks were fantastic, we both chose rib eye our favourite, but also we were very impressed with the accompaniments. The chips, onion rings, mushrooms, tomatoes and even the peas were all absolutely delicious. The glass of red wine however was below standard, considering the price of the overall meal, and the childrens meal (cheesy pasta which should have been chicken pasta) was not particularly tasty. We would certainly forgive these points though and will definitely return for a treat when we are next in the area.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Epping, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Food and Drink”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2013

Excellent choice of local beers, not outside of East Anglia. Based in an old pub with a new extension to accommodate the restaurant.
Good menu, can especially recommend the Farmyard Burger.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kings Head also viewed

 

Been to Kings Head? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Kings Head, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.