We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“lovely room comfy bed” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newton Park, Coatham Mundeville | Newton Aycliffe, Newton Aycliffe DL1 3NL, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Darlington)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Worcester, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
328 reviews 328 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 94 cities Reviews in 94 cities
145 helpful votes 145 helpful votes
“lovely room comfy bed”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Stayed one night on coach trip wish it could have been longer. The room was large, comfy with a super king size bed and very nice en suite, for one person this was amazing. The buffet breakfast next morning was good and staff were quite efficient friendly and helpful

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, November 20, 2013
Thank you for your review, I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. We wish that you could have stayed longer too!
We do benefit from our bedrooms being a good size and comfortable so you will enjoy your stay. Looks like breakfast set you up for the day ahead.
I do hope you were here to explore the area around us there is so much to see.

We do look forward to you returning in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

419 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    207
    151
    45
    11
    5
See reviews for
28
215
15
82
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (107)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Leeds
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Just come back from a weekend at this hotel. Great value break, lovely hotel, spotlessly clean. This was a special break including dinner, bed and breakfast plus tickets to Beamish. The staff at the hotel were all pleasant and friendly. We had a great time!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review after staying with us. It is great that you took advantage of one of our breaks and found the hotel to be lovely and spotlessly clean.
We certainly take a pride in the hotel and the service which we offer.

To read that you had a great time is wonderful - I do hope you will return and soon to have another wonderful time too!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
loughborough
Top Contributor
161 reviews 161 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 76 cities Reviews in 76 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

Our weekend trip was on a wowcher deal and we were pleasantly surprised by the standard of the room and general level of service. The room was spacious and the ensuite facilities very good althoughi agree having the wash basin in the room rather than in the shower room seemed strange. The restaurant, which doubled as a breakfast room was small but well designed so seemed spacious. The food was good at dinner and at breakfast there was a good chooce of hot and cold items. The hot buffet was noticeably better on the Sunday than the Saturday as the trays had been quickly replenished with fresh items. The drink prices seemed a little steep over £5 for a small glass of house white wine. It was easy tofind straight off the A1 although We did notice a little noise from the road on our side of the hotel. No other facilities of note although interestingly the hotel is soon being upgraded and is about to become a Holiday Inn

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for your review after staying with us recently, it is good to read that you were pleasantly surprised, by the standard of your room and the general level of service.
We do have the benefit of our bedrooms being a large size so you can have comfort and space whilst relaxing.
The good news is that we are undergoing a refurbishment and the hand wash basins are being placed into the bathrooms. I must say this design has certainly been a talking point!
I am pleased that you found your dinner to be good, a lot of our dishes are homemade. I am not sure why breakfast was not the same standard on both days but I will be asking the question.
I do apologise that you found our wine price a little high, we do try our best to keep our pricing down as much as we can. Whilst not compromising the high quality of the wine which we stock.
I do hope you will return to see our refurbished Brasserie and bedrooms. The area has a large wealth of places still left to visit so see you soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
stoke-on-trent
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

We have just spent 2 nights at this hotel on a travelzoo break and found it to be very good value.Included in the break was 1 nights 3 course dinner, a bottle of wine and free tickets to the Beamish museum.The hotel is not far off the A1 and a little remote but fine if like ourselves you are using it as a base to discover the area.The room was large,clean and comfortable but the only negative was that it didn't have a bath.Our dinner was excellent and breakfast was self service,a little limited on choice but perfectly adequate.The staff were very attentive and pleasant and the trip to the Beamish museum was well worthwhile.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to place your review after staying with us recently. It is great to read that you found your bedroom large, clean and comfortable this is what we aim for. Good news is that we are under going a refurbishment and our executive bedrooms will have baths.
We are indeed located ideally for the wealth of places to visit, I can recommend Durham City for a visit.
The team are thrilled with your comments and we all hope to see you again and soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northwich, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
54 helpful votes 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

My wife and I have at least 12 mini-breaks a year in the UK and have stayed in all sorts of hotels and destinations. Some have been revelations, some have disappointed (especially in the 4-star range). The Aston Hotel in Darlington is in the former category and we have just spent a couple of delightful nights there. From the bedroom with an en-suite walk-in shower, to the food and service in its Bistro 59 restaurant, all was simply great. Nothing to fault at all. This is a 3-star hotel that is punching way above its weight. Whether for business or pleasure, this is a great budget hotel and we will return. Its marketing slogan is “Aston is astonishing” - and I wouldn’t disagree with that! I understand that it is on the brink of being taken over by the Holiday Inn chain so catch the bargain prices while you can.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, November 13, 2013
Thank you for placing your review it is good to read that you enjoyed your break with us. We do try to ensure that you have a memorable & enjoyable stay with us.
We take a pride in the hotel and the service which we give. To receive such feedback as theres "nothing to fault at all" we could not ask for more.

We do hope you return and soon, there is so much to see in this area. Why not follow us on our social media
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grimsby, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
45 helpful votes 45 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We stayed here on a Travelzoo deal which included two nights B&B, 3 course meal on first night & tickets to Beamish which was amazing value. Our room was huge & very quiet on the top floor as requested. The only thing a little strange was the sink outside of the shower room but this didn't bother us. One very minor gripe was that I couldn't plug my mobile phone charger in anywhere as all the sockets are placed just above the corner desk & there wasn't enough space for the charger to plug in. Our meal on the first night was excellent although we were flagging a bit when it got to dessert! The wine which was included was also very nice and the staff especially Camilla & Paula were extremely friendly & helpful which added to the experience. There was a good choice for breakfast - a variety of cereals, fresh fruit, porridge plus full English which was nice & hot & which set us up for our trip to Beamish which was thoroughly enjoyed by all of us, especially the Town and the Colliery. (Tip - take some flat/comfortable shoes as there is a lot of walking involved and we spent a full day there). We had a lovely walk in Durham town on our first day as we were too early to check in and loved the cafes & shops which were full of character. We decided to eat out on our second night & visited the Forester's Arms which was a charming quaint pub with friendly staff & very tasty food. We were lucky with the weather until Sunday when it turned cool & wet and unfortunately the two places we tried to visit (The Roman Forte at Binchester & Auckland Castle) were both closed. However, we still enjoyed our weekend and especially the lovely staff at the Aston Hotel. We will return........!

Room Tip: Request a room away from the A1 and on the top floor as these rooms are quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review after staying with us recently. It is really good that you took advantage of one of our great deals.
Good news is that we are in the middle of a refurb and our basins are being enclosed within the bathrooms.
We will also have baths in our executive rooms. Good that you enjoyed your stay, we take a pride on the hotel and the service which we offer. I do hope you did find room for one of our fantastic desserts, our sundaes are delicious!
We have wealth of areas to visit and it is good that you took advantage whilst here. I can highly recommend Bowes museum or Raby Castle when you return.

See you again and soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

We booked a Travelzoo deal which included tickets to Beamish and a 3 course meal plus wine. What a lovely hotel with great staff who were friendly and attentive. We didn't expect such a lovely room with a huge comfortable bed. We asked for and got a quiet room on the top floor but we couldn't hear the motorway from anywhere in the hotel although it is right next to the A1.
The food was very good with a good choice and the free wine very enjoyable. The whole package was fantastic and we enjoyed the trip to Beamish immensely. Will have to go back as we couldn't see everything there in 1 day.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Thank you for your review after staying with us, it is good to read that you took advantage of one of our great deals.
All our rooms boast to be of a good size and all are triple glazed to stop any noise disruption. Pleased that you found the whole package fantastic.
Beamish is a fab day out with so much to see, it is expanding all the time. We do have the advantage of being ideally located for so many places to visit.

You really must return to see the areas which you missed, looking forward to greeting you again and soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Address: Newton Park, Coatham Mundeville | Newton Aycliffe, Newton Aycliffe DL1 3NL, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Darlington)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Newton Aycliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG and Priceline so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m Newton Aycliffe, County Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.