We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Saved Save
You added Pump cottage to your Saves list.
Diss
|
Rental Home – 
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4

Reviews from our community

Contribute to the TripAdvisor community and help fellow travelers find the perfect vacation rental
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
jojoba4
twickenham
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Peace and tranquility”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2013 for a stay in August 2013
1
person found this review helpful

Pump cottage is the perfect retreat. Just pulling into the driveway we said we would be coming again and then meeting Jackie and John made it a certainty. They made us so welcome and were on hand for any recommendations for trips etc. The cream tea on arrival was yummy!
Accommodation was 5*....everything we needed was to hand. Fishing down by the river was my husbands dream afternoon/evening relaxation. We didn't want to leave next time will be tempted to stay 2 weeks rather than 1.
Thank you Jackie and John for a wonderful week!

5 of 5 stars Value 5 of 5 stars Rooms
5 of 5 stars Location 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
5 of 5 stars Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Brian L
Guildford, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“The best there is”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013 for a stay in February 2013
2
people found this review helpful

We have stayed several times before. We thought it could get no better but it has! The kitchen area has been refurbished (now includes a dish washer) along with the bathroom that now has a power shower over the bath. The warm welcome included a cream tea plus wine and milk in the fridge. The usual high standards of decor and furnishing plus every bit of equipment you could wish for, makes Pump Cottage the best there is and you won't find better.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Location and extensive riverside grounds, the warm and friendly welcome.
Liked least: Nothing!
Traveling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Shirl958
Bradford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Character cottage in wonderful countryside location.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2012 for a stay in July 2012

We have just returned from a weeks stay at Pump cottage. This is our second visit and would recommend this cottage. A wonderful cream tea awaited our arrival, along with the friendly hosts John and Jackie who made us feel more than welcom. The cottage is set in idylic countryside with outstanding gardens which lead dowm to the river. A really remarkable holiday cottage well worth a visit.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: The gardens and the character of the cottage.
Traveling group: Teenagers
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
matt c
Worthing, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 4, 2011 for a stay in September 2011
1
person found this review helpful

Lovely well appointed cottage, with period features. Comfy beds, and extensive dvd collection, loved the disney cartoons! We spent several lovely hours by the river at the end of the garden although i failed to catch the big chub, we saw numerous kingfishers and watched the bats as adrkness fell. Owners were great, we had cakes and a complimentary bottle of wine in the fridge when we arrived!! Owners also have green fingers and much fruit and veg was home grown and cheaply available. Our dog Zebedee loved it, although he was a bit confused by the hedgehog he met!! Will recommend to our friends.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 4 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 4 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: garden and river
Liked least: leaving
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Redvers M
Bagillt
1 review
“TO GOOD TO BE TRUE”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2011 for a stay in September 2011

When you go to the property the first thing that meets you is the warmth of Jacky and John. You are then shown your cottage which is wonderful. Your stay there then starts and whatever you like to do is all at hand ( walking fishing sightseeing or just relaxing) . I have been about ten times and have never been disapointed. I will also be going back for more. Its the ideal place to get away from the ratrace.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Just being there
Liked least: Having to go
Traveling group: With Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Emma S
London, United Kingdom
1 review
“The accomadation and owners are highly recommendable and truely wonderful!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2011 for a stay in August 2011

I used to go on holiday here and spent a christmas here with my family when i was a child and to be able to now take my two children here on holiday giving them the experience that i had when i was a child just shows what a truely wonderful cottage and surrounding grounds this place is. Jackie and John are two wonderful people who do everything to make you welcome! The cottage is beautiful and feels just like home. The gardens and river at the bottom of the garden are just perfect and truely magical. The kids and i had a lovely holiday!

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Family with Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Val T
Worthing, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“You'd have to go a long way to find better than this”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2011 for a stay in September 2010
2
people found this review helpful

Jackie & John Spooner make all their guests extremely welcome including our dogs and are always willing to solve any problems that may arise, nothing is too much trouble for them. The cottage is very comfortable and well equipped - home from home. The grounds are lovely and with the river at the end of the gardens there is always somewhere peaceful to sit and watch the ducks, swans and kingfishers. It is always difficult to leave at the end of our holiday but we keep on returning. We have made eight visits so far and there will be more to follow.

5 of 5 stars How easy was it to book the property? 5 of 5 stars How helpful were the directions to the property?
5 of 5 stars How easy was key pickup/access to the property? 5 of 5 stars Overall condition of the property
5 of 5 stars Bedding & mattresses 5 of 5 stars Kitchen & utensils
5 of 5 stars Bathroom cleanliness 5 of 5 stars Other facilities & amenities
5 of 5 stars Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Traveling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Interested in this property?
Make Inquiry
Check in
Check out
Guests
from
$182
/
Night
Week
Book this property
Or, send the owner a message
Send Message
Owner
Jackie & John S
Speaks English
Listed since : Oct 2007
Response Rate: 100 %
Response Time: Within a few hours
Calendar Updated: 8 days ago
Peace of Mind Protection
You're automatically covered whenever you book a vacation rental on TripAdvisor!
Learn more
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Listing is Free!
Add your rental property to TripAdvisor and FlipKey at no charge. You pay only 3% commission on each confirmed, paid booking.
Protect your privacy
TripAdvisor only shares your contact details with your guests after the first payment has been made.
Get more exposure
Showcase your property to travelers worldwide actively looking to rent in your destination every month.
Set up your free listing