We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food and service!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Jade Garden

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Jade Garden
100 Shortmead Street, Biggleswade SG18 0AP, England
01767 318 167
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 36 restaurants in Biggleswade
Cuisines: Chinese
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Borehamwood, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Great food and service!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The food is great and the staff friendly and efficient. The only negative is that the decor is a bit dated, but other than that, a lovely restaurant.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

55 reviews from our community

80% Recommend
    29
    15
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Biggleswade
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“First and only choice”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We live in Biggleswade and won't use any other Chinese. The food is great but the service is excellent. We are spoken to by name (which they always remember and we only order from there say once a month) and they even remember how you like things. The food is fresh and they will cook things to your liking, great for when my MIL comes who has a pepper allergy. The food is tasty and it is a real treat.
I think the only negative I can think of is delivery. Their delivery availability can be a bit hit and miss and we usually have to wait an hour plus for it to arrive and pay cash, so it is rare we use this service.
We haven't been into the restaurant as yet, but every time you go in it always looks great. It is on our to do list.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Letchworth, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Excellent food and service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

The food here is always excellent and is always piping hot and fresh and you get loads. The people who work here are always really lovely and friendly. The decor might be a bit tired, but who cares when the food is fab?

  • Visited December 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Top Contributor
80 reviews 80 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
97 helpful votes 97 helpful votes
“great buffet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2012

Went here for the sunday buffet very fresh always bringing more out so not to leave it standing too long. Nothing was too much trouble very friendly. the only negative is the restaurant was cold

  • Visited December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Why did I try it again?!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I know why, because there is not a great choice of Chineses in this town! Why don't people realise the quality is sooo bad that a REALLY great restaurant in the town would literally clean up, it's so lacking.
We had a takeaway from here tonight and to be honest most of it is going in the bin, the chicken curry looked nor tasted anything like a curry. The rice - no flavour, the ribs - no flavour. I managed a couple of duck pancakes - not much flavour.
VERY disappointed, would like to ask for a refund but probably won't bother.
Also, won't bother ordering from there again.
Have eaten in before, was better than the takeaway but the decor is extremely tired and the food just ok.

Visited November 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jade Garden also viewed

Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
 
Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
 

Been to Jade Garden? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Jade Garden, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.