We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Half portions for those with smaller appetites” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Feathers Hotel

The Feathers Hotel
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Save
You added The Feathers Hotel to your Saves list
The Feathers Hotel
3.0 of 5 Small Hotel   |   6 Market Place, Holt NR25 6BW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #14 of 21 Holt B&B and Inns
Derbyshire
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Half portions for those with smaller appetites”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2012

I have been eating at the Feathers sine I was a child. I had my 21st birthday party there. When visiting my elderly Mother in Holt it is always our restaurant of choice as they will serve anything on the menu in half size portions at half price for those who have smaller appetities. It is embarrassing for her to be presented with a huge plate of food which she can't manage, and frustrating to be told to select from the childrens' menu. The menu is sufficiently comprehensive that there is always plenty of choice, always home made, and cooked to order.
Well done!

Room Tip: We didn't stay, so can't rate the rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    43
    59
    20
    14
    9
See reviews for
24
82
5
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
derby
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2011

I am a regular visitor to Holt and always use The Feathers Hotel while we are here.We find the staff very friendly and helpful.The standard of food is very good and the menu is extensive.We have just read the review from "not family friendly"! and we do not agree.We were in the pub with our family on that day and i have to say i thought the staff were very professional and handled the situation very well.I always recommend The Feathers Hotel and will continue.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peterborough, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2011

Whilst on holiday we decided to enjoy the experience of the North Norfolk Railway Steam Train journey from Sheringham to Holt. When arriving in Holt we were looking for somewhere to have lunch and the Feathers seemed suitable as they had a childrens menu and it looked big enough to accomodate our pushchair, unlike a number of the cafes we'd passed, so we decided we'd give them our business. As we entered with our 2 and half year old son asleep in his pushchair we were immediately assisted by a member of staff who got us a highchair, there were a number of other families with small children in the pub. However, this was where the friendly service ended, when our food arrived and our little boy woke up he was a little bit upset, as anyone with a young child will know it is not always easy to calm down toddlers and being pressured by one of the waitresses to "calm him down or get out" was not really helping. We felt humiliated and extremely upset, it was not the kind of start to our holiday we were hoping for. I would be the first to agree that noone likes listening to a crying baby when they are out for lunch but a little bit of understanding would have been nice, were we expected to just leave our food that we'd paid for? You should not state that children are welcome if they so obviously are not! Would not return to this pub and in fact it has put us off returning to Holt.

Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbridge, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2011

I took my wife to the Feathers because - amongst other things it boasted 5 stars and claimed to be an Hotel, The idea was to celebrate her birthday in style.

We got pub food, a pub bedroom, complete with pub type customers! But why advertise the place as an hotel - it's a pub.

(The 5 stars are for 'food hygiene' Hello! I would have thought 5 stars is to be expected in all food outlets?)

Room Tip: Beds, Bath room, nice and clean. Constant noise in the room a bit like sleeping in an aeroplane.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hertfordshire
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2011

Stayed for a couple of nights in late February - excellent value deal which is available thru till March I think. Staff really helpfull and kind. Couldn't really fault the two rooms we had at all, very comfortable and clean and for £115 for 2 nights it was excellent value. We ate in the A La Carte which was a tad expensive but not over the top, excellent friendly service and good food. Bar meals are again excellent. Would def recommend and look forward to staying here again. Our Thanks to the Staff who looked after us.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2011

We have just had our parents to stay for the weekend and were looking through all of our wedding photos, which reminded us of what a fantastic stay we had at The Feathers. We had our wedding reception in the Gresham Suite which seated 80 comfortably. Planning our wedding with Harrie and his team was stress-free and they were able to accommodate all our needs. The meal was great with speedy and efficient service, and they were even able to offer our guests a choice of dishes on the day, which none of the other venues we visited were able to do. The staff made all of our family and guests feel very welcome, many of whom where staying in the hotel (we had pretty much taken it over for the weekend!).

We would thoroughly recommend this charming hotel, whose wonderful staff make it so special.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2010

We love this characterful hotel situated right in the middle of the lovely Georgian town of Holt. The rooms are very adequate for the price and are in the proccess of being fully re-furbished. The massive bonus of staying here is the delightful bar which serves delicious food to visitors and, always a good sign, plenty of locals. I would thoroughly recommend this charming and friendly establishment to all.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Feathers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Feathers Hotel

Address: 6 Market Place, Holt NR25 6BW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Holt
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 21 B&Bs / Inns in Holt
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — The Feathers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Feathers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Feathers Hotel Holt, Norfolk

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Feathers Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.