We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A superb location for a number of reasons.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Shuttleworth Collection

The Shuttleworth Collection
Old Warden Aerodrome, Biggleswade SG18 9EP, England
+44 1767 627927
Website
Improve this listing
Type: Gardens, Specialty Museums, Museums
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Pay a visit to Shuttleworth in Old Warden and you will have a day out to remember. Shuttleworth houses a unique flying collection showcasing the first one hundred years of flight. Illustrating the history of flight from the early 1900s to the 1950s, you will see how the aeroplane operated in the pioneering years, was rapidly developed during World War I, was used for sport, pleasure and business in the 1920s and 30s and once again became a fighting machine in World War II. You can see fascinating examples ofaircraft ranging from the 1909 Bleriot XI to Supermarine Spitfire and the Hawker Sea Hurricane. Then you can explore one of England's most delightful (and unknown) historic gardens, the Swiss Garden, created in the 19th century, when an interest in ornamental gardening and picturesque architecture first came together. The Shuttleworth Visitor Centre is a great place to pick up some fantastic gifts, or just relax with a cup of tea and a spot of lunch in the restaurant overlooking the airfield.
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
335 reviews 335 reviews
44 attraction reviews
Reviews in 144 cities Reviews in 144 cities
209 helpful votes 209 helpful votes
“A superb location for a number of reasons.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2012

My wife and I were spending a weekend in Bedfordshire and we called in at the Shuttleworth Aircraft Museum, which also included the superb Swiss Garden. Not only that we went into the Gift Shop and were delighted to see there was a large restaurant attached thereto with an array of offerings both hot and cold. We had delightful coffee in a Cafetiere and custard tarts the staff were so friendly in both the gift shop where we bought a number of items and in the restaurant open every day. In fact it was so good that we called in again on our way back home on Sunday morning as they were open at 9-30am and had a couple of really good Egg and Bacon Baps with again superb coffee in a Cafetiere.
We did not visit the museum but have previously gone there and it was very interesting and the beauty of the Swiss Garden is worth a visit on its own. In my view this is a must visit for a number of reasons not least the offerings in the Restaurant.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    64
    27
    3
    1
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Fareham, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
135 reviews 135 reviews
103 attraction reviews
Reviews in 66 cities Reviews in 66 cities
84 helpful votes 84 helpful votes
“For Plane buff's”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2012

Unfortunately when we visited the weather was terrible so weren't able to visit the gardens or birds of prey, but then we did visit to see the planes. The Collection is set in a nice environment not far from the A1. The collection is of generally older planes, which are mainly air worthy, set out in a line of hangers which are very easy to negotiate with lots of information to read as you pass through. This museum is a credit to the dedication as to why it was set up and the team who now maintain it. My regret is the weather wasn't better so we could have explored more of the museum. The entry is reasonable, £12 to see the planes (children free), and although we had a coffee didn't eat in the restaurant. We will certainly visit again.

Visited June 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KwaZulu-Natal, South Africa
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
27 attraction reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Hangers and working air field worth a visit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

If you like old planes this is for site visit is for you. Give yourself some time to explore all the hangers.

For the ladies and those not interested in the planes, a walk around the Swiss garden is worth the effort. Lots of good photo opportunities. There are numerous different bridges to cross over and photograph too. Look out for the beautiful peacocks that go out of their way to help you get great photos of them too.

There is also a large contained children’s play area, a picnic area, a forest walk and a restaurant.

We have lunch at the restaurant and the food from the self-service counter was OK. It will be great once the renovations are completed.

A great family day outing for Dad, mum and the kids!

Visited April 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harpenden
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
12 attraction reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“those lot”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

those lot have really hoped my dad by providing my dad with trips with his 4ms club
its top quality you come to see + there is no fixed price only need to pay to see collection and garden the playground and birds of prey centre is free

Visited July 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandy, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great for a day out”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2012

Kids loved it!, we loved it also until we got to the cafe/resturant, quite over priced and the food was not brilliant, seeing the owls at the falconry centre was great fun, you could easily spend the day here, but watch out it could damage the old wallet!

Visited September 2011
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Shuttleworth Collection also viewed

Biggleswade, Bedfordshire
 
Luton, Bedfordshire
 

Been to The Shuttleworth Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Shuttleworth Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.