We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“what a pub meal should be” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bridge Inn Pub & Restaurant

The Bridge Inn Pub & Restaurant
Old Road, Acle NR13 3AS, England
+44 1493 750288
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 7 Restaurants in Acle
Price range: $8 - $31
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
184 helpful votes 184 helpful votes
“what a pub meal should be”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

this is almost what a pub should be, great real ales, good pub food.
my wife had the fish pie i hate fish but really would have liked to try this, huge portion, cooked well, and looked great.
the staff very very pleasant and helpful, the manger was really nice took the time to talk to us.
i wish i had not been driving and able to spend the evening in this pub.
i will certainly go again and whilst working in the area will try to stay near so i can walk to the place.
what a view!!!.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    174
    111
    32
    13
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Grimsby, United Kingdom
1 review
“The place was Packed!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I am the Head Chef at a very busy pub/restaurant in Grimsby, My name is Stuart.
Tripadvisor is every restaurant/hotel/pubs worst nightmare at times,unless you get it right.
I was told about The Bridge Inn by an ex chef of theres, who is joining my team.
On a very rare weekend off for me, my wife and i,minus the children, had a weekend in Norfolk.
He told me about the volume of covers and about the tiny kitchen that produces the food,and how good the chefs were, if the chefs saw a strange man staring into the kitchen last weekend, that was probably me.(i cant help it) I can see what he was talking about, and am amazed how you do it. Very impressed.
I was so impressed with the food and service considering how packed out the place was,on such a hot sunday lunch, im only glad your in norfolk and not closer too us. Food/service 10/10.
Well done to David,Sarah mother, Elaine and others.
What a place!! well done all staff.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good position, and good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Would recommend good menu promptly served,garden on waters edge, watch the boats pass by as you dine,

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
40 reviews 40 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
“Good pub grub, great location but dirty toilets!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

We stopped here for a family get together, the location is great, right next to the water and plenty of outside seating, it’s also very child friendly with plenty for them to do. We ate inside in the conservatory, and although it was a very hot day, it was nice and cool in there. The food was tasty, arrived hot and we all had generous portions. I did find it a tad pricy for pub food but then, with the location I think they can get away with charging a little extra. The staff were friendly and service was good.
Bad Point: The toilets were a mess, these should be checked more regularly as they were dirty.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangladesh
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
“Excellent staff, huge portions”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

I visited this restaurant twice whilst on a boating holiday in Norfolk. The first time was my 12 year old grandson's 12th birthday. The staff helped with putting candles on the cakes and leading the restaurant on singing'Happy birthday'.
The second time was an evening meal for my wife and myself.
The food on each occasion was very good, what you expect from a good pub meal. The one thing was the portions. They are huge!
Consider sharing a starter and you will need a big appetite to do justice to the amount of food on the plate.
The staff were excellent, friendly and helpful without being 'over the top', which is a fault in so many restaurants trying too hard to be welcoming.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bridge Inn Pub & Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to The Bridge Inn Pub & Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bridge Inn Pub & Restaurant, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.