We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Break” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Redworth Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Redworth Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Redworth Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Redworth, Redworth DL5 6NL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
newcastle
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic Break”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2010

Stayed at Redworth Hall 24/25 April for a spa break with family.
Hotel is beautiful and gardens are lovely. All our party had a fabulous time, the staff were friendly and the service in the restaurant was second to non all meals were tasty and presented well.
This hotel is ideal for a relaxing break and I would recommend the hotel to any of my friends please don't be put off by negative comments as usually people who stay in a country house hotel expect it to be in the country and not in a city centre location!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedworthGM, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, May 18, 2010
Thank you for the great feedback. We obviously can get it right in the restaurant,
and we need to focus on consistency. We hope to see you again soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    706
    626
    363
    159
    118
See reviews for
294
1,018
32
166
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (440)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Catbro
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2010

I'm puzzled by the huge variety of reviews on this hotel within the same month. My daughter and I had a spa break here last week, and were slightly anxious, having booked before reading some of the abysmal reviews. Pleasant surprise. We found the staff to be warm, courteous, friendly - prepared to go the extra mile to make our stay a pleasant one. Food was of a very high standard. Service was very slow at dinner on our second night, obvious problems in the kitchen, but we cannot fault the waiting staff. the spa facilities were excellent. We will definitely book again, and bring the rest of the family.

  • Stayed April 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedworthGM, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2010
Thank you for posting your kind feedback; it is always a pleasure to hear we have another happy customer.
We aim to ensure we consistently deliver great food and service, but occasionally we may get it wrong, and feedback posted like this is personal and from a specific point in time. Our aim if we do get it wrong is to make sure we don’t in the future.
The beauty and spa offering is a great facility in the hotel which we have managed in house since the beginning of the year and I sincerely hope you and your family are able to enjoy it all again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

Arrived at hotel for birthday weekend for Daughter and Sisters Birthday.
Hotel and staff were excellent. Rooms were all together on floor 2 and were all of excellent qualit. everything that we could have wanted.. Meal in restaurant was fabulous. Restaurant manager and his staff went out of their way to ensure that both party girls were looked after and made to feel special. Took advantage of the pool and sauna and the spa treatments were excellent.
All staff were courteous and polite did not want to leave . Would definetly recommend this hotel for a relaxing break. Thankyou to you all for making the weekend special.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedworthGM, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 28, 2010
I am pleased to read you and your family had a fantastic time with us, enjoying all the facilities on offer, and sincerely hope we'll see you again soon.
We have some great lesiure offers available midweek as well as at the weekend so do look out for them.
Thanks again
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wigan
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2010

I booked the hotel as a 2 night break for our anniversary, partly using Tesco Clubcard vouchers. First thing I would say is if I had paid the full price I would maybe be a little more critical, though I imagine you can get the hotel cheaper through travel sites.

As with most of the reviews, the first impression of the hotel is fantastic as you travel up the drive and see the impressive facade of hotel and the surrounding gardens. I see what other reviewers mean about the brick used for the extension at the back but I'm not sure how else they could have done it without spending a fortune to match the style of the original building. There is lots of parking and although we had no kids for the weekend there looked to be a great adventure play area in the grounds.

Check in was quick and friendly and the journey to our room was an adventure in itself (through corridors, up a few floors in one lift then down a floor in another lift!). We noticed a few signs of general wear and tear in the hotel as we walked to our room and I would imagine a lot of money will need to be spent in the next few years to refurbish the corridors and some of the public areas.

We had a deluxe room which although not overly spacious, was clean, smart and comfortable with a fantastic shower/spa bath. The view (or lack of) was disappointing as the hotel is built into a hill so our window was actually slightly below the level of the ground and hence was a little gloomy. Also, we were woken up very early on Sunday by what sounded like a boiler/tumble dryer next to the room. Tried to find out exactly what it was but the adjoining room had an alarmed door so couldn't check. My advice would be if you have a deluxe room and are given 512, maybe think about asking for an alternative.

We spent Friday afternoon in the pool/spa area which was very pleasant, there is also a nice lounge to relax and have a read of the many complimentary magazines and papers on offer plus another small soft play area fo the kids.

We ate dinner in the restaurant the first night as we had prebooked and the food was pretty good but not fantastic, though the service was excellent. Bar prices are not cheap as you would expect in a hotel (£4.15 for a pint of San Miguel, £5.50ish for a G&T).

The breakfast was very good. We were seated quickly, tea and coffee arrived very soon after ordering and there was a wide choice of food. Eggs, Bacon etc were fresh, constantly replenished and very tasty.

We spent the Saturday in Durham which is around 25 minutes away and I'd recommend using the Park and Ride service just off the A1 which is a quick and convenient way of getting into the centre (Free Parking and £1.70 for a return ticket).

On the Saturday evening we took the recommendation of other reveiwers and walked to the Bay Horse in Heighington. It really is a lovely village pub, full of character and right on the green serving great real ale's (the Landlord was an excellent pint). We ate from the restaurant menu which although serving good food, we thought was a little pricey for a pub. We did notice that you could get good value bar snacks before 7pm if you're willing to eat early.

Overall, we enjoyed our break and the hotel in general and would probably recommend it to a friend. However, as mentioned above, this would be on the basis of booking it as deal through a travel site. I would say it was certainly well above 'Average' but not quite 'Very Good' (though I given the benefit of the doubt and selected that rating!!)

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedworthGM, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 29, 2010
Thank you for posting your constructive feedback, and we will continue to work hard on improving the points you raise.
Our cpaital investment contunues and the carpets along the corridors are on order and we await the scehduled fitting date from the manufacturer. I am pleased you were able to use you Tesco Clubcard points on this stay, and when you do visit again, do look at our website as we have some great offers, the same as those featured on all Travel Agent websites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 15, 2010

Stayed here for a long weekend anniversary break, in a deluxe double room (in the 500's).
Hotel: Beautiful Jacobean hotel with a not so beautiful red brick new build type extension on the back. Lovely grounds to walk in.
Facilities: Good sized pool, jacuzzi, sauna, steam room. All very clean.
Location: Middle of nowhere really, but we knew that as we were travelling to Durham and Hamsterley Forest.
Room: Fancy lighting, lovely bathroom (jet bath and shower), really comfy bed, nice view of the erm, car park. Noisy closing room doors (the only thing that woke me up).
Service: Very friendly staff. Everyone (cleaners also) said hello everytime we saw them. Ordered a cream tea from reception at 5pm while reading the Sunday papers in the room next to reception. Still nothing at 5.45 so reception rang again for us. Still nothing at 6 so gave up. The only blip of the weekend.
Food: Breakfast (full english) was plentiful and hot but fairly average quality. Continental meats and cheeses choice fairly limited. When the dining room was full, the hotel thoughtfully laid on tea and coffee in the next room for people who were waiting (5 min wait). Didn't have evening meals or drinks here as for the money (£30 per head plus drinks @ £7 for a glass of wine) we wern't prepared to take a gamble from reviews in previous posts. We had 2 great meals at the Bay Horse Pub in the next village (20 min walk).
Overall, we had a really good stay here.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedworthGM, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 20, 2010
Thank you for posting this review, and I am pleased to read you had a great time with us.
I am sorry about the afternoon tea as I knwo you missed an experience, something the team shouldnt have let happened.
We've listened to the reveiews on the menu content and the chef and team have produced a new menu and changed their daily menu with the aim of providing great value for money and a quality product going forward.
We look forward to welcoming you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mersea Island, Essex.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

I have stayed at Redworth Hall hotel in the past and was not disappointed with the exceptional standard I had come to expect. The landscaped grounds are spectacular and it is not difficult to understand why it is a popular wedding venue. The hotel even offer rooms where guests can stay if bringing dogs - my young Labrador spend a considerable amount of time checking out the whole of the gardens! This is a huge bonus for such a fine hotel to offer this flexibility. The rooms are very well appointed and the staff are attentive and eager to please. I even accidentally left behind some expensive audio equipment in my room after checking out - this was returned to me by 1st class post the next working day. The restaurant offers an extensive menu although I can only comment on the breakfast buffet which is very good.
The leisure facilities are outstanding - the indoor pool is excellent. My 7 year-old daughter (an expert on all aqua-related matters) gave it top marks.There is also a jacuzzi, steam room and sauna, and a superbly equipped gym to rival any high-end fitness club. There is also a hair salon and numerous spa treatments on offer. Overall I highly recommend the hotel. It is quiet, discreet and in terms of value for money, I think it is unbeatable in the North East. I will definately continue to stay there in the future.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedworthGM, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2010
Thank you for posting your kind feedback. Not only were we pleased to be able to return your property, but very pleased that you and your family continue to enjoy staying at Redworth Hall Hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipley, West Yorkshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2010

We were there for a wedding and that would probably be the only reason we would stay there; the front of the hotel was very lovely but in the usual way the back is an ugly red brick conference centre (why do they do that?)

Rooms are slightly better than average, bathroom a little small and tired, service was average and food was average. Grounds seem plesant enough and staff were ok (didnt get the paper we asked for but i sort of knew that was going to happen as i asked for it!)

We did seem to be miles from anything and i cant see why you would stay there apart from for a wedding/conference-it isnt that i didnt enjoy being there, it is just like every other mid range hotel about at the moment and hard to distinguish it from other places.

Overall-quite pricey and too far from anything to be a good base and not good enough as a retreat

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
RedworthGM, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, April 15, 2010
Thanks for posting your feedback.
We've had some great feedback from the recent weddings and will continue to provide our guests with the levels of servcie they have come to expect. We may not be in the centre of the town or city, but as with other recent posts on Tripadvisor, we do offer the opportunity to get away from day to day life and have great facilities on site to enable you to relax. We hope you will visit us again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Redworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redworth Hall Hotel

Address: Redworth, Redworth DL5 6NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Redworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Redworth Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1693, the four-star Redworth Hall Hotel is a Jacobean-style manor house hotel with many original features, 143 spacious bedrooms, beauty rooms and a hair salon. Set in 150 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds and woodland it’s easy to get away from it all yet also enjoy the historical and vibrant cities of Durham, Darlington and Newcastle, which are just a short drive away. Visit Hadrian’s Wall, the East Coast's unspoilt beaches and historical cathedrals then relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool or outdoor tennis courts before enjoying delicious local ingredients in 2 AA Rosette 1744 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Redworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Newton Aycliffe
Newton Aycliffe Barcelo
Durham Hall Hotel Redworth
Hall Redworth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redworth Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.