We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Weekend in Darlington” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newton Park, Coatham Mundeville | Newton Aycliffe, Newton Aycliffe DL1 3NL, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Darlington)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Northampton, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Weekend in Darlington”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2014

The hotel is easy to find. Its been newly refurbished. Clean and spacious room. Super king size bed. TV with plenty of channels. Roomy bathroom, with nice spacious powershower. Overall very modern. Breakfast was nice (buffet style), hot and plenty of choice. Staff are very friendly. The downsides are: Air con unit leaked in room, I could hear the walking in the room above us (creaky ceiling/floorboards!), No-one on reception when we arrived and had to find someone. No biscuits with tea-making facilities. However, overall I would stay again.

Room Tip: Go on top floor so you don't the people above you!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay your comments are most appreciated. We are currently undergoing a full maintenance review of our air conditioning system to ensure that all of our guest rooms are at a comfortable temperature regardless of the time of year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

394 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    142
    38
    10
    5
See reviews for
25
206
15
72
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2014

We spent two nights here in the last week. Although one side of the road is adjacent to the A1M northbound carriageway, traffic visible through the screening trees and shrubs, and noise was intrusive with the window open, the air conditioning meant that with the window closed we had restful nights.
The hotel seems to be full, mainly of businessmen, but there was space in the car park at all times. Everywhere was clean and modern and the beds were comfortable. We had one meal in the restauarnt with attractive food at a reasonable price and attentive service. Breakfast was not the best buffet i have ever encountered but with a good choice of both cold and hot food one could not complain. A skimmed milk option would have been nice.

reception staff were welcoming and friendly and we would stay there again without hesitation.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the car park side if at all worried by possibility of traffic noise from the A1M
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Thanks for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. It is lovely to hear that you enjoyed your stay. Please let us know when you are returning, we would be happy to arrange some skimmed milk for you. Many thank once again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We stayed here when it was an Aston hotel and had a couple of problems. The manager invited us back for a complimentary night. When we phoned to book it had changed to a Holiday Inn but they very kindly honoured the free night. We were amazed at the change. It is now a contemporary hotel with a lovely reception, bar and restaurant area. We were given an executive room. It was so big, clean and modern. Wish we had been staying longer. Thank you Holiday Inn we will be back.

Room Tip: Choose an Executive room. They are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We are so pleased that you chose to come back and give us another try. We have been working very hard to improve all of our services within the hotel and do genuinely listen to what our guests are telling us. We hope to welcome you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cm5 9az
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We stay two nights, great hotel, clean, cool modern hotel. Lovely staff, comfy beds, nice soft fluffy towels, nice touch with fridge complete with water, sparkling and still, juice and kitkat.
Thank you for a lovely stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for your kind review. We are all very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2014

Stayed at Holiday Inn on recent business trip. Room was very spacious, clean and most importantly cooler. Full marks on these aspects.

However I should say breakfast was a let down. Was in a hurry so thought will get cereals and a toast. The toaster didn't work. And there were not many choices for cereals. Also breakfast service staff could be more friendlier.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review of your recent stay. We are very pleased that on the whole you enjoyed your stay. With regards to your comments regarding the toaster this is genuinely the first time any breakdown has been reported to us and we are a very busy hotel this would have caused us a large headache. We have six different cereals on the breakfast. When you are staying in the future please let us know if there are any particular favourites you would like and we would be pleased to supply this for you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sheffield, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2014

I stayed here once on business and I thought it was very nice. Apparently it has just changed to a Holiday Inn and the decorations in the reception and lounge are very nice. There are plenty of choices in the restaurant and it looks like the rooms were just remodelled.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, June 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review. We are very pleased to hear that you like our refurbishment and hope to welcome you back again to stay very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
189 reviews 189 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
131 helpful votes 131 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2014

Brilliant hotel. So modern. The room was wonderful but I wish someone had told me that the electricity only works when you place the room key plastic card into the piece on the wall next to the door. Of course this is a modern way to save electricity and ultimately the planet and they also change towels every two days and the sheets unless of course you are only there overnight.
The room had the best shower with a seat and the room was fully air conditioned and the TV was big and modern. One of the best hotels for a while and so airy and clean.
The dinner was ok but the vegetarian option of pasta was not so good. I was with a holiday team and so it was a set menu. Otherwise this would not have been a problem. Now the breakfast was good but the cooked one not as hot as I would have liked it. I did however enjoy the cereals and the yogurt. The staff were helpful. The hotel had a mini gym.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
patmacinnes, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, June 2, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post such lovely comments. We are all so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Address: Newton Park, Coatham Mundeville | Newton Aycliffe, Newton Aycliffe DL1 3NL, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Darlington)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Newton Aycliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m Newton Aycliffe, County Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.