We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of George & Dragon

George & Dragon
4 East Green | Heighington Village, Newton Aycliffe DL5 6PP, England
+44 1325 313152
Website
Improve this listing
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Television, Waitstaff
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great food and staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Excellent food (Rib Eye was perfect), cosy, warm atmosohere and superb staff. Now that we have finally got around to paying this place a visit we will definitely be back...and soon! Don't miss out on this little gem :)

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

188 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    113
    52
    15
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Newton Aycliffe
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
60 helpful votes 60 helpful votes
“Excellent - Dont Miss!!!!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 13, 2013

Four of us had meals and sweets, everything was excellent!! The food was the best I have had in the area, the service was top notch. I would highly recommend this pub/restaurant, but a word of caution - Book a table, the word is out and walking into a vacant table is nearly impossible.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
“Lovely county pub”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Visited several times and never disappointed. Great deals on grill nights on a Thursday but always reasonable, well cooked, real food!

  • Visited February 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darlington, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent Sunday lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Considering the restaurant was full service was very quick and could not be faulted. As for the food, it was the best Sunday lunch we have had for a very long time and we will be back, all 7 of us.

Visited February 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunderland
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meal”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Had a meal here on Saturday night whilst staying at Redworth Hall, we prebooked & table was waiting for us, service very good & we did not wait too long for our meal. I had the steak which was cooked well & the best onion rings I have tasted for a while. My husband had the curry which he enjoyed but thought the portion of rice was too small. A couple of sides, dessert each & drinks & the bill was about £50, very good value. The pub was busy with a good atmosphere & there was a band playing. All in all a very enjoyable night.

  • Visited January 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed George & Dragon also viewed

Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
 
Newton Aycliffe, County Durham
Spennymoor, County Durham
 

Been to George & Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage George & Dragon, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.