We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Romantic getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Redworth Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Redworth Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Redworth Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Redworth, Redworth DL5 6NL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Edinburgh, UK
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
60 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
89 helpful votes 89 helpful votes
“Romantic getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2007

When we arrived our room was not ready yet due to the fact the hotel had 3 weddings on that evening so we enjoyed the sunshine in the lovely park and nosied it on wedding pictures taken by one of the happy couples.
We had a deluxe room in the new annex of the hotel and it was rather confusing to get there (up the stairs, round the corner, take the lift, up the stairs again) so it was not ideal for families with small kids or elderly people.
The deluxe room however totally made up for it with a great bathroom suite and a wonderful jacuzzi tub and one of those modern massage showers with tons of dials to get the best result...Niiiiiiice..
We didn't eat in the hotel as there are many lovely country pubs nearby that do excellent food too.
Check out next day also took quite some time due to 3 weddings parties checking out at the same time too but staff were always friendly and helpful

Stayed May 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    626
    363
    159
    118
See reviews for
294
1,018
32
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2007

This is a great hotel in a beautiful setting. Rooms are very clean, comfortable and well equipped. I had a wonderful night's sleep too. It's a very popular venue for weddings, so if you want to avoid the crowds visit midweek or outside the wedding season! It's only 5 minutes' drive from the A1, really easy to find.

  • Liked — The comfortable and clean rooms.
  • Disliked — The wedding crowds.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2007

I cannot understand why people have posted anything less than
"excellent" for this beautifully kept hotel. The grounds upon arrival
are breathtaking, arriving up front at the gravel drive, where upon the entrance and reception lounge were imposing and reletively quick.
Once in the room, we were immediately at ease. The decor is not
"dated" as some people have mentioned, but is a good effort at keeping it in check with the decor of the main part of the historic building without losing the modern convenience. We have nothing but praise for all the staff who made our stay such a pleasure. We were there as a couple, but there was plenty for children to do, should you have any. The food was of a high quality and presented very well,
service was second to none, being extremely quick. Would recommend this venue highly.

  • Liked — Problem free accommodation.
  • Disliked — Nothing bad to report.
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield
Top Contributor
158 reviews 158 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
166 helpful votes 166 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2007

We visited just before easter, with our three children. After a slight delay at reception (room not ready), we were taken to our premium room, high up in the hotel. This was a two-room suite with ample space for all of us, and two TVs (important with the kids!). The decor was pleasant and clean. During the stay, the staff were always helpful and this was a major part in the success of our stay. The swimming pool was fine before and after our days out and the playground was also much used. Breakfasts were so-so and could be improved by the use of better quality ingredients; however, there no complaints about quantity. Dinners were better and actually quite good value; the kids food was above average and showed some imagination but was priced very reasonably. The winelist was also more imaginative than might be expected but pricy.

We had quite a good deal on DBB from the hotel and I would recommend staying here if you can get the right price.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — delay at reception
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 26, 2007

We booked this for a romantic last minute break to get away from it all.

Firstly I would recommend to everyone that they re-check the tariff on the day that you are travelling to the hotel. I upgraded from a standard room to a premium room (on the advice of this site!) at the last minute and was very surprised to see the prices had dropped dramatically. So when I amended my booking on the Redworth Hall website I ended up getting a better room for LESS than I would have paid for a standard room booking only 2 days before the stay.

There was some confusion about the tariff at check-out but I had printed my confirmation of the amendment and they didn't argue at all. Top Tip!

Our room was excellent, very recently upgraded with spa bath and giant bed! We slept very soundly and were well away from the constant weddings that might have kept us up otherwise.

The restaurant was shabby and looked like an early 90's indian restaurant. However I understand this is recieving a makeover in April.

We only had dinner on one night of our stay (we took our own picnic to have in the room on the first night which was ideal.) With the dinner B&B option you only get a choice of three for each course. If you wanted something a bit more special you get an allowance (£17.50) towards your meal.

I don't quite understand why you get £17.50 towards your meal when it costs £20 a head! The other food on the menu was vastly over priced - £26 for a sirloin steak and that doesn't even include any sauce or side orders!

The set menu consisted of very cheap ingredients cooked to an acceptable standard - but haute cuisine this is not. Options went along the lines of mushroom and cous cous or tomato soup for starter, liver or salmon for main course. Or, and this was the best, penne pasta with olives and garlic bread! The fact that they were keeping the cost of ingredients to a minimum to increase margins was very very obvious.

Pool area is showing its age and looks decidedly scruffy around the edges - you might be disappointed when looking at the photos on the website. Also there are no real grounds to speak of, all rather scruffily kept. We were hoping to take a stroll in them but they aren't big enough for walking in.

Staff on the whole very happy to help but all very young, and inexperienced. This meant that they knew nothing about any of the (expensive) wines on the menu. This might bother some people but not others - depends how much of a perfectionist you are!

The hotel is huge and easy to get lost in however has a very small, smoky bar with constant sky sports in the evenings. Don't go to Redworth expecting to be able to curl up in a wingback chair in front of a fire and read a book in the evenings.

Want ice bucket in your room? That'll be £10!! Sums Redworth up - expensive extras, get a good deal when you book, don't expect perfection.

  • Liked — The room - and spa bath!
  • Disliked — Cheap restaurant food
  • Stayed March 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
63 helpful votes 63 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2007

Fantastic hotel.
Staff were very friendly, accommodation lovely, food was out of this world and well worth what i paid. Got a great deal and so felt i got extremely good value for money. Would stay here again.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kettering, England
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 4, 2007

Forget the classical facade of the hotel,as soon as you are past the reception you are basically in a 3 star hotel opened in 1991. The major part of the original building is used for weddings and special functions, and is completely separated from the main hotel.

Plenty of parking, and free......though when you realise it is situated in the middle of nowhere, I don't suppose they could even contemplate charging. The grounds, though not as large as I expected were well kept, and its quite an imposing drive from the road to the hotel.

Reception and check-in were quick efficient and friendly. The rooms (some of which are currently being renovated) are exactly as you would expect in any Holiday Inn/Ramada/ Marriott. They were fine, and both the bedrooms and the bathrooms were well appointed and clean.

Though we didn't use the leisure facilities they appeared to be very good, as there were many people locally who had spent serious money to join. The pool, gym, and health spa were all you would expect in a 3/4 star hotel.

Breakfast was buffett style, and the staff were both friendly and efficient. The quality of the food was fine so overall no problems with breakfast. Fortunately we had booked a 3 day break with dinner included for 2 of the nights. The food was quite good with a reasonable selection of dishes even if you you were limited by the dinner deal you had. To go to a la carte, the surcharges were way over the top, and if you were paying for everything it was far too expensive. I believe that £6 for soup, £26 for a sirloin steak, and a minimum of £6 for a dessert was a way of clawing back some of the discount we had been given for the short break.

Though the wine was acceptable quality wise, and there was a reasonable list, I think £17 for their cheapest wine was another way of claw back. I'm not complaining about this, as with the deal, and taking in the total costs it was still reasonably priced.

The bar was pleasant enough, and drinks reasonably priced. Sky sports is shown every night in the bar,

The only reason I cannot totally recommend this hotel is that if I was paying the rack rate, then adding dinner on top, it would be an expensive night out for a hotel that though better than a normal 3 star, could not really be classified as 4 star.

Stayed March 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Redworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redworth Hall Hotel

Address: Redworth, Redworth DL5 6NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Redworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Redworth Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1693, the four-star Redworth Hall Hotel is a Jacobean-style manor house hotel with many original features, 143 spacious bedrooms, beauty rooms and a hair salon. Set in 150 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds and woodland it’s easy to get away from it all yet also enjoy the historical and vibrant cities of Durham, Darlington and Newcastle, which are just a short drive away. Visit Hadrian’s Wall, the East Coast's unspoilt beaches and historical cathedrals then relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool or outdoor tennis courts before enjoying delicious local ingredients in 2 AA Rosette 1744 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Redworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Newton Aycliffe
Newton Aycliffe Barcelo
Durham Hall Hotel Redworth
Hall Redworth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redworth Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.