We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Businness stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Redworth Hall Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Redworth Hall Hotel to your Saves list
Redworth Hall Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Redworth, Redworth DL5 6NL, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Reading, England
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Good Businness stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 25, 2013

Stayed from Sunday 16th June till the Friday as we were working nearby. The grounds are lovely and the crazy golf was an enjoyable bonus!!
The room was fine, nothing special but perfectly acceptable. The bar is small but the bar staff were all very friendly. The prices at the bar were very steep however.
Only ate in the bar once and the food was nice. We ate in the Bay Horse in the nearby village and that was excellent. It is only a 10 minute walk.
The clientel was of the older variety with coach parties and lots of couples. It's certainly not a lively hotel but it was a comfortable weeks stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,752 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    633
    565
    313
    139
    102
See reviews for
273
894
28
151
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (396)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

The wife and I stayed here last weekend for a two night break. Really pleased with the hotel, both the building, grounds and the staff who were more than helpful. We used the gym in the spa area and had dinner in the restaurant, both excellent.
Only grumble was the wine list in the restaurant. Top prices for average quality.
Generally, an excellent break and we have decided on another stay here later in the year.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

ive just spent a wonderful weekend here the hotel was great the food was fabulous and the staff were very friendly. i also used the spa and had a couple of treatments which were also fabulous the grounds are very picturesque. would definately go there again well done redworth 10/10

Room Tip: we upgraded to a spa room for an extra £15.00 it was 608 very nice and quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed here for 2 nights in May.

The hotel is in a delightful location with extensive grounds and a magnificent frontage. The hotel extends considerably behind the façade with the leisure/Spa facilities behind the main building.

We stayed in a Spa room which was in an area close to the spa. The room was modern and clean but was quite dark as there was only a small window which overlooked an embankment with trees and bushes. There was one office style chair and one “easy” chair. The lighting system is complicated with no assistance in the guest book (being revised) made harder for us because both bedhead light bulbs had blown. A quick call to reception had this sorted in no time at all.

The bathroom has a spa bath and a separate, excellent multijet shower with the quietest bathroom fan I’ve ever experienced.

Our tariff included afternoon tea which was excellent with generous quantities of sandwiches, cakes and delicious scones (coffee was also available).

We had prepaid for Dinner in the restaurant which was of very good quality, there was a good choice each evening (the menu does change) and service was good when we ate. It might be worth noting that the prepaid price was the same as the normal price, it is also possible pay less for fewer courses on the night.

There was, on each evening, some limitations regarding times available for dining. This was caused by there being large groups staying and putting pressure on the facilities. There is a room adjoining the main restaurant where groups were usually accommodated, however, on the second evening a group arrived towards the end of our meal and the room was transformed from being quiet to being full both in terms of people and in terms of general hubbub. At this time the staff were, inevitably, more stretched.

The very good breakfast was buffet style with a wide range of products and choices and a good hot selection; it was a little disappointing that the range of cereal choice was quite limited.

Other reviewers have noted that the hotel can be a little labyrinthine, certainly we found that our room was a very long way from the bar/restaurant area. From the lift to our room must have been close to 100 yards. Bear this in mind if you are choosing the Spa room, they are inevitably a very long way from reception.

We still enjoyed our stay thoroughly and would return, we would just make sure that we were closer to reception that we were on this stay.

Free Wi fi was limited, I made alternative arrangements.

Room Tip: Spa rooms are a very long way from bar/restaurant, avoid if mobility is an issue.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We booked Redworth Hall having stayed there last year on a spa break.

We checking in at 2pm and went straight to our room located on the second floor. A standard double. The room was clean although it was not very well lit. General wear and tear but to be expected.

We decided to go for lunch in the bar. My husbands sandwich had mould on the bun which he only noticed half way through eating. We did complain to the bar staff who offered a replacement or a free drink but after that we really did not want to eat anything else.

He complained to the manager who advised there was an issue with the flour and that they would not charge us for the food. She also arranged a bottle of wine to be sent to the room but it was red, which neither of us drink so a wasted gesture really.

We used the pool in the after noon and its perfect to relax in. The jacuzzi sauna and steam room and well as the pool are kept clean.

We dined in the main restaurant in the evening. We booked a table for 7.30pm however our starter did not come until 8.10pm. We waited ages for drinks to arrive. We did not get our main until around 8.45 we decided not to wait for dessert. A couple arrived after us in the restaurant and had ate their starter and began their main just as we ordered our starter.

There seemed to be a bit of a panic on due to a coach load of guests arriving….who also got served before us!

The breakfast in the morning was much better service, tea/coffee served straight away and as it was buffet there was no waiting around for our food.

Upon checking out there was a bit of a queue and the mouldy lunch was still on our bill, was removed when we pointed this out.

We really enjoyed our stay here in May 2012 however in the last 13 months the service has gone down hill and there for unlikely that we will return. We will be making a formal complaint to the management team. This was our first wedding anniversary so very disappointed.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicholas T, General Manager at Redworth Hall Hotel, responded to this review, July 21, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay. Indeed, at the time we were exceptionally busy with coach tours and I am looking into how we can improve our operations in a way that will allow us to accommodate both large tours and other guests simultaneously, whilst maintaining our high standards of service.

Please accept further apologies for the problems with your lunch; during my tenure here I have never encountered such an issue, however I am glad our staff were quick in their attempts to rectify the situation.

Thank you again,

Nicholas Testa

General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mexborough, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We read some of the reviews on here before we booked this hotel and therefore arrived not expecting a 4* hotel.

The hotel is stunning. Really stunning. We were greeted immediately by staff at reception who were perfectly pleasant. The walk to our room was a bit of a challenge and so I would agree that the corridors need better signs to alleviate confusion. But it was worth the walk. We had a spa room and the attention to detail in the room was second to none. Fabulous. Really special. And the bathroom was fantastic too.

We were a little disappointed to not be able to book a table in the restaurant until 8.30pm despite arriving and booking mid-afternoon but the we can't fault the food there. It was delicious and just the right portion sizes too. The service wasn't great. We had to wait 40+ minutes for our drinks to be delivered and they arrived after our first course in the end, having asked 3 times. Despite waiting all this time our bottles of wine and sparkling water were lukewarm and the staff weren't able to find any cold bottles in their storage. We ended up with 2 ice-buckets with the bottles in and they were just up to the right temp when dessert arrived.
The staff in the restaurant seemed to lack the social niceties we would have expected from a 4* hotel. One member of staff brought the bill to each table and them itemised what the guests would have to pay out loud for the rest of us to hear.

We also found the 'spa' not quite what we were expecting. Sadly, due to work in the ladies changing rooms, I had to change in the men's which had nowhere private and was quite run down. I really hope the work going on is to upgrade what could be really great changing areas. The pool was one of the better ones I've seen in a hotel, for a hotel pool. They had tried to make it into a spa - it wasn't! We don't have any complaints about the staff, the sauna or the steam room - all were perfectly okay but it was hard to relax with the swimming lessons going on and the heat was oppressive. We didn't stay long and actually didn't venture back during our stay.

We had decided to find someone speak to regarding our concerns after (a very nice) breakfast and found the general manager, we assume, who sat down with us and apologised and explained where the hotel was at. We really appreciated this. We felt listened to and he didn't say take our concerns lightly. We hadn't expected a bottle of chilled sparkling wine and champagne flutes in our room when we returned later that day - a nice gesture which was truly appreciated.

Afternoon tea was a delight. I would recommend it.

All in all we would go back to the Redworth Hall Hotel if we wanted somewhere to stay in the area. We certainly didn't have a bad time there. And we would choose it above other hotels. We were expecting a spa hotel where we could wander down to the health club in our dressing gowns and spend the day lounging around by the pool or in our room - this is where we felt let down - it just wasn't that sort of a hotel. But it's a work in progress and we have confidence that the manager is working hard to bring it up to scratch.

Room Tip: The 'spa' rooms are beautiful but small and tucked away at the back.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockton-on-Tees, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

Overall our two night deluxe spa break was a very good experience. Two reasons why I cannot rate this as "excellent":-
1. The on-line booking procedure with "SpaSeekers" does not allow you to redeem a voucher (which we had) - you have to call a premium rate number to book. When I did so, the booking representative advised me that she would call the hotel to inquire and call me back to confirm. This did not happen, I needed to call them several hours later to confirm arrangements.
2. Unfortunately, the "deluxe" allocated room had problems; The window frame trim was badly water stained, the window frame itself had collected a large amount of cobwebs which were not cleared away the whole time we were there despite our request to do so, the Television was not working, it was fixed by the efficient duty manager late on the evening whilst we had dinner.
3. Upon arrival, our "treat" should have included champagne, chocolates, bath robes and slippers. These were not provided as expected on our arrival in the room but did turn up later following our request - a bit disappointing as this was supposed to part of our "surprise".

POSITIVES:-

Lovely 16th Century hall, with loads of charisma in a tranquil setting. Plenty of places of interest to visit within nearest 20 miles.
Room decor was modern, king size bed comfortable, spa bath and shower very good, (lacks a refrigerator ?)
Hotel grounds beautiful with a large variety of mature lawns and trees - wonderfully cared for and looked after.
Staff everywhere were very friendly, professional and extremely proficient,
Food was very good, restaurant very nice, service excellent.
Leisure center, pool, jakusi, sauna, steam room all extremely good, clean and well maintained, leisure center cafe very good, staff most efficient and friendly.
Treatment area excellent, back massage and facial "recommended", beauty therapists "first class".

We left feeling relaxed and "pampered" which was the object ! So, well done to everbody.............

Room Tip: spa rooms are in the extension to the rear, rooms 400 to 750
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Redworth Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Redworth Hall Hotel

Address: Redworth, Redworth DL5 6NL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Redworth
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Redworth
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Redworth Hall Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 143
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Dating back to 1693, the four-star Redworth Hall Hotel is a Jacobean-style manor house hotel with many original features, 143 spacious bedrooms, beauty rooms and a hair salon. Set in 150 acres of beautifully landscaped grounds and woodland it’s easy to get away from it all yet also enjoy the historical and vibrant cities of Durham, Darlington and Newcastle, which are just a short drive away. Visit Hadrian’s Wall, the East Coast's unspoilt beaches and historical cathedrals then relax in the Health & Leisure Club’s pool or outdoor tennis courts before enjoying delicious local ingredients in 2 AA Rosette 1744 restaurant. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Redworth Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Barcelo Newton Aycliffe
Newton Aycliffe Barcelo
Durham Hall Hotel Redworth
Hall Redworth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Redworth Hall Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.