We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Andre rieu concert in newcastle” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Newton Park, Coatham Mundeville | Newton Aycliffe, Newton Aycliffe DL1 3NL, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Darlington)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save on Hotel Packages!
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Perth,Scotland
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Andre rieu concert in newcastle”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2012

Mum, special needs daughter and i stayed here unfortunately just overnight as we were attending a concert in newcastle on the 15th december our arrival part of a coach party from north east scotland arrived and were quickly allocated our rooms no delays, we had a lovely twin and double room which were very spacious,clean and very comfortable we had a light meal before we got ready and the waiting and bar staff were excellant and the food was good. breakfast was a filling full english excellant again. Waiting staff were very quick at seeing to your needs. our departure to wasnt pushy like some places the whole experience was very good just a shame it was just one night

Room Tip: room 205 has a nice quite outlook onto the carpark with fields beyond i was in it 219 is specially a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, December 24, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review after staying with us recently. Your comments have been very well received, we pride ourselves on the hotel and the service which we give.

All our bedrooms are a good size with room to move around when staying. In Brasserie 59 the lite bite menu has a lot of homemade dishes on and it sounds like breakfast set you up for the day.
There has been very good feedback for the Andre Rieu concert, we have the benefit of being in a good location for the surrounding area and events.
We do hope to see you again and soon to explore the rest of what this area has to offer. Why not follow us on our social media sites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

393 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    142
    37
    10
    5
See reviews for
25
206
15
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Beverley, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

From walking across the entrance booking in to booking out my experience was excellent. The Rooms spacious, well appointed, the huge King sized bed very comfortable. The shower was the best I have ever come across with a heated shower room floor. The food was well presented, the breakfast although busy was a delight. There were all the usual amenity’s TV, hospitality tray, even free Wifi, I can highly recommend this hotel, and found nothing negative at all.
The Hotel is situated in a quiet location just off the A1 only a short hop from Darlington and Durham, ideally situated for visits to either location or indeed a stop off for a longer journey further afield.

Room Tip: My room on 2nd floor was very quiet, no noise from adjoining rooms or indeed the road. The lift was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to place your review after your recent stay with us. It is great to read that you found your stay to be excellent. When staying with us your comfort and a good nights sleep is at the forefront.
We do have the benefit of having a hotel which has space so you can move around. The power showers are very well received and they will wake you up on a morning!
The menu in Brasserie 59 boasts alot of homemade dishes which change on a regular basis. I am so pleased to read that you found our breakfast to be a delight.
When you are away from home you should be able to keep in touch without a hefty bill, thats why our WIFI is complimentary.
Our location means that there are lots of places to visit within a short radius. You really must return and explore the area. Hope to see you again and soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield
Top Contributor
207 reviews 207 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
98 helpful votes 98 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Based on some positive Tripadvisor reports I took the option of saving some money and using the Aston Hotel to subsidise a special evening at Rockcliffe Hall. The room was spacious and clean with a decent shower room. The bed was comfortable and the hotel suprisingly quiet; not in a deserted way-just not noisy. Coffee making facilities were good and the staff were prepared to provide top ups. We did spend a fair bit at Rockcliffe so the fact that we could pop down the McD's next door for breakfast was also a bonus feature.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for your review after your recent stay with us. It is great to read that you were indeed pleasantly surprised. Our Hotel does have spacious rooms, king size beds and great showers. When the hotel was built your comfort, sleep and good value were at the forefront.
The hotel keeps noise to a minimum as it benefits from triple glazing to again aid a comfortable sleep.
I think that you missed out on one of our great breakfasts the following morning, this would have set you up for the day ahead.
We do hope you will return and soon, but remember to book breakfast!
Follow us on our social media sites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wrexham, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

We arrived at the hotel at 5.00pm on Friday 30th November, staff at check in were very efficient and pleasant and smart in appearance. Gave directions to room (on second floor) opened door and was suRprised to find a king sized bed as standard, There was plenty of space for clothes both in drawers and wardrobe. Shower was large and had a seat in it very nice touch,, toilet tissue was even good quality not like the cheap thin stuff usually issued in british hotels.The only odd thing was a wash basin in the bedroom area.The room was spotlessly clean and there was plenty of room to sit and read or write.There was also tea and coffee making faciliities and a hair/dryer. The tv was an old type and not a flat screen as you come to expect now. The food in the brasserie was excellent both at evening meal and breakfast and there was plenty of staff to serve you. The bar prices were very good for a hotel not ripped off at all. All in all a very pleasant experience and would recommend it to all.

Room Tip: all rooms are very good from feedback we received on the coach, we were over the carpark which was v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, December 12, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review after staying with us. We take pride in giving the best standards within the hotel and the best service which we can offer, from your review we are achieving this. All our rooms have the king size beds to give you a great restful sleep, with a bedroom spacious enough to have room to move around.
Our power showers certainly are what they say! The basin being placed in the seperate area of the bedroom is a talking point with comments for and against.
Good news is that we are in the process of changing our TV's to flat screen. The food served on the Brasserie59 menu has a lot of homemade dishes on. My weakness are our desserts, you really must try one of our sundaes when you return.
Your comments have been passed onto the team and they are thrilled. Thank you for recommending us to others. We do hope to see you again and soon.
Why not follow us on our social media sites.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Like some of the other reviews, the hotel might now look much from the outside, but when you walk across the front door it is apparent straight away that the staff were there to make our stay memorable. The hotel is in a great location and the rooms were well presented. Good TV, coffee making facilities with a great biscuit. The staff were friendly and highly professional, Stella was particularly helpful providing local knowledge and ringing round to find us an elusive taxi that Saturday night. Only negative was the Wifi, that was a bit slow. I would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your review, it is great that such good comments. We do take a pride in the Hotel and also the service which we give.
When you are away from home you should have a bedroom with space to move around and feel comfortable in.
We believe that you should have a memorable stay and that sounds like this has been the case.
I am very proud of the team and they were thrilled with your comments. It will be an absolute pleasure to welcome you back.
To keep you updated our IT company have looked at the wifi and it is quicker now.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012

Usually being in a tour group means you're not treated in quite the same way as private visitors. The staff at the Aston treated everyone as VIPs; they were friendly, courteous and helpful. The room was large, light and comfortable with a more than adequate en suite. Being on a tour we were booked in for breakfast and dinner - delicious and plenty of it. If ever I stay in that area again I know where I will stay

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write your review after staying with us. Here at the Aston Darlington we believe strongly that our guests should have a comfortable stay with great food and good hospitality.
We take a pride in the Hotel and the service which we give. In Brasserie 59 alot of our food on the menu is homemade, to ensure your stay is memorable
I do hope you enjoyed all the areas which you had the opportunity to visit whilst here. Your revies has been passed onto the team, we do hope to welcome you back here and soon
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

From the outside, the hotel looks a bit charmless, but walk through the door and that impression is immediately wiped away. Staff, Food, Accomodation all excellent, just a little tired with some of the decoration. Well worth the effort to stay here.

Room Tip: Try one of the Executive rooms, they are well worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Traceycam, General Manager at Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Thank you for your review it is great to read that you found all aspects of your stay excellent we could not ask for a better comment.
There are areas of the hotel where decoration would be a benefit, we have completed all the bedrooms, which will hopefully then give us the opportunity to continue into the other areas.
I do hope you return and soon, why not follow us on our social media sites!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m

Address: Newton Park, Coatham Mundeville | Newton Aycliffe, Newton Aycliffe DL1 3NL, England (Formerly Aston Hotel Darlington)
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > County Durham > Newton Aycliffe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Newton Aycliffe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m Newton Aycliffe, County Durham

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Darlington - North A1m, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.