We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location good, service excellent” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Save Saved
You added Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newton Park, Coatham Mundeville | Newton Aycliffe, Newton Aycliffe DL1 3NL, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Darlington)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Newton Aycliffe
UK
Top Contributor
102 reviews 102 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
104 helpful votes 104 helpful votes
“Location good, service excellent”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

Got a good deal with dinner first night with wine, 2 night B&B and with tickets to Beamish, which we never actually received in the end.
Room was spacious but didn't sleep well first night as room too hot and like a sauna. Air con unit had broken so receptionist kindly sorted us a fan out next day. Didn't want to open window and hear the A1 traffic but had to in the end. Amazingly heard no traffic. Excellent.
Our visit did coincide with a coach trip but they behaved themselves! Same couldn't be said for noisy 11 year old rugby team. Just boisterous and liked running up and down corridors.
Dinner was good and fair selection for breakfast. Good coffee.
Free WiFi always good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for your review after staying with us. It is good to read such positive comments, could i apologise that your room comfort cooling system was not fully operational. This is now resolved and working to its full potential
The rugby team we had staying were ceratinly excited when they arrived. The team were with their parents. After settling into their rooms and dinner they were ready for a good nights sleep.
It is good that you found the WIFI a bonus, we believe that you should be able to keep in touch when away from home. That is why our WIFI is complimentary.

I do hope you return and soon, to visit what the rest of the area has to offer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    193
    131
    30
    9
    3
See reviews for
18
195
15
64
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Doncaster UK
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Just got back from a 2 night stay at this superb value Hotel.

Travelled extensively over the years and this Hotel must have the friendliest Staff and most considerate service anywhere in the UK. They were all fantastic and massively added to the enjoyment of our short break. It is also so easy to find, being just off junction 59 of the A1

The breakfast was fabulous. Even though it was "Buffet" style it did not stop the Staff being just the right amount of attentive. Food was of the highest quality and cooked to perfection.

Our evening meal was no less superb with a good and varied choice of dishes. Excellent value, we all thought.

Our room met, and indeed exceeded all our expectations, save one. I just didn't get the concept of having the hand Wash Basin in the body of the Bedroom. I attempted to find out why it was so and was told that the rooms were designed by a Swedish architect. Well I don't know about a Swede. - Seems more like a Turnip to me. Having to come out of the bathroom to wash ones private bits and pieces in the body of the bedroom was not my idea of fun. Indeed, so much so that reluctantly, I do not see myself staying at this hotel ever again, despite it's otherwise 5 star rating and will double check any hotel that I stay at in future to ensure They have proper and full en-suite bathrooms. Not since the late 1950's in a Blackpool side street B&B have I even seen this concept. Guess it's true - you really do live and learn!

I would also like to concur with numerous other reviews, that the Shower facility was indeed awesome.

Room Tip: Always look for a Car-Park facing room on the top floor. The top floor ensures that Reps and busines...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, June 29, 2013
Thank you for your review it is great to read that you found our service to be considerate and that the team added to your enjoyment.
I seems that we met all your expectations and indeed exceeded them all but one area, this is the design layout of the bedroom. The hand wash basin being in the seperate allocated area is indeed a talking point!
We do have a bedroom where the hand wash basin is enclosed within the bathroom, please feel free to request this room on your next visit.
Then hopefully we will be able to reach the five stars. We do hope you will return and in the not too distant future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Took advantage of a hotelshopUK great little break at the Aston Hotel, Darlington, while visiting family in the North East. Despite a not-too-brilliant location near a truck stop just off the A1(M) the hotel itself gave a good first impression, though obviously tailored to the conference/business meeting trade. The reception area was bright and clean, the receptionist (Roxy) very welcoming and everywhere we went in the hotel looked fresh and recently-refurbished or even new. We had an upgrade to a suite, well-furnished and again, spotless. The TV didn't work too well, but that seems to happen in a lot of hotels at the moment.
The staff we met in the bar and restaurant, (mainly Dan and Steph) were friendly and helpful and dinner was delicious (superb prawn cocktail!) Breakfast was a bit chaotic, but we were in the last hour.
Altogether the Aston offered a very good experience and was certainly value for money - except for one glaring fault, which no one could sort out, as it was in the design of the rooms. Whose bright (?) idea was it to install the wash-hand basins in the bedroom instead of the bathroom? All right for a solo guest, but in a shared room, most people like a bit of privacy for at least part of their morning and night routines. Apparently, every room in the hotel is the same. Shades of the days before en suites, when a washbasin in the bedroom was seen as a benefit, even if the bath and loo were down the corridor! But times have moved on.
This hotel would have got a full five stars from me, except for the washbasin fiasco, but sadly, it would make me think twice about staying there in the future.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, June 1, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are located just off the A1(M) giving ease of access and ideally placed for visiting the surrounding areas.
It is good to read that you felt that you had a good experience whilst staying with us. Your comments have been passed onto the team and they were well received.
The handwash basin design being placed within the seperate area of the bedroom is certainly a talking point! We do have a room where the handwash basin is enclosed in the bathroom. Should you have the opportunity to return please feel free to request this room.
I do hope we will have the opportunity to welcome you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our two night stay at the Aston Hotel in Darlington. From check in to check out everything was excellent. The service and standards were very high from all aspects of our stay.
Spacious ground floor room with large desk area. Power shower in bathroom that delivers!
We ate in the Brassierie for 2 breakfasts and 2 evening meals. Breakfast is as much or as little as you want. The bacon, beans etc are all in individual iron pots with lids and is hot, with hot plates at the side. The evening menu is extensive and has specials on each evening. Generous portions and piping hot. Good method of serving from kitchen to table and service is quick. Staff are attentive and nothing is too much trouble.
Both the bedroom and public areas were very clean and tidy, and generally not noisy at all. Whilst we were there the Hotel appeared to be used mainly by couples
and reps staying overnight. Very large car park and no problem at all with parking. Looks to be a parking place for every bedroom. The only problem we came across was actually finding the hotel. Although it is adjacent to the A1, the signage from the road isnt very good and we shot past before realising we had gone on too far. Brought this up with the Manager who assured us that the signage problem is being addressed and rectified. The actual location is very good for going out and about and is surrounded mainly by fields. Even though there is a busy petrol station close by, it did not disturb us at all. Well done to the manager and all her staff.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write such a great review. It was really nice to have the opportunity to talk to you while you were here.
We are thrilled with such feedback and couldnt ask for more. We do take a pride in the hotel and the service we offer.
We look forward to your return and hopefully soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Selby, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
70 reviews 70 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 18, 2013

We stayed over my birthday weekend on a Heritage Break which included an upgrade to an executive room, a 3 course dinner, two breakfasts, a bottle of wine and also free tickets for the Bowes Museum or Beamish. We thought it was really good value and hope to stay there again as there is plenty to see and do in the area.
The room was very clean and comfortable although the furniture was a bit of a mish mash. The power shower was great. There were the usual comforts and free wi-fi.
The staff were all very friendly and helpful. Although the hotel is in a service area just off the A1 we didn't heat the road.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for writing your review after staying here at the Aston Darlington. It is great to read that you found your room to be clean and comfortable, this is something you should have when staying away from home.
We are close to the A1(M) for ease of access and for exploring the area. It is good that you also took the opportunity to access our free WIFI.
I have passed your comments onto the team. We look forward to your return
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blairgowrie, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
94 reviews 94 reviews
48 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Having stayed at the Aston Hotel in Dumfries on a good number of occasions and being very happy with everything there I thought I'd try here when in the area.
Firstly, excellent friendly welcome marred only by problems with the key card. Very frustrating when you've dragged all your stuff up to the room only to discover the card doesn't work. Then you find the replacement doesn't either.
The room itself, well equipped roomy executive with all the details you would expect. Smallish LCD TV with a mix of channels (in no particular order). Very good free WIFI. I understand that the hotel is a converted Sleep Inn that is due to undergo a revamp soon. Rooms are a bit like an upgraded Premier Inn but there's no real harm in that.
The restaurant is not particularly inspiring although the food was of good quality. I felt it was a bit let down by the staff. Friendly enough but perhaps a bit more training required. I believe I was served by a total of five people during the course of my meal! All well meaning but sorry to say not as efficient as the waiting staff in Dumfries.
Good location, just off motorway but without traffic noise. All in all though better than good and decent value for money. The Holiday Inn at Scotch Corner still remains my first choice.

Room Tip: Get an executive room for not much more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to write your review after your stay. It is good to read that you stay at our Aston Dumfries hotel and therefore chose us.
Sorry to read that you had problems accessing your room with the key card. I will have maintenance give the lock a service. Our rooms do benefit from being spacious, with room to give you comfort when staying. I am pleased that you found the food to be of good quality.
I am shocked to read that you felt let down by the team , this is a comment that i have never had before. This is an area where we usually pride ourselves, i will certainly take this up with the team and react upon this.
I do hope that you will return in the future to see us at our best.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Venice, Italy
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

We had a 'Great Little Break' here at the Aston Hotel, 2 nights b & b with a 3 course a la carte dinner on the first night. The meal was superb and only had to pay a small amount for certain items. A bottle of wine was included per room. A good choice at breakfast. All staff were extremely helpful and pleasant. We booked a disabled room for my elderly parents. Doors were wide enough for wheelchair access and the bathroom was huge with grab rails and a shower area with a seat. I would happily stay here again.

Room Tip: Excellent for anyone looking for a disabled room without a hoist. Our other room was large and comfo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, May 4, 2013
Thank you for your great review after your stay with us. I am really pleased that you had such a good stay.
We do try and ensure that we have breaks to suit and which give good value. Your comments have been passed onto the team and they are thrilled.

We do hope that you all return and soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Address: Newton Park, Coatham Mundeville | Newton Aycliffe, Newton Aycliffe DL1 3NL, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Darlington)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Newton Aycliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m 3*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, IHG, BookIt.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, getaroom.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m Newton Aycliffe, County Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.