We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen to your Saves list
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Road 500, PO Box 554, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Plan ahead and save 20%
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Hjärup
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Fantastic!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2013

This was our second visit to Longyearbyen and the second time was also our honeymoon. When the hotel got aware of that they upgraded us to a superior room with a fantastic view and nice standard. They also sent a bottle of wine as a welcome/congratulation gift. We were really impressed and thankful for the kind gestures.

The staff is very helpful and nice.

The superior rooms are absolutely big enough and has a good size bed and a nice bathroom.

The restaurants are very nice, specially Nansens Brasserie where we had dinner twice and also ate a very nice breakfast every day. Barentz pub is smaller, less expensive and serves a descent meal of the day.

This is not a typical Radisson Blu hotel bit it fits very well into the atmosphere of Longyearbyen. A big fancy hotel would not fit at all.

I would definitely stay here again if (or maybe when) we return to Svalbard and Longyearbyen.

/Heléne & Johan

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    130
    61
    13
    7
See reviews for
26
97
45
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kivik, Sweden
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 11, 2013

This hotel don´t have very muck in common with others Radison hotels. It´s rather outdated and worn down. The rooms are pretty big but the room standard is poor. No such things as shampoo/conditioner in the bathroom. The WiFi (free) is good but the TV has not much to offer. The good thing is that the hotel has a superb location on the "main street" of this little tiny village. In wintertime you will appreciate this very much due to the arctic weather which could be very ruff. The other hotel option is "Funken" (Spitsbergen hotel) but its located a little bit offside from the village center.
The breakfast is nice and plenty full and so is the Pub/bar, which seems to be the meetingpoint for the young students from the University.
The staf is very helpful and polite so all together I would stay at the hotel again.
Forgot to mention we have bee to Longyearbyen twice and stayed at both Radison and "Funken". We prefer Radison, mainly because of its location.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 8, 2013

Thre of us stayed in an apartment this week. You have to be flexible in sleeping arrangments. Husband on sofa bed, me on large bottom bunk and daughter, 26 on top bunk. Hotel clean and warm. Bar had good plain food. Meal of day for 99kr. And the great barensburger. 129kr. One problem.....static electricity. It was bad, we couldnt touch anything in our room without getting a shock, yes really. A good place to stay otherwise. Except when window opened in the middle of the night and it blew snow inside!!!!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rishpon, Israel
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2013

We (me and a friend) stayed there on January. It was cold, -45c, but once you entered the warm and cozy atmosphere would do you as you are back home. The rooms (we stayed at the lower story, where the sauna is located), are quite spacious, very clean, and warm. The sauna operates all day, and the experience after activities such as snowmobiling for almost a whole day (in total darkness) is very pleasant, while only few are using the Sauna. It is a 4 stars hotel with decent rates considering the location and the services you get. The breakfast is very good. The staff will also help you with different kinds of activities you should try. Stay there, and don't forget to take off your shoes when you enter the lobby (or anywhere in the town).

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oslo
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

Seeing the harsh environment, its quite impressive with a hotel like this. If they had made a bigger effort on using "Svalbard" inside... it would have been 5 stars. Everything was quite ok, but the GM also needs to give a hotel a soul... this has none.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Florida
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

The hotel is centrally located and an easy walk to town. The bar is a local hangout, and serves a very good hamburger during off hours. When ordering a room, specify that you want a double if you want one, as they have an entire wing with bunk beds and not suitable for a couple traveling together, unless you don't want to snuggle. I was here in February during a snow storm, and the rooms were very warm and comfortable, though we had to leave the building with our room in it to have breakfast and go to the bar.

Room Tip: ask for a double, or you may get twin bunk beds. The third floor in the building next to the main on...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

I visited Svalbard the previous summer time due to a programme I attended at the University Centre of Svalbard. I stayed there for 3 weeks and I have to say it was amazing. The hotel has excellent connections to the airport due to a bus that runs every time a flight takes-off or lands and Longyearbyen. The hotel is also located in the Town centre and near the University Centre which was perfect for me because I only needed 5 minutes walk from the hotel to the University and believe me even in summertime it can be very cold walking in Svalbard. The best thing of the hotel though is the restaurant they have. It is situated right opposite the fjord and due to the big windows they have you can see all the mountains across Isfjord. Of course the food was magnificent and I have to say the crab soup I had one night was really remarkable and will never forget it in my life. The staff are really helpful and speak excellent English like most people living at Longyearbyen. The only problem is that the prices are quite expensive but life in general in Svalbard is expensive so I guess it was not too bad for the Standards of the Island, since it is the most luxurious hotel present on the islands.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen

Address: Road 500, PO Box 554, Longyearbyen 9171, Norway
Phone Number:
Location: Norway > Svalbard > Spitsbergen > Longyearbyen
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Longyearbyen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen 4*
Number of rooms: 95
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, Orbitz, Despegar.com, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Hotel Longyearbyen
Radisson Longyearbyen
Longyearbyen Radisson
Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen Svalbard

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Radisson Blu Polar Hotel, Spitsbergen, Longyearbyen, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.