We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Birthday Dinner” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The White Horse

The White Horse
High Street | Southill, North Biggleswade, Biggleswade SG18 9LD, England
+44 1462 813364
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #19 of 42 Restaurants in Biggleswade
Price range: $9 - $31
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch, Reservations, Delivery, Late Night
Bedford, United Kingdom
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Birthday Dinner”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Booked for my partners Birthday, the staff were attentive with an excellent focus on creating a great evening. The pub and the gardens it sits in are beautiful, I would definitely want to host an evening reception here. The food is excellent value for money and the choice of drinks is varied and of a good standard. Facilities for Children very good. I would also like to comment on how exceptionally clean the W.C's are a must for me when dining at any restaurant. All the staff were committed and gave us a wonderful evening. Nice clean, good food would recommend.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

212 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    77
    44
    13
    28
    50
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bedfordshire
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Excellent Service every time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

I can not believe some of the comments; the pub has been under new management and the improvements being made show real progress. You will be hard pushed to find a more beautiful setting. The staff are warm friendly and go out of their way to make your evening special; family get togethers special birthdays and business lunch all excellent. Top class service with top class customer service will keep me going back. Good variety on the menu too.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stevenage, England, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Lovely food and service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

Went here with friends and had a lovely meal, steak cooked to perfection and i'm fussy! Service was quick and always friendly, couldn't fault it. Very good value for money and would recommend to anyone

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
73 helpful votes 73 helpful votes
“Very lovely lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2014

We have just returned from a lovely lunch here. We had a Groupon deal, but judging by the food, ambience and service we would have gladly paid full price.
The nachos were very tasty - served with a subtly spiced salsa and sour cream. My husband had the bacon and black pudding stack which he thoroughly enjoyed - when he has eaten black pudding elsewhere it had always been hard and tough; this was beautifully cooked, soft and flavoursome.
For main course he had the game pie; an enormous creation full of different meats; all of which were beautifully cooked and very tender. It was accompanied by with mash and vegetables that covered the large plate. I chose the sweet potato, chick pea and lentil cassoulet - a large dish on its own but came with wonderfully fluffy rice, two pieces of nan and a lovely refreshing mango chutney (not the commercially produced sickly sweet type). So much lovely food I could not finish it all - despite giving it my best efforts.
The house wines were very acceptable (Merlot & Pinot Grigio) and reasonably priced.
All in all we would recommend going for a meal here and will certainly return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bedfordshire
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Won't be going back.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

I have eaten here many times over the years but this was the worst meal I have had anywhere in a long time. I felt that I had been robbed of my evening out.
The starters were good but the steaks and the ribs were rubbish and I couldn't eat mine.
The kids serving were OK but when it came to complaining about several aspects of the meal, the manager, also a kid, was well out of is depth. He told us that he had sold 17 fillet steaks that day and had no complaints. Frankly I don't care if other people were prepared to put up with it, a £20 piece of meat shouldn't be inedible.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The White Horse also viewed

Stanford, Biggleswade
 
Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The White Horse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The White Horse, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.