We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You will find it hard to beat the quality of this accommodation” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Staffield Hall

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Save
You added Staffield Hall to your Saves list
Staffield Hall
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Penrith, Kirkoswald, Penrith CA10 1EU, England   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirkoswald
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“You will find it hard to beat the quality of this accommodation”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2012

The Hall has been converted to apartments and we rented the downstairs areas. This consisted of three bedrooms, all with en suite, a wonderful large dining room/modern kitchen and a large sitting room. My husband and two boys, aged 12 and 9 could watch the Olympics and chill out while I sat at the back of the room with a drink in the chairs over looking the formal gardens. Perfect.

The accommodation was spotless - that housekeeper deserves a gold medal herself. It made us feel relaxed as if we were in our own home. The rooms all have high, ornate ceilings and huge windows with a feel of Victorian grandeur (and plenty of heating and hot water for modern convenience!)

The kitchen is very modern and extremely well equipped to a good standard. The gardens are really well maintained. Great for frisbee, cricket, football etc and a safe distance from the windows. I spent very pleasant a time either admiring the gardens curled up in 'my chair' or by gentle strolls on drier days.

The information booklet in the sitting room contains suggested walks. We followed the 3 mile route which was just enough for us townies, across fields and woods.

There's a supermarket not far and excellent restaurants, the Fetherston Arms, Highand Drove and Fox and Pheasant to name but a few quality, friendly places.

All in all, this place was far better than I could have imagined and I would definitely recommend it to families and couples. Thanks for a great week.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

88 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    20
    3
    1
    2
See reviews for
18
52
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, Scotland
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2012

Having stayed in the owners other property (Wolfen Mill) I really thought it would be difficult to impress with Staffield Hall - but have been proved wrong! The Hall has been upgraded to an excellent standard and is in a fantastic location with easy access to so many different locations. Spotlessly clean and well appointed apartment - really can't fault Staffield Hall at all. Lovely outdoor spaces too. Hoping to be back before too long.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2012 via mobile

What a wonderful Find! Service from the owners is first class and unfussy with great communication. Key code entrance system worked well for us as we arrived late at night.

We Spent 5 nights here slightly out of season and appeared to have the place to ourselves. This is a lovely old mansion which still boasts much of its original features and is full of charm. The grand hall, large sweeping staircase and landing all appear untouched by modern alterations. Even the original servant bells are on the walls. The original garden too, although beginning to look like it now needs a bit of love, adds to the gothic charm of the place.

The apartment (Heavenfield) we stayed in has been designed to compliment the main house but with a modern bathroom and kitchen. It has rolling views of the garden and sweeping landscape. Extremely clean with comfortable furnishings, soft bedding, white cotton towels, dressing gowns etc... It was very spacious with a studio lounge, entrance hall and spare bedroom were we could put baby in her travel cot.

Kitchen was more than fully equipped which made preparing meals for our five month old a breeze away from home.

The hall is in a tiny little village which you can take walks around. The peace and quiet is remarkable and refreshing. You do have to drive to see the sights but this didn't cause us issue at all. Nearest lake is Ullswater at about 40 mins away which has boat rides and there are walks to scenic waterfalls nearby. There's plenty to do in season.

We would highly recommend this place!

  • Stayed March 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2012

We stayed in Manor Hall early december 2011 for 2 nights with our 3 girls aged 10, 8 and 7. It has to be said that 2 nights was not enough....we arrived at around 4.30, it was a little difficult to find but we got there in the end and it was very worth it. It was however very dark on arrival and there was no outdoor lighting at this point so unpacking the car was a slight chore but when we walked in to Manor Hall we were all very pleased and exited to see where we were going to be staying. Like others we woke up to exeptional views after arriving in the dark, we loved the sizable windows and high cielings and we found the place to be very clean and comfortable. Obviously when you come to stay in a place like this the tv is not a priority but with 3 young children sometimes a movie is what you need but we could not get the small tv to work in the lounge or the bedroom. Internet was sporadic we were not there for that....we found that hours of hide and seek with the kids was much more fun and drinking champagne whilst listening to a bit of classical music was lovely.....and completley apt for the place of stay !! The kids loved every minute. In agreement with another there was a little sediment from the whirl pool baths which was slightly off putting but these seemed trivial at the time and we just apreciated every minute. Its definatley our first choice of stay and will be back. We tried to book up for the christmas and new year but alas it was booked !!!! So we have just came back from Langdale spa where we stayed in a lodge which cost alot more in total of 3 days but i fell in love with Staffield Hall the minute i saw it ! A little gem hidden away and if you are looking for something a bit special with the element of privacy and complete peace and quiet...this is the place ! Just Lovely !

Room Tip: Manor Hall is the largest and sleeps up to 8 people.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2011

The apartment was good with some nice touches such as the linen and crockery, but that is not sufficient to warrant the 'luxury' label, at this end of the market we would have expected, and obviously should have checked, that there was a bath and some form of reception/welcome. Arriving late afternoon to nothing and nobody was eerie, indeed I wondered if we were in the right place, particularly having passed the house next to the Hall which was in poor condition and untidy, adding to my unease, and the grounds were unkept. Lighting to the front of the building was poor resulting in my wife falling in the dark.

The owners have a great venue. The Hall itself is a marvel, the apartment was well proportioned and well equipped, the views excellent and access to the lakes reasonable; a nice business concept but this is not enough, it needs a personal touch and a degree of warmth.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2011 via mobile

We have just returned from a 4 night stay and would highly recommend this property if you want picturesque surroundings with peace and quiet whilst enjoying all this location has to offer. Whilst a little of the beaten track this was a great short break to spend as a family. Our 3 children ( 6 yrs, 10 yrs and 14 yrs old) made the most of the vast, but very safe, outdoor open space and expelled a lot of the energy that children of this age have. The views from within the grounds are spectacular and offer you an opportunity to sit and relax whilst taking time to recover from the days activities. We stayed in Manor Hall which provided a huge living space to accommodate all 6 of us and meant that we all had enough space to not feel on top of each other. The lounge area was well equipped with 2 large family size sofa's which were practical, even if a little uncomfortable. However the best seat in the house had to be 1 of the 2 armchairs that were placed in the large window overlooking the gardens and providing you with the opportunity to take in the stunning backdrop of this area. The only way to unwind after a strenuous days worth of activities!
On balance the property offered everything as stated but if there were anything that could be done to improve the property I would suggest the decor could be freshened up as it was looking a little tired and showing the signs of being a well used letting. The spa bath was needing a service as when switching on the jets to use this there was a lot of sediment / limescale visible in the water after using which was a little off putting and meant that we did not use this as much as we would like to have.
If you are interested in eating out then I can not speak highyk enough of the local public house in Kirkoswald village The Featherston. The food cooked and served was certainly some of the best Myself and my family have experienced and was very reasonably priced whilst being very generous in size and the puddings in particular went
down well with all concerned. A lovely atmosphere backed up with friendly staff and local residents.
A great 5 days.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2011 via mobile

We have just returned from a 4 night stay and would highly recommend this property if you want picturesque surroundings with peace and quiet whilst enjoying all this location has to offer. Whilst a little of the beaten track this was a great short break to spend as a family. Our 3 children ( 6 yrs, 10 yrs and 14 yrs old) made the most of the vast, but very safe, outdoor open space and expelled a lot of the energy that children of this age have. The views from within the grounds are spectacular and offer you an opportunity to sit and relax whilst taking time to recover from the days activities. We stayed in Manor Hall which provided a huge living space to accommodate all 6 of us and meant that we all had enough space to not feel on top of each other. The lounge area was well equipped with 2 large family size sofa's which were practical, even if a little uncomfortable. However the best seat in the house had to be 1 of the 2 armchairs that were placed in the large window overlooking the gardens and providing you with the opportunity to take in the stunning backdrop of this area. The only way to unwind after a strenuous days worth of activities!
On balance the property offered everything as stated but if there were anything that could be done to improve the property I would suggest the decor could be freshened up as it was looking a little tired and showing the signs of being a well used letting. The spa bath was needing a service as when switching on the jets to use this there was a lot of sediment / limescale visible in the water after using which was a little off putting and meant that we did not use this as much as we would like to have.
If you are interested in eating out then I can not speak highyk enough of the local public house in Kirkoswald village The Featherston. The food cooked and served was certainly some of the best Myself and my family have experienced and was very reasonably priced whilst being very generous in size and the puddings in particular went
down well with all concerned. A lovely atmosphere backed up with friendly staff and local residents.
A great 5 days.

  • Stayed August 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Staffield Hall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Staffield Hall

Address: Penrith, Kirkoswald, Penrith CA10 1EU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Penrith > Kirkoswald
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Kirkoswald
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Staffield Hall 5*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Staffield Hall is located in the Eden Valley in Cumbria just outside the boundary of the Lake District National Park. We have easy access to the M6 motorway and to the north Lakes of the LAke district.Staffield hall was completely refurbished in 2006 to provide eight 5 beautiful apartments which are graded 5 stars by Visit Britain.The apartments are designed to mix the traditional features of a yester year with contempory and modern comfort and style. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with T4B so you can book your Staffield Hall reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Staffield Hall Kirkoswald, Cumbria
Staffield Hall Hotel Kirkoswald

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Staffield Hall, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.