We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing stay - would return anytime!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Manor Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Happisburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Manor Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast
Save
You added Manor Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast to your Saves list
Manor Farmhouse, Happisburgh NR12 0SA, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Happisburgh B&B and Inns
United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Amazing stay - would return anytime!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013 via mobile

My husband and I just spent 3 lovely nights staying with David and Rosie. This energetic couple clearly love welcoming visitors and take great pride in providing their guests with the most comfortable stay possible.

From the moment we decided to book a room till the moment we checked out, Rosie was there with all sorts of thoughtful little gestures. A handwritten postcard in the post with dining suggestions and detailed travel instructions for starters. Huge, delicious home cooked breakfast every morning, giant mugs of coffee set us up for each day.

This being our first trip to Norfolk, Rosie was readily on hand to provide suggestions, maps, directions etc. All her suggestions were super, in particular, dinner at the Swan Inn Ingham!

When the water pump in our bath started playing up, Rosie immediately arranged for a plumber to fix the issue - no mean feat on a bank holiday Monday. It is clear that Rosie and David put their heart and soul into this charming little 16th century barn conversion.

Come stay here if you want to get away from it all and experience a b&b with bags of charm and equally charming hosts!

We will definitely be back!!


  • Stayed August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

46 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    5
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
4
31
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Norwich, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 4, 2013

I have just returned from Manor Farmhouse Bed and Breakfast after a one night stay.It feels as though I have had a much longer break and am rested.
The character of the beautiful building stands out and the area is picturesque with plenty of charming walks.I fell in love with the sandy,quiet beach at Happisburgh.
Like the previous writer,I would urge you to ignore the review entitled 'Disappointing' I wonder were these guests even in the same place? Rosie and David obviously put their heart and soul into the place which is full of character and generosity.How unfair to get such a bad review.The food is locally sourced and lovingly prepared and the beds very comfy.I would certainly return.

Room Tip: double room in main house spacious and comfortable
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 30, 2013

We have just stayed two nights at Manor Farmhouse and found everything to be perfect. Rosie is a wonderful hostess and couldn't be more helpful. The rooms are delightful and the breakfasts so delicious.
It is great value for money compared with other B and B's. A warm welcome in a lovely family home is just what one expects and hopes for and we found it at Manor Farm.
Incidentally I disagree with the last persons comments and wonder why they were posted a year after the stay. I advise you to ignore them!

Room Tip: The rooms on the barn are ,lovely as you have your own space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 28, 2013

Overall a big disappointment for the amount we had to pay for the room.

Upon arrival we were left standing outside for ages, because the was no one in. The owner had just abandoned the b&b.

Inside the whole place feels a bit too cluttered and busy to pass for homey and cosy.

The room was spacious and had a lovely bed. But walls like paper, got the pleasure of listening to the owners conversation whilst trying to go to sleep.

Then we went to explore the local area in the evening, and were not given a key, but what felt like a curfew. We were told that if we arrived back before the owner went to bed, we would be let in, and past that the key would be hidden outside. So we had a lovely time crawling around in the dark looking for said key. The nights after that we felt obliged to back before 'curfew'.

Quite a niche appeal, need to work on making it universally appealing.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2013

We had a three night break at Manor Farm, our first trip to north Norfolk. We were made really welcome by Rosie, we arrived early but Rosie ensured that she directed us to somewhere for lunch and loaned us the guide book for East Ruston Old Vicarage gardens, where we intended visiting in the afternoon. The gardens are stunning; on return we were provided with tea and cake.
Rosie was the perfect hostess, serving a substantial breakfast and going out of her way to provide local information. No matter how late we returned we were sought out to ask what we wanted for breakfast the next day.
The house and barn are truly country comfortable, not boutique chic. We loved the relaxed comfort and the unique friendly charm of the place, especially Rosie. We will certainly return.

Room Tip: Downstairs barn room was good. No pool and fitness suite, but can't remove the dots!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Our second visit to Manor Farmhouse was even nicer than the first as Rosie greeted us like old friends. This is a beautiful place to stay, and only wish we had longer there. The four poster bed is so comfy. It's lovely to have the lounge area in the barn to stretch out in and to have use of the kitchen as well. Rosie's breakfasts are delicious, and there is no end of choice for teas and food. Rosie is so sincere and generous and I wish I had her here in Australia as a friend !!
Thankyou again for everything Rosie, you are amazing.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2013

Having never been to Norfolk I wanted somewhere with the true flavour of the place and not a corporate hotel . With a slightly late booking we managed to get into the upstairs room in the barn. Finding the house from Rosie's directions was a little tricky and the house name plate is a little overgrown - as is most of the vegetation round the house - but - once inside it's a haven of quirky tranquility. If you want neat and tidy with minimalist fittings don't bother. If you want comfortable, eclectic and a true feeling of Norfolk then give it a go.
The main deal though is Rosie herself who is always keen to help. We wouldn't have found the visit half as good without her advice, booking trips for us, telling us the best places to go, lending maps etc. And, as someone else has said, breakfast cups the size of cereal bowls, about 6 different marmalades, choices of different teas, just about any combination of breakfast and all at great prices. The usual B&B - no - would we go back again - probably yes.

Room Tip: Being nosey I would say the downstairs barn room is the best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Manor Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Manor Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast

Address: Manor Farmhouse, Happisburgh NR12 0SA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Happisburgh
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Happisburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Manor Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast Happisburgh, Norfolk, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Manor Farmhouse Bed & Breakfast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.