We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun lunch!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Plantation

The Plantation
Cherry Lane Garden Centre A140 Trunk Road /Norwich Road, Pulham Market, Diss IP21 4XP, England
01379 527117
Improve this listing
Ranked #38 of 59 Restaurants in Diss
Cuisines: English
Restaurant details
Norwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fun lunch!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2015 NEW via mobile

Popped into the garden centre and we had a bite to eat at the cafe. The 'melt-in-the-mouth' burger was amazing and cooked to perfection! The coffee was delicious and obviously of very good quality. The area dedicated to children is brilliant-my little ones loved it! We will definitely be returning and recommending!

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

11 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    4
    4
    0
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bury St. Edmunds, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
“Unpretentious, wholesome food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2015 NEW

Excellent service - very friendly, attentive and smiling staff. All looked super clean. Surprising find in a garden centre. To be recommended.

Visited April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bungay, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2015

Having stopped for a snack when heading home. Saw the roasts being served. Looked pretty good so thought we would give it a go.
It was very busy, but the staff were all friendly and made us feel very welcome. We waited around 20 minutes for our meals but wasn't to much of a struggle as we sat outside in the sun with our drinks chatting. When the food arrived, My wife had the chicken breast and was impressed. So much so, she refused to share. A full on, proper chicken breast.
Our friend went for the mushroom stroganoff being a veggie. Well presented and she assured us it tasted even better than it looked. I went for the beef, expecting slightly tough, over cooked meat, was really impressed. Medium rare, melt in the mouth with proper gravy and potatoes! So good!
Yes it's only a garden centre, but will definitely be returning.
Next time I won't be driving and will be having a beer with my lunch. Although the coffee is good.
I can't speak for other reviewers but our experience was great and fully recommended plantation here and to our friends.


Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Not impressive”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2015

Called in the Plantation for lunch. They were busy, but the service was very slow and we waited for 40 mins to get our meals. The food was tasty and hot, and reasonably priced at £6.95 but the portion size was very small. I had scampi and chips. It was served on a small plate, 10" one", and half of it was salad, mostly leaves with half a cherry tomato, and a little cubed cucumber and pepper. Just 6 pieces of scampi, and a small amount of french fries completed the meal. I do like salad, but I ordered scampi and chips, the salad was half the plate, certainly not a garnish. We do call in regularly usually for coffee and cake after doing some shopping, we wont be calling in again!

  • Visited March 2015
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Terrible and will never come back”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 19, 2015

I took my wife and 2 young children here today and was very disappointed. The food took nearly an hour to come and was only cheese and ham sandwiches. The food arrives and it was stale white bread with cheap tasteless cheese/ham

  • Visited February 2015
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Plantation also viewed

 

Been to The Plantation? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Plantation, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.