We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“THE WORST MEAL I VERY EVER HAD” 1 of 5 stars
Review of The Hill House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Happisburgh
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Hill House
Save
You added The Hill House to your Saves list
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   The Hill, Happisburgh NR12 0PW, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Happisburgh B&B and Inns
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“THE WORST MEAL I VERY EVER HAD”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 25, 2013

I am a chef and all the years, work in very hot and bad tempered kitchen , I can say with hand on my
heart all the cooks and chef care about the food we put on the plate, even when we have a bad day in the kitchen, we care,
this band of chimps, I would not let lose in a prison, kitchen, after all the inmates, may be the scum of
the earth but even they expect better then this!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

43 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    20
    10
    3
    1
    9
See reviews for
10
23
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Colchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

Walked to Hill House as it was near to our holiday home. Very busy but friendly bar full of locals who, along with the landlord & staff, made us feel immediately welcome. Great roast ( well it was a Sunday ) and pudding. Must eat here again soon !!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire UK
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2013

Stopped off for a meal. Lovely food, fresh and plenty for your money. Landlord gave 4 adults and 2 dogs a lift home when taxi wouldn't come to pick us up. He refused any money for this, but I hope he found the tenner I stuffed down the passenger seat.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2013 via mobile

I dropped in with my better half after a day out an was pleasantly surprised with this lovely bar. Superb food and superb prices. I'm going back. Warm welcome friendly locals even though I look like a tattooed yob I often get looked down on but was pleased to be treated well

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013

Stopped by for a drink after walk on coast with family. Met with a very grumpy barman who couldn't be bothered to make us a hot drink despite the list in the bar of teas and coffees available. Served flat coke and lemonades instead. Grotty and dingy inside the bar, so had to escape to outside table. Won't be going back. If you're not local stay away.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Happisburgh hotels

Isanti, Minnesota, USA via London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Refered to the Hill House B&B by a local resident for supper at their new Carvery Dining Room.

Enjoyable meal with friendly hosts, follow by lovely dessert choices with great coffee! Evening was relaxing with the friendly atomsphere at the Pub. Stayed in the Carriage House room for the night - warm, cozy and invitng with it's history and rustic atomsphere. Began the day with a nice pub breakfast by the frieplace in the morning. All in all a nice stop and provided a good start to the day!

Room Tip: Carriage house room ground level with large wet room, plenty of space to move about and easy walking...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Happisburgh, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

I took elderly relatives to the The Hill House for an early Christmas dinner and we weren't disappointed. The landlady Sue ensured we had the best seat in the pub (just across from blazing woodburner) and provided wonderful hospitality.
The food was plentiful, homemade and delicious. A good time was had by all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Hill House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Hill House

Address: The Hill, Happisburgh NR12 0PW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Anglia > Norfolk > Happisburgh
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Happisburgh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — The Hill House 5*
Number of rooms: 2
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hill House Inn has a past steeped in history. The building originally comprised three Tudor cottages circa 1540. At some time in the early 1600’s (advice suggests between 1610 and 1630) the building was knocked into one and became an ale-house. Remnants of the brewery still exist under the back yard!In or around 1710 The Hill House Inn, then known as The Windmill Inn, became a Coaching Inn on the coast route between two big ports - Kings Lynn and Great Yarmouth.It was at this Inn during the late 1790’s that the melancholy William Cowper dined occasionally with his cousin Dr. John Johnson. The Windmill gained a certain notoriety around this time, being frequented by beach-men and smugglers, possibly as a result of which it was renamed and became The Hill House Inn. During Victorian times it acquired a more desirable and notable reputation and attracted many distinguished visitors such as Sir Arthur Conan- Doyle, who stayed here and wrote the Sherlock Holmes story, ‘The Dancing Men’ whilst a resident.More recent visitors include Henry Moore, the sculptor, and such friends as Barbara Hepworth. Most recently, during the days of television production at Anglia TV in Norwich, many well known actors and casts regularly visited The Hill House Inn.The Hill House Inn is a grade II listed building and will be preserved for as long as the sea does not engulf Happisburgh. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Hill House Happisburgh, Norfolk, England

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Hill House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.